R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2007, 10:01 AM   #556
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
YES, and YES
JB or as Doug calls you "parts box".....your purple wire makes me happy
That's "Spare Parts" buddy Get it right or I shall break you!
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 10:41 AM   #557
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

MY BAD MY BAD
.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
That's "Spare Parts" buddy Get it right or I shall break you!
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 11:05 AM   #558
Tech Addict
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corallyman View Post
Thanks Adam, you guys are Top notch. Give yourself a pay raise.

Steve

X10




but boy am i jealous at u guys with ur SP stuff. i have to wait until next week for my 4.5r/GT.
__________________
Yokomo|SpeedPassion|McgooCreative|TeamOrion|FusionPower|Futaba|Spektrum|RP|Trinity|Protoform
Island Losi is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 12:17 PM   #559
Tech Addict
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
Setup and test info for GT esc.
some great info as well as an explaination on how the AMTS (Advanced Mutli Timing System) works.

thanks for the info.......once its correct
__________________
Yokomo|SpeedPassion|McgooCreative|TeamOrion|FusionPower|Futaba|Spektrum|RP|Trinity|Protoform
Island Losi is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 12:24 PM   #560
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,665
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
It does, I don't remember verbatim what it says, but it's something to the effect of that same voltage of battery power.


Verbatim from the manual.....

The voltage of fan socket on the ESC is equal to the voltage of the battery, it is directly supplied without any regulation, so please keep in mind that the voltage of the batttery CANNOT over the voltage limit of the fan.
I skimmed to fast to the programming part :P

That is nice though. I hate soldering so not having to connect the fan directly to battery posts is nice.

Adam I will be calling you every day now!!! 2am Central time
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 01:13 PM   #561
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post



JB or as Doug calls you "parts box".....your purple wire makes me happy
yea the purple wire is pretty cool, but damned if I'm gonna buy a 2500ft roll just to have custom colors.
skypilot is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 01:22 PM   #562
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
yea the purple wire is pretty cool, but damned if I'm gonna buy a 2500ft roll just to have custom colors.
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...odID=GSCW143PR
syndr0me is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 01:40 PM   #563
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
yea the purple wire is pretty cool, but damned if I'm gonna buy a 2500ft roll just to have custom colors.
Cant you buy a little from JB with his 2499 ft. of left over??? Or does he need that to fill his "spare parts box"??
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 03:16 PM   #564
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

borrow his wire????


I'm gonna be in Seattle for one day in May and i intend on using his entire car......scrizzew the wire....I want the JB machine!
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 04:35 PM   #565
Tech Regular
 
Shawn Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Speed Passion USA Support HQ
Posts: 498
Default

Corrallyman:

Both the 90mm and 180mm sensor leads (by themselves) are in stock.

As far as the ESC caps being "necessary?" even for stock motors:
Like Adam said anecdotally, and Adrian went into a bit of detail on, the short answer is YES.

All ESCs work as simple on and off switches. The "switch" is being thrown electronically, and thousands of times per second, but it still always comes down to one of two states for an ESC - either "on" at full power, or "off" at no power. The battery voltage (regardless of cell count/type) depresses under the full power pulses, and rebounds (over the actual pack voltage) during the off pulses. ESCs aren't built to handle such a wide variance in input (battery) votage, and if left unchecked (no cap) it just plays havoc with everything the ESC is trying to do.

What the cap is there for, (and what they are/do by definition) is to store up voltage from the battery on each off pulse, and then give up voltage to the ESC on each on pulse. So the ESC sees a much "smoother" supply voltage from the battery without very large voltage depressions and spikes going on all the time. Net result = Happy, accurate and cool ESC operation.

The better the battery (lower internal resistance) and the less load (higher turn motor, slower gear ratio) in the system, then the voltage swings are smaller true, but even with the best battery and slowest motor you STILL want that cap there to keep things happy and smooth.
__________________
Shawn Palmer
Speed Passion USA Sales Manager
USAsupport <at> King-Golden <dot> com
www.SpeedPassion.net
www.SpeedPowerrc.com
Shawn Palmer is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 05:08 PM   #566
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
borrow his wire????


I'm gonna be in Seattle for one day in May and i intend on using his entire car......scrizzew the wire....I want the JB machine!
You know what they say Adam!!!
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 05:40 PM   #567
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

ummmm no I don't?????

hehehehehehehe

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
You know what they say Adam!!!
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 08:41 PM   #568
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Do you guys know if the castle creation 16 gauge wire will carry enough current to use on the speedo?
AARON YOUNG is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 08:51 PM   #569
Tech Regular
 
Shawn Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Speed Passion USA Support HQ
Posts: 498
Default

You are giving up a little bit with anything less than high quality (floppy) 12Ga wire.

All Castle wire is VERY good, but I prefer 12Ga (Wet Noodle/Castle/other high quality brands) on any BL car system.

As above, the "on" pulse currents in BL can be in the multiple hundreds of amps, and the better the wire the less voltage drop is happening over it. (less voltage drop = more voltage = faster/harder accellerating motor)
__________________
Shawn Palmer
Speed Passion USA Sales Manager
USAsupport <at> King-Golden <dot> com
www.SpeedPassion.net
www.SpeedPowerrc.com
Shawn Palmer is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 08:52 PM   #570
Tech Regular
 
Applesauce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 452
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Where can I get a super cap at?
Applesauce is offline  
Closed Thread

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Speedpassion 5.5 brushless motor Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-24-2008 06:36 PM
Speedpassion GT Brushless ESC -- Great Deal or8ital R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-17-2008 05:06 PM
For Sale: Speedpassion GT Brushless Speedo, 13.5 and 10.5 L.Fairtrace R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 04-04-2008 01:36 PM
For Sale Speedpassion 2.5 brushless motor Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 03-22-2008 06:10 PM
For Sale Speedpassion 10.5 brushless motor Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-03-2008 05:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:17 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net