R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-13-2007, 07:41 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default Metric TC4?

Hi, is the FT TC4 totally metric? If not, I would need to buy a whole new set of tools, which would throw me over budget.

Thank you!
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 08:31 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ITs like totaly Standard or imperial. Its made in the USA so its not metric.

Your buying a high end touring car and a 15-30$ metric set of tools is going to kill the budget? You may want to look at a RTR or a basher kit.
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 09:23 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Cyclone Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kent Wa
Posts: 106
Default

The kit comes with all the tools and guages you need to put it together.
Cyclone Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 10:27 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

No, no, no, I already own a touring car. (Go Cyclone ^_^)

This is for a project of mine with a budget I did not set. That is why it will throw me over.

I just really want to avoid the headaches involved in dealing with a standard car when all of my other stuff is metric.
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 11:43 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 862
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

You'll only need 2 new wrench sizes... 1/16" (small flathead screws and button head) and 5/64" (cap screws). For the diff screw, the wrench that you use w/ your Cyclone will work.
Serzoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 12:08 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

Say in my spares box I have two screws, a 2.0mm screw and a 5/64 in screw. One metric, one Imperial. Say I lose a Cyclone screw. I screw in the 5/64 into the Cyclone bulkhead. (since the 5/64 and the 2.0mm differ by 0.0something mm it will be impossible to tell apart!) Will I destroy the bulk?
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 12:11 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 862
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

You'll be able to tell the difference just by looking at the screw. 4-40 screws have coarser threads, and 3mm screws are slightly larger. My box is mixed with 3mm and 4-40 and I never worry about mixing them up. (I run both SAE cars and a Cyclone )
Serzoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metric or Inch? cusco Nitro Off-Road 15 06-19-2008 11:00 AM
t-handle metric hex drivers BillyCaldwell Electric On-Road 4 09-08-2006 01:23 PM
Metric ti ball studs no1uno Electric On-Road 3 02-01-2006 09:34 PM
WTB metric tools nmt6789 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 01-25-2006 11:19 AM
Hudy Metric Allen Drivers and Metric Socket CRASH R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-15-2005 05:39 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:51 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net