R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2007, 07:21 PM   #16
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 603
Send a message via MSN to TAMIYAMANUK
Default

and if your just to lazy to look

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1199486

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...hreadid=139208
TAMIYAMANUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 07:23 PM   #17
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Hmmm...so the charger is stopping at what it says is 8.4V but the multimeter is coming in lower? So one of them has to be wrong then as long as you are checking with the multimeter right after taking it off the charger. Got a spare charger or a friend's you could test with?
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 07:26 PM   #18
Tech Apprentice
 
Sime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 54
Default

Its charging now, as soon as it comes off charge, ill check it with the multimeter.

Buy the way, I havnt over discharged this battery, i was wondering what the symtoms are in case i ever do.
__________________
"3Racing" Cyclone :)
FT TC4
Tamiya TA-05 (no mods)
Yokomo MR-4BX with Nosram 4.5 Brushless
Tamiya TT-01 beat up car.............
Tamiya M-03 Rover
Sime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 07:28 PM   #19
Tech Apprentice
 
Sime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 54
Default

OK, straight off charge:
Surpernova 8.42
Muti meter: 8.34

Through Balance port: Both are reading 4.17 with multimeter
__________________
"3Racing" Cyclone :)
FT TC4
Tamiya TA-05 (no mods)
Yokomo MR-4BX with Nosram 4.5 Brushless
Tamiya TT-01 beat up car.............
Tamiya M-03 Rover
Sime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 07:30 PM   #20
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TAMIYAMANUK View Post
Oh not too lazy, I've seen plenty. I do believe we are talking about Orion lipos at the moment and I guess you're too lazy to differentiate between the large array of pack types available. Educate yourself on the differences before you spout off the same crap all lipo fear spreaders use. I bet if you saw a pack fire from a moron who wired a bunch of cell phone lipos together and ran in a car with a 8 turn brushed the results would scare you too. But that has nothing to do with this discussion either.

Can you find picture/video/stories about Orion packs having this same scary problem? I'd like to see you try...
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 08:00 PM   #21
Tech Regular
 
GymBeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Losi|Novak|MuchMore
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sime View Post
Yes it does have CC/CV and my charger says 8.4 but my mutimeter says 8.32, so who is telling the truth.........? And I do run till completion.
thats because every charger is calibrated differently.

one charger may read 8.4v another 8.35 another 8.45...

obviosly with regards to lipo, if your charger reads a higher voltage than what it actually is, then its a good thing (in terms of safety and longevity of the lipo) because it will slightly undercharge the lipo to 8.32v

what happens when a charger actually charges at a ccv at 8.45v? could be a safety risk
GymBeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 08:32 PM   #22
Tech Apprentice
 
Sime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 54
Default

I'll have to get my Mutimeter tested against a calibrated MM to see how far out it is and go from there.

So, its safe to say, that if I charge my Lipo and its only getting a voltage of say 8.0v, I should worry?
__________________
"3Racing" Cyclone :)
FT TC4
Tamiya TA-05 (no mods)
Yokomo MR-4BX with Nosram 4.5 Brushless
Tamiya TT-01 beat up car.............
Tamiya M-03 Rover
Sime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 09:05 PM   #23
Tech Regular
 
GymBeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Losi|Novak|MuchMore
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

it will be under-charge
GymBeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 09:12 PM   #24
Tech Apprentice
 
Sime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 54
Default

OK, I need a bit more info.
So with Lipos, you cant fully discharge it, so when it comes to charging, your charger will say for example 3500mah was put in during that particular charge, so how do you know for sure that your Lipo is capable of its full 4800mah? if at 4800mah, you lipo should read 8.4 volts, so say that if your Lipo is fully charge now at say 4000mah, the voltage will read lower.

So in a round about way, 8.4v will only be read at a fully charged 4800mah?
__________________
"3Racing" Cyclone :)
FT TC4
Tamiya TA-05 (no mods)
Yokomo MR-4BX with Nosram 4.5 Brushless
Tamiya TT-01 beat up car.............
Tamiya M-03 Rover
Sime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 09:35 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Sime, to see the full capacity put back in the by the charger you need to discharge the lipo completely. To do that, you need to discharge it at 4.8A, and cutoff the discharge at about 3.5V. It'll probably cost you some cycle life, though.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 09:38 PM   #26
Tech Apprentice
 
Sime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 54
Default

Bugger hey, Ill give that a miss I think. They cost $300 here in Australia.........
__________________
"3Racing" Cyclone :)
FT TC4
Tamiya TA-05 (no mods)
Yokomo MR-4BX with Nosram 4.5 Brushless
Tamiya TT-01 beat up car.............
Tamiya M-03 Rover
Sime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 10:13 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TAMIYAMANUK View Post
Those are from 2003 . . .4 years ago . . and they're not orion cells.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 10:42 PM   #28
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

chart 1
This link has a chart that shows a 7.4 will peak at 8.4 volts and test after the charge any where from 8.32 volts to 8.44. I assume thats why there rated nominal. Each pack can be a little better than the next.

Chart 2
I think is the burst that each cell can handle not sure though.
Accessing this site it wont load for me on some links.

http://lib.store.yahoo.net/lib/toytr...iPo-Safety.pdf

Good stuff.
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 10:51 PM   #29
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sime View Post
OK, I need a bit more info.
So with Lipos, you cant fully discharge it, so when it comes to charging, your charger will say for example 3500mah was put in during that particular charge, so how do you know for sure that your Lipo is capable of its full 4800mah? if at 4800mah, you lipo should read 8.4 volts, so say that if your Lipo is fully charge now at say 4000mah, the voltage will read lower.

So in a round about way, 8.4v will only be read at a fully charged 4800mah?
Check the percent of charge or (charge capacity setting) I have my Ice set at 110. Orion recommends 90%
If your set at 80 that may be the reason for the voltage readings.?
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 12:38 AM   #30
Tech Apprentice
 
Sime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 54
Default

Mines set at 100%
__________________
"3Racing" Cyclone :)
FT TC4
Tamiya TA-05 (no mods)
Yokomo MR-4BX with Nosram 4.5 Brushless
Tamiya TT-01 beat up car.............
Tamiya M-03 Rover
Sime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NIP Novak 5amp lipo regulator with volt monitor, NIP venom 1600mah lipo rx pack sharkman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 06-10-2008 02:36 PM
LIPO CHARGER LIKE HYPERION AND LIPO BATTS AND MAYBE CHEAP 12TH SCALE jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-16-2008 07:55 AM
FS TrakPower 7.4V 4900MAH Hardshell Lipo,TrakPowerBalancer,TrinityReference 4500 Lipo ffpm46 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 01-29-2008 06:11 PM
Pg 2 on Complete Sellout Motor rebuild Orion Lipo, peak Lipo 4800 and more gunlocators R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 10-08-2007 02:11 PM
Lipo charger with power supply and 2 cell lipo pack fweemindan R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-03-2007 11:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:22 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net