R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2001, 06:05 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
wrxmy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 353
Default GM Racing

Anyone had any experience with kit from these guys?

In particular the V4R ESC and the GM 2400 NiCd stick packs? I think these use Sanyo based cells?

Cheers

A
wrxmy99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2001, 04:55 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
MissX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Wanna race?
Posts: 287
Default

You mean their car kit?
Yes their car is called ofna in US, GM TC 4 in Europe and Asia.

Their speedo is fine, but there is no FET output.
GM makes some of the best batteries. They are a little pricey.
MissX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2001, 07:31 PM   #3
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MissX
Their speedo is fine, but there is no FET output.
GM makes some of the best batteries. They are a little pricey.
MissX : Their speedos are not fine, they're great !!!
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2001, 07:40 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
MissX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Wanna race?
Posts: 287
Default

My definition for a great ESC are:

- Must have a FET output
- Should be able to be programed and recalled for a different motor and track layout
- No motor limit
- Small
- Variable freq drive

Does your GM falls into these catagories? Almost right?
MissX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2001, 07:46 PM   #5
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

My definition for great ESC : Masami uses it !!!
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2001, 08:31 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
imataquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,279
Send a message via ICQ to imataquito Send a message via Yahoo to imataquito
Default

whats FET output ....
XC does not have fet's?....
imataquito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2001, 08:41 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
MissX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Wanna race?
Posts: 287
Default

FET output is used to connect 7.2 volt servo. It's faster.

Speedo like Novak Cyc TC, LRP 7.1, Quantum has it, but not GM.
I also don't know how we can precisely set the current limiter on GM. Others have PitWizard, or Chips. But Masami uses it, so it must be good.
MissX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2001, 08:17 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
xray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 209
Default

wrxmy99, As far as I know the kit is made (OEM) by Hong Nor, Taiwan. I have been to their factory once.

In Europe, they called it TC4 International and in the US, a company called Ofna bought from Hong Nor and market it under OFNA brand.

In regards to ESC, I agree with missX

I think FET servo is a must!!
Therefore, I don't understand why GM Esc cannot support them.

Sorry Daniz, nothing personal!! I almost bought it, until I realize they don't have the FET support.

I like GM batery, it's pricy but it performed.



xray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2001, 09:07 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to stefan
Default XRay, MissX

Come on guys, tell me please that you are not serious.

If you need 7.2 Volts for a FET servo, wouldn't it be easy to simlply solder the wire next to the wire that comes from the positive battery pole?

That exactly what that small wire, that coming out of the LRP speedos does, it connects the servo directly to the battery.

If you do it yourself, it will even be replaceable.

Now if this is a decision making feature for you, stay with other brands.
If you want a great speed control though, get a V12.
stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2001, 02:57 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,520
Default Re: XRay, MissX

My only complaint about the V4 is that it has no power switch. It's no biggie on a sedan, but it's a pain in the butt on an F1 car.
psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2001, 05:46 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
imataquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,279
Send a message via ICQ to imataquito Send a message via Yahoo to imataquito
Default

um miss x are u sure ??? theres no FET output ...........
i am about to get it in a few days time .....
i think i downloaded the manual and it did say that if u r not using a fet servo snap off the wire ......
imataquito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2001, 06:14 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
MissX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Wanna race?
Posts: 287
Default

Imataquito,

I am sure that GM ESC does not have the FET output, but I don't know if there is any US version or something. I live in Indonesia. Daniz, does your GM has a FET output?

Hi Stefan, I am not sure if we can hard wire the FET output to the positive terminal, i've never done that. But if it is than it's good.

Why don't you try KO VSF2000, it's the next best thing in ESC. Imagine you can have a very powerfull punch and acceleration but a very effisient top end. It's all can be programed from it's handheld programer like pitwizard.

One more brand, I like Keyence Zero Extreme, it's superb.
MissX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2001, 11:44 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 301
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

MissX: Yes you can just tap the servo's FET wire into the positive battery lead. This is what gas racers have to do in order to use one of these servo's in their cars, for the simple fact that there is no speedo to supply the juice, they just run it off the gas receiver pack!Just make sure you place the resistor between the servo lead and battery lead.
WailinOnYa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2001, 03:10 AM   #14
Tech Regular
 
MissX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Wanna race?
Posts: 287
Thumbs up

WailinOnYa,

Thanks for the tip.
Do you know what is the value of the resistor?
MissX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2001, 05:48 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to stefan
Default

It's not resistor, it's a choke.
I don't know the value, ut the unit is mH (milli Henry)
stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Misc Stuff Much More, Xray, GS Racing,Peak Racing Pro Models R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-27-2007 09:41 AM
FS: Savage hop-ups.THS.Trinity.Hardcore Racing.Robinson Racing.HPI.Hitec factory racer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 06-23-2006 05:17 AM
2006 Hobbytown Oshkosh Off Road Racing Season Opener FREE RACING!!! Zac R Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 18 05-23-2006 11:37 PM
HMS Racing - Sole distributor Nova TOP, REX & JP Racing engines hmsracing Malaysian R/C Racers 58 03-15-2005 09:40 PM
Racing Model Sailboats - Strategy and Racing at its Finest rcinsight Web Links 0 01-08-2005 01:49 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:21 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net