Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
LiPo Charger Options?? >

LiPo Charger Options??

LiPo Charger Options??

Old 07-04-2007, 03:56 AM
  #16  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (-1)
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

I have a Supernova Competition, and have used it with Team Orion 4800. works great.

The important thing is that whatever charger you get, make sure it can do "CC/CV" charging, and then only charge the 4800lipo at 1C, which is 4.8amps. Any more and you risk all the nasties that the nay-sayers preach about.
PeteB is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 05:21 AM
  #17  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (147)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,397
Trader Rating: 147 (100%+)
Default

WHat the heck is a cell ballancer for?
tyreguy is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 05:44 AM
  #18  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tyreguy View Post
WHat the heck is a cell ballancer for?
Orion lipos are configured as 2 cells in series. The cells could get out of balance with each other over time so one ends up with a higher voltage than the other. Since the chargers stop at 8.4V regardless of the individual voltages, one cell could end up at 4.4V and the other at 4.0V.

Now Orion claims their cells rarely need balancing. I still haven't had to do it and I just check with a multimeter before I charge to make sure.
kuzo is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 05:47 AM
  #19  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (147)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,397
Trader Rating: 147 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kuzo View Post
Orion lipos are configured as 2 cells in series. The cells could get out of balance with each other over time so one ends up with a higher voltage than the other. Since the chargers stop at 8.4V regardless of the individual voltages, one cell could end up at 4.4V and the other at 4.0V.

Now Orion claims their cells rarely need balancing. I still haven't had to do it and I just check with a multimeter before I charge to make sure.
Cool, how would this effect a 3 cell pack?
tyreguy is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 06:10 AM
  #20  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tyreguy View Post
Cool, how would this effect a 3 cell pack?
The balancer would use a different harness to attach to the battery but it operates in the same way. If charging with it, the balancer would stop each cell at 4.2V. If it can be used without the charger, it will slowly discharge the higher voltage cells until they get down to match the lowest. Different battery makers can use different harness taps on their batteries so make sure if you go this route to get a balancer with matching taps. If you go with Orion packs, no one makes a harness for them yet that I've seen. I picked up the Orion balancer and an easy mod to the 2 cell harness that comes with it did the trick.
kuzo is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 07:29 AM
  #21  
Tech Master
iTrader: (51)
 
A X O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: N o e L
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

.....

Last edited by A X O; 05-24-2013 at 04:37 AM.
A X O is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 07:35 AM
  #22  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (147)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,397
Trader Rating: 147 (100%+)
Default

Ok, I think I got it narrowed down. Any other Charger options other than is whats listed?
tyreguy is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 07:53 AM
  #23  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (43)
 
seth556's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,233
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

The Duratrax ICE (what I use) and the Super Brain 989 are both excellent chargers. I think the Super Brain has a few more features though.

For a balancer I use an Astroflight Blinky. Works well for the money. But there are better ones such as the Apache SM-505 and the LBA10. All available from MaxAmps.
seth556 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:19 AM
  #24  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,873
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by A X O View Post
can anyone tell me as to where i should send my GFX for upgrades. tnx
pls email me the details at [email protected]
You could try doing a search for Competiton Electronics.
jiml is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:28 AM
  #25  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,873
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Most of the LiPo chargers out there are good, just make sure you have some kind of balancing feature. Most of the time a balancer isn't necessary, but it's a nice safety feature.

I got into electric airplanes mostly to learn about LiPo. I have heard stories from both ends of the spectrum. One flier (a member of the AMA Hall of Fame) preaches all the safety tips you have read, like charging the battery in some sort of case. He has several accounts of lipo's doing some very serious damage.

Then there's a helicopter guy who's big into 3D, and he's good at it. Used one pack for several months, just used it and charged it over and over. Finally after several warnings he got a balancer and checked the pack. After months of abuse it was perfectly balanced! Pays to get good packs.
jiml is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 04:03 PM
  #26  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,717
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Multiplex all the way. Very easy to use and very small as well.

Later,
CRASH is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 04:50 PM
  #27  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
ottoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,765
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by A X O View Post
can anyone tell me as to where i should send my GFX for upgrades. tnx
pls email me the details at [email protected]
I am testing the GFX LiPo program for CE at the moment.
Not sure, but I don't think it will be too long before its available. Jim said it will be a $50 upgrade.
It will be posted on the CE web site when its available... and I will post on this thread also
If you have any questions on the program I will try to answer them
ottoman is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 05:10 PM
  #28  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have an ICE charger and it's been nothing short of excellent. It will charge any battery that's rated at 8000mah and lower. Higher than 8000mah it will take an hour plus.

If you have a battery that's 12Ah (12,000mAh) and want it charged in an hour or less, you'll need to find something that can do the job.
Sabin is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.