R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-01-2001, 10:37 AM   #1
Regional Moderator
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,179
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Extra batt for transmitter

do anyone like to add more batt to the remote or they think its only adding weight?
disaster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2001, 01:42 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Corse-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 2,121
Default Re: Extra batt for transmitter

Quote:
Originally posted by Disaster999
do anyone like to add more batt to the remote or they think its only adding weight?
Um. Depending on which conditions can be interesting, because an extra cell can raise the running time of the batteries in the transmiter, interesting if you're plan to run a long endurance race with one or two transmiters.
__________________
Cheers,
Corse-R
---
[quote=MugenDrew;2684554]BATTERIES are for FLASH LIGHTS, gasoline is for cleanin parts, alcohol is for me to drink and well NITRO...everybody know thats for racing.[/quote] :D:D:D
Corse-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2001, 02:57 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,979
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Have a question

I am thinking of trying a 10AAA NiMH, rechargable pack in my 3PJ, i have been running 8AA NiMH cells but they do not reach the 12 volt level like 8 dry cells. Has anyone tried this and how did it work?
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2001, 03:29 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to BigDogRacing
Default Re: Re: Extra batt for transmitter

Quote:
Originally posted by Corse-R


Um. Depending on which conditions can be interesting, because an extra cell can raise the running time of the batteries in the transmiter, interesting if you're plan to run a long endurance race with one or two transmiters.
I think the guy means adding 2 cells to increase the voltage.

I personally haven't tried it, but if you use rechargeables, they say it helps reduce glitches by increasing the voltage. I wouldn't be scared to try it though.....
BigDogRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2001, 04:10 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Besercoe
Have a question

I am thinking of trying a 10AAA NiMH, rechargable pack in my 3PJ, i have been running 8AA NiMH cells but they do not reach the 12 volt level like 8 dry cells. Has anyone tried this and how did it work?
im not sure if the 3pj can handle 10 AAA cells but i tried 9 AA 600mah nicads in my 3pj and voltage reached 11+ volts. it lasted longer between charges. right now, i went back to the original configuration of 8 cells because i got some AA size 1000mah nimhs. these 8 cells do not reach 12 volts but they work fine the whole day without recharging.

if you want higher voltage, try 1.25v rechargeables (compared to 1.2v for regular rechargeables.) ive had these cells before, i just forgot where i got them and what the brand was.
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2001, 01:05 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

I'm using Varta Accu Plus 1100 mAH AA. Without load, they got 1,27 volt on them. This is measured after a couple of hours use since last fully charge. Haven't measured the volt, when TX is turned on....

Last edited by Cole Trickle; 12-03-2001 at 01:10 AM.
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2001, 09:05 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
MissX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Wanna race?
Posts: 287
Default

If you can hook up a wire to the empty battery pack, then connect it to an external lead acid 12v battery this will be the best option.

First you get a constant 12 volt, and your remote will be lighter. I have used a 12 volt 7 amps, and it's good for 2 days race.
MissX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2001, 08:57 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
FIVE 7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kamloops, B.C
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I ran rechargable AA's in my Airtronics 3PS. I didn't get the voltage either with 8 so I added a small case on the back which held two more rechargable AA's, wired it up in series and my voltage came up to around 13.2 volts which was fine. Aslong as the voltage doesn't go any higher than this you should be fine.
Hope this helps?
__________________
Brent
Thompson Valley R/C Race Club - Prez
________________________________
GRIPWORKS RC - R1WURKS CANADA
FIVE 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2001, 09:40 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
c-lyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,723
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I built a 9 cell nicad pack which fits inside the 3PS radio case and produces over 12 volts. There's actually room inside for 11 cells, but no room for wiring as well.
c-lyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 06:04 AM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Niagara Falls area
Posts: 54
Default

I just got my XXX-T RTR a few days ago, and I didn't know what alkaline batteries were, so I just popped some Duracell Copperheads in my XR2. After two runs, they done died out. If I get (this is the only other way to go) rechargable AA NiCD or NiMH batteries, they will last longer (how many runs would I get on them?), right? Also, can I charge them on my normal battery charger for my car, Pirahna Digital Peak Charger?
thousandAnd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 11:38 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thousandAnd1
I just got my XXX-T RTR a few days ago, and I didn't know what alkaline batteries were, so I just popped some Duracell Copperheads in my XR2. After two runs, they done died out. If I get (this is the only other way to go) rechargable AA NiCD or NiMH batteries, they will last longer (how many runs would I get on them?), right? Also, can I charge them on my normal battery charger for my car, Pirahna Digital Peak Charger?
Rechargeables are cheaper in the long run, but usually alkalines last pretty long. Longer than rechargeable, I believe.

2 runs, is that around 30, maybe 60 minutes maximum? I would expect those Duracells to last way longer. Had they passed the expired date?

If your charger can handle 8 cells, and charge at maximum 1 amp, yes, then it can charge your TX cells. Only get NiMh, if your charger specifically are made for NiMh. Otherwise, get some NiCd.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 01:19 PM   #12
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 403
Default

Alkaline battery's give moe power and last longer compared t the rechargabl one.
R C king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 01:33 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default 9 cells in a Futaba Battery compartment

Guys;

Anyone willing to post a diagram on how they assembled a 9 cell "AA" pack to fit the Futaba's.

I don't see how it's going to fit (side x side at least)

Thanks,
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 01:34 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default Re: 9 cells in a Futaba Battery compartment

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
Guys;

Anyone willing to post a diagram on how they assembled a 9 cell "AA" pack to fit the Futaba's.

I don't see how it's going to fit (side x side at least)

Thanks,
come on pops just plug into your die hard
__________________
what the heck is r/c car??? ( said in your best redneck voice)

'OL BUZZARD FARMING (lol)
howard hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 02:11 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Kenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 187
Default Re: 9 cells in a Futaba Battery compartment

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
Guys;

Anyone willing to post a diagram on how they assembled a 9 cell "AA" pack to fit the Futaba's.

I don't see how it's going to fit (side x side at least)

Thanks,
I read in the HK forum somewhere that they sell 9-cell packs in this configuration: (8 horizontal w/ 1 cell in the middle)
__ __
__ __
__ I __
__ __

instead of the normal

||||||||

Just to give you an idea. I think they are using it in their 3PKs.
Kenshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brand New Nitro Acces. (Batt, Fail-safe, Batt Monitor) pancar R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 10-23-2010 02:11 AM
race ready revo 3.3, extra os tm18.. extra roller gabbyb3 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 04-22-2007 08:02 AM
Integy Discharger, Promatch batt, peak racing batt f/s Dragtruck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-20-2007 10:49 PM
Futaba 2PL Radio Package Transmitter / 2 Servos / Recv / Batt Holder & Swtich RiskTaker R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 11-01-2006 11:40 AM
Dyna-Glow Metered NiCd glow driver w/ meter & Charger/ extra batt arawak420 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 10-08-2005 10:20 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:17 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net