Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Front one way on asphalt? >

Front one way on asphalt?

Front one way on asphalt?

Old 06-27-2007, 11:46 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Front one way on asphalt?

Hey guys i'm running a stock cyclone.. (black version) and i'm running it on asphalt.. as for esc i'm running a gtb with a 5.5r.. the problem i'm having is that I cant brake at all.. everytime i touch the brakes i pretty much spin out.. thanks to the handbraking effect of the front one way.. my lhs doesn't have cyclone parts and i'm out of the country right now.. so getting a spool isn't really possible.. i was wondering if there was any setups for a front oneway car on asphalt to make it handle better on low speed turns.. on high speed turns which require no braking it handles like a dream, its the lowspeed hair pins and S turns i'm having problems with.. i pretty much spin out or "drift" through them... no doubt it looks cool but its not the fastest way to get around.. i've turned off drag brakes which helps.. but still not the best .. as for setup i'm following http://www.hbeurope.com/pdfs/setups/...ing_setup).pdf
works reasonably.. but not the best.. thanks!!
dorick is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 01:13 PM
  #2  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (217)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,191
Trader Rating: 217 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dorick View Post
Hey guys i'm running a stock cyclone.. (black version) and i'm running it on asphalt.. as for esc i'm running a gtb with a 5.5r.. the problem i'm having is that I cant brake at all.. everytime i touch the brakes i pretty much spin out.. thanks to the handbraking effect of the front one way.. my lhs doesn't have cyclone parts and i'm out of the country right now.. so getting a spool isn't really possible.. i was wondering if there was any setups for a front oneway car on asphalt to make it handle better on low speed turns.. on high speed turns which require no braking it handles like a dream, its the lowspeed hair pins and S turns i'm having problems with.. i pretty much spin out or "drift" through them... no doubt it looks cool but its not the fastest way to get around.. i've turned off drag brakes which helps.. but still not the best .. as for setup i'm following http://www.hbeurope.com/pdfs/setups/...ing_setup).pdf
works reasonably.. but not the best.. thanks!!
well for starters,how about taking some of your brake travel out of your radio ,kit set up for one-way is pretty good
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 01:28 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,912
Default

I seem to recall someone on these boards suggesting using a thicker grease in the onw way's to calm them down and stop the front end from being so loose that the rear won't stay calm.

Skiddins
Skiddins is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 02:06 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

when driving with a oneway you don't use the brakes that is why you are spinning out, sounds to me like you need to change your driving style, you can change the setup all you want but it won't help if you are using brakes with a oneway.
Big B is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 07:12 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (72)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SAN DIEGO
Posts: 1,218
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Try decreasing weight transfer to the front of the car with springs and droop. Don't use brakes at all. Also, just let off the throttle, coast a little and then turn. Try not to let off the throttle and turn at the same time, you'll be surprised at the results.
patrick is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 08:16 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,168
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

If you are going to use the brakes just dial down the effect in the speedo setup. You can change the "Initial" brake %. By default I think the setting is either 20 or 40% depending on what profile you are using.
Jamie Hanson is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 10:03 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Like I said you can adjust the car all you want but tendency of the car will still be to spin out when using brakes with a Front Oneway. What country are you in? Sounds to me like the way you drive would be best suited for a Spool, and you can get RC stuff pretty much anywhere in the world now.
Big B is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 11:55 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Jamie, he was runing BL mod so the brake he have will even more than regular mod motor.
Guo Chean is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.