R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2001, 10:02 PM   #421
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

Yes it is worth it. Go for it!!
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2001, 11:33 PM   #422
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ryan199
Im just wondering what you guys think of a Tekin G12 ESC? I can get it for $50 Cdn. Think its worth it?
As far as I'm concerned, Tekin made the very best speed controls ever and no one has equalled or exceeded them. Their G9 was probably the best speed control ever built, the G12 series were also excellent.

I've driven a lot of speed controls, none has ever had the feel of a Tekin. In the last two years I've run the GMV12, the LRP 7.1, Novak Cyclone and Cyclone2, CS RocketMax, Quantum Competition, and my favorite is still the Tekin G9 or G12 series.

The Tekins aren't as tiny as some of the latest models, but the fact that you don't have to hang huge capacitors and schottky diodes off them to make them work is a BIG plus in my book.

Trips
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2001, 02:12 AM   #423
Tech Master
 
imataquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,279
Send a message via ICQ to imataquito Send a message via Yahoo to imataquito
Default

RCCadet u mean 16v 4700uF for the reciever (rx) ??
ok i have a few of those but its not the low ESR type that u usually use for the battry wires leading into speedo(powercap)

can it be used?
imataquito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2001, 02:12 AM   #424
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I liked my G10. But I wished they could have sized it a tad smaller. I still use it though in my truck. But I have my V12xc for my touring car. G10 MUCH easier to program than the V12xc hehe. MUCH easier!!!

Jimmy Mac
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2001, 09:06 AM   #425
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Too bad i sold my G12CIII....

indeed it was a nice ESC>>..
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2001, 10:28 PM   #426
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Ryan199
Default

Well, I ended up getting a Cyclone instead. I went to go buy the G12 today and I guess he sold it yesterday. I have heard that Cyclones are supposed to be pretty good, is that true? What will it be like as compared to a G10? I already have a G10 in my TC3, and the cyclone will go in my dad's TC3.
Ryan199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2001, 05:24 AM   #427
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ryan199
Well, I ended up getting a Cyclone instead. I went to go buy the G12 today and I guess he sold it yesterday. I have heard that Cyclones are supposed to be pretty good, is that true? What will it be like as compared to a G10? I already have a G10 in my TC3, and the cyclone will go in my dad's TC3.
you cant go wrong with cyclone for a top notch ESC !
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2001, 08:05 PM   #428
Tech Fanatic
 
badboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: jygs
Posts: 820
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

guys,

i have a novak tc2 and i'm wondering if i can still install another capacitor? what will this do to the esc and what effect will it have??? thanks!!!


badboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2001, 08:08 PM   #429
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by badboy
guys,

i have a novak tc2 and i'm wondering if i can still install another capacitor? what will this do to the esc and what effect will it have??? thanks!!!


i think novak does explain the advantage of using a power cap for their ESC on their homepage.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2001, 08:28 PM   #430
Tech Fanatic
 
badboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: jygs
Posts: 820
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Manticore : thanks!!!


badboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2001, 01:59 PM   #431
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Ya, i think they also said something about two cap for the ESC>..

But why do u need two?
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 08:14 AM   #432
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Smile

This is a L-O-N-G thread

Can anyone explain the differences between the LRP Quantum ESC's???

I thought that the Quantum Competition was the top of the line model. However, I see that Tower is selling the Quantum Pro Sport for more than the QCompetition???

Also, I notice that some models have 4 wires, while only the Competition has 3. I'm used to ESC's like the G10 and G12cIII that have 3 wires.

Last, is it necessary to use a cap when racing Stock?

Thanks
Geppetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 09:43 AM   #433
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Geppetto
This is a L-O-N-G thread

Can anyone explain the differences between the LRP Quantum ESC's???

I thought that the Quantum Competition was the top of the line model. However, I see that Tower is selling the Quantum Pro Sport for more than the QCompetition???

Also, I notice that some models have 4 wires, while only the Competition has 3. I'm used to ESC's like the G10 and G12cIII that have 3 wires.

Last, is it necessary to use a cap when racing Stock?

Thanks
Here is your answer to the different Quantum types:

http://www.teamassociated.com/shusti...lrp_frames.htm

I do not use a cap on my stockers.
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 11:44 AM   #434
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

RCCadet: Thanks! How long have you had your LRP ESC, what ESC's have you used in the past, and how would you compare the Quantum to the others?
Geppetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 12:17 PM   #435
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Geppetto
RCCadet: Thanks! How long have you had your LRP ESC, what ESC's have you used in the past, and how would you compare the Quantum to the others?
I started out with the Noval Tempest when it first came out, I then bought a LRP V7.1 when it first came out, bought three used speedos (2-LRP V6 and a Tekin G-10), finally earlier this year when it came out the Quantum Competition.

I use the QC in my XRAY, G-10 in my FTT3, and 7.1 in my FTTC3. They are all good!! The QC operates at the same frequency of the 7.1, has a lower max amp rating than the 7.1, but is smaller and more programmable than the 7.1.

The G-10 is simply an awesome speedo, no complaints here.
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 05:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 02:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 08:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 09:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:03 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net