R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2001, 10:17 PM   #406
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

A double post.
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2001, 10:18 PM   #407
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TFR
Do you mean a cap on the ESC??
Yeah, I placed (soldered) a small cap on the ESC positive/negative radio leads to the RX. I had a twitch in the digital servo and the cap resolved that issue.

My standard (non-digital) servo bogged down the car exiting turns so I went to a digital servo.
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2001, 10:31 PM   #408
Tech Adept
 
MauiBuilt Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 115
Default

What kind of servo was it?
MauiBuilt Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2001, 11:48 PM   #409
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MauiBuilt Racer
What kind of servo was it?
The old was Hi-Tech and the new is KO.
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2001, 01:29 AM   #410
Tech Master
 
imataquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,279
Send a message via ICQ to imataquito Send a message via Yahoo to imataquito
Default

it was a futaba S3003 servo ... it makes it easier to drive compared to hi speed servo cause my car is set up VERY VERY twichy.
and i m wondering if S3003 takes that much curent !!!!!! or is it my reciever ??? or ESC???

Plz help
imataquito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2001, 03:14 AM   #411
Regional Moderator
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,181
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

the same problem happen to my brother's electronics....he uses 3pdf, cyclone tc, jeti receiver, and s9402...when ever the pulls the trigger, the servo twitchs really bad for a sec...then stables...and when he is about 50m away from the car, its like it gone out of radio range and act like crazy. its fine i use his remote on my GP...no twitch or glitch...its only his car!!

anyone know y?
disaster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2001, 03:32 AM   #412
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Disaster999
the same problem happen to my brother's electronics....he uses 3pdf, cyclone tc, jeti receiver, and s9402...when ever the pulls the trigger, the servo twitchs really bad for a sec...then stables...and when he is about 50m away from the car, its like it gone out of radio range and act like crazy. its fine i use his remote on my GP...no twitch or glitch...its only his car!!

anyone know y?
it is the jeti receiver problem.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2001, 03:36 AM   #413
Regional Moderator
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,181
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Manticore


it is the jeti receiver problem.
really?? but the nitro uses the same receiver and nothings wrong wor!
disaster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2001, 07:04 AM   #414
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Disaster999


really?? but the nitro uses the same receiver and nothings wrong wor!
Your nitro RX is receiving direct power from the batteries instead of an ESC having to parse the signal between the motor and the RX. The motor could have an enormous draw on the system robbing what the RX deserves to function proficiently.
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2001, 07:13 AM   #415
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by imataquito
it was a futaba S3003 servo ... it makes it easier to drive compared to hi speed servo cause my car is set up VERY VERY twichy.
and i m wondering if S3003 takes that much curent !!!!!! or is it my reciever ??? or ESC???

Plz help
I ran a cap on my high-speed .09 Futaba also. My RX and TX is KO. You must have confidence there is no debris in the RX. I had to clean mine because of a few rocks with metallic properties screwed it up BADLY. That may not be your case. Make sure the TX batteries are fresh, but based on what you described early we can excuse all the above.

Try a small cap and see if it improves your situation. I soldered mine at the point where that ESC plugs into the RX. I slid the female pin plugs out a bit an attached the cap. My problems with lack of power exiting turns was solved.
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0

Last edited by RCCadet; 11-22-2001 at 07:16 AM.
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2001, 09:31 PM   #416
Tech Master
 
imataquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,279
Send a message via ICQ to imataquito Send a message via Yahoo to imataquito
Default

Ty Rc cadet .. i will ttry that but can u plz tell me the rating for the cap

must it be the low ESR cap like the caps u use on the battry wires?
what is the rating? Volts and uF.

i m gona check my Rx to see if thers any small rocks in it hehe maybe one or 2 just got in there.

i lose lots of speed exiting the turns...... and the sad thing is i HAVE lost of grip for the turn and i can easilly shoot out of it taking a slightly tighter linewithout having to worry about my car losing control ....( car is setup to mildly overstear on trottle)

Thanl U again RcCadet
imataquito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2001, 04:07 PM   #417
Tech Master
 
imataquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,279
Send a message via ICQ to imataquito Send a message via Yahoo to imataquito
Default

anyone knows the answer to the question below ?
imataquito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2001, 05:56 PM   #418
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dublin, California
Posts: 342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default MRT VX Pro ESC?

Does anybody have any info on MRT's new speed controller? In case you have not heard of it, it was tested and reported on in the December issue of the Radio Race Car International Magazine. The only problem it seems to be manufactured by a UK company, (MRT) and I can't find a distributer or hobby shop that sells it.

Please help! I'm looking to try one of these.
Lee H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2001, 07:27 PM   #419
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by imataquito
anyone knows the answer to the question below ?
If you are referring to the cap, I am using a 4700uF 16v.
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2001, 10:00 PM   #420
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Ryan199
Default

Im just wondering what you guys think of a Tekin G12 ESC? I can get it for $50 Cdn. Think its worth it?
Ryan199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 05:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 02:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 08:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 09:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:17 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net