R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2001, 04:20 PM   #196
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

WOW! But how does it perform? Durability? Where are the specs, and price? Can it be repaired in the US?
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2001, 04:32 PM   #197
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Speedo - accually read before you post. If you noticed he put a link below the image
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2001, 05:13 PM   #198
Tech Regular
 
antoniop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 371
Default

The thing is tiny.

Our National Pro 10 Champ uses it and one of the best TC drivers now uses this one too, and he's very happy with it. It performs very well, very good brakes (not just powerful, but very programable too).

It switches off by holding the brakes down for 5 or 6 seconds.

I was surprised to see that robi recomends 9 or higher motors. I was expecting it to be similar to the LRP Quantum in specs, but it's a little below that.

I understand that Trinity represents Robi in the US. I don't know if they sell it there or if the service is good.

A very interesting alternative if you live in Europe (12T limit) because the price is very good. I saw it selling for roughly 100 USD in an online hobby shop in Germany. I'm not sure what happens on the US market with Trinity

And it's so cute....

Last edited by antoniop; 11-08-2001 at 05:20 PM.
antoniop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2001, 05:27 PM   #199
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

Yeah, I noticed that later Troy. I went to the robi site anyway. Everything looks good, cept the resistance is about twice that of the Novak or LRP.
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2001, 05:56 PM   #200
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

Next project-an "atom" in a BRP "DaBug"


That Robitronics speedo looked nice.9 turns is the limit? I like that optional software though.I don't know I think I just stick with Novak-never had a problem with em.

Has anyone tried that CS Electronics "CS Rocket" speedo?
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2001, 07:03 PM   #201
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I run the RocketMax in my Losi. It's a great speedo for me, all the adjustments I need without an external programming device. There is an optional PC interface for even more customization possibilities, but I haven't tried that yet.

The two features I like most about are coast power and variable drive frequency. The coast power is sort of like coast brake, only instead of brake it leaves jsut a bit of pwoer to the motor when you let off. I use it in stock class to help the car roll through the corners better.

Variable frequency when activated changes the drive frequency of the speedo in response to the speed of your trigger finger. Move the trigger in a slow smooth fashion and you get high frequency smooth response. Yank a bunh of trigger quickly and it shifts to low frequency for the most punch.

Trips
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2001, 08:16 PM   #202
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spooky
TFR.... I do not mean to be off topic here... but why are you looking for such a nice speedo for your Micro ? I know that the GM V4 -6 series is whole lot cheaper and just as small if not smaller ? you could buy 3 V4's for the price of the competiton

I personally have an old novak exlporer in mine.
Just curious
Oh, is just that...I think i will use it for my TC too afterward...

I heard there is problems for GM V4-6 on the micro being the throttle not work on those motor...that's what i heard...not sure...

Ya, you are right about the price....

I might just go and get the Robitronic spirit...HA>..
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2001, 09:12 AM   #203
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 18
Default

Which wire (+/-) first do you first pull out of the battery ?
Some says it's save to pull out the positive side first.
joyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2001, 09:17 AM   #204
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by joyrider
Which wire (+/-) first do you first pull out of the battery ?
Some says it's save to pull out the positive side first.
doesnt matter, pull either one of them will make the circuit opened.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2001, 09:37 AM   #205
Tech Apprentice
 
RacerTex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 77
Default

Comments on the new KO speedo with variable drive frequency - VFS-2000 . What about the Keyance Zero Extreme? I'm looking for a new speedo and are looking at these two as possibilities along with the CS Rocket.
RacerTex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2001, 10:03 AM   #206
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Manticore


doesnt matter, pull either one of them will make the circuit opened.

But my GM V12 manual instructs to pull out the negative wire first.
I think pulling out the neg wire first will limit the current flows into the esc, since electrical current flows from pos to neg ?
joyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2001, 11:28 AM   #207
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

It doesn't matter which you pull, current only flows when there's a complete circuit. Any disconnection anywhere along the circuit and there's no current flow anywhere in the circuit.

Trips
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2001, 11:48 AM   #208
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Any of you guys had any experience with the Keyence ZeroV Extreme. I was considering one for next racing season, but I wanted to hear a little about it.

I know all the specs and all that. What I want to know is how does it perform in stock and modified. How hot does it get. Does it really work without a schottky or power cap like like Keyence says it does.

In general, just let me know what you think of it and if its worth the price.


The only problem I see with it are those horrible wires! Why does Keyence use those colors anyway?
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2001, 05:54 PM   #209
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Darkside
Any of you guys had any experience with the Keyence ZeroV Extreme. I was considering one for next racing season, but I wanted to hear a little about it.

I know all the specs and all that. What I want to know is how does it perform in stock and modified. How hot does it get. Does it really work without a schottky or power cap like like Keyence says it does.

In general, just let me know what you think of it and if its worth the price.


The only problem I see with it are those horrible wires! Why does Keyence use those colors anyway?
ESC of this brand make radio glitching easily................
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2001, 06:20 PM   #210
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 513
Default

hello, Manticore. i dont have the glitching problem at all! dont let Mars see this.. that ESC is his favorite... hehe
Darkside: it is a really good speed control, i don't use the cap and i dont have any problem. about those wires, they are made from pure silver or have more silver content than other wires. they are expensive, i think they are 9bucks for 2 one foot in a package. they conduct electricity better.. that is if i can tell a different
ME-student is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 05:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 02:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 08:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 09:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:01 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net