R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2007, 11:04 PM   #16
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 187
Default Setup

I agree, Hudy's setup stations are the best. As for whether or not you need a setup station, it's the only way to get your car to handle consistantly. My car goes on the setup station before every run, practice or racing, and everytime I put my car on the track I know exactly how it is going to handle. I see alot of guys at my local track that don't use setup stations and there cars handle differently every race. They are an invaluable tool, and money well spent. Just my two cents.
_pilot_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 11:16 PM   #17
Tech Addict
 
TMcKinney711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Clemmons, NC
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _pilot_ View Post
I agree, Hudy's setup stations are the best. As for whether or not you need a setup station, it's the only way to get your car to handle consistantly. My car goes on the setup station before every run, practice or racing, and everytime I put my car on the track I know exactly how it is going to handle. I see alot of guys at my local track that don't use setup stations and there cars handle differently every race. They are an invaluable tool, and money well spent. Just my two cents.

I would be that person your talking about, my eyes arent cutting it any more!

Im looking for a set up board my self, and I have some hudy tools and they are the best by far, so i think im going to get there system.
TMcKinney711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 01:20 AM   #18
Tom
Tech Regular
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia-mate
Posts: 349
Default

You guys need to see the light,

Setup wheels, drawing triangle, and a set of shims or feeler gauges in 0.1mm incraments, from 1-1.8mm or so. Add a 30cm steel rule to check toe, a quality droop/ride hight gaug and a flat surface. And a white pencil or chalk to mark the tires (thats for rubber tires)

So you think your hudy setup station is good? Wheel i run -1.2mm front chamber and 1.4mm rear at my local track. Measure that!

Dont knock it till you try it. Spend some time at the track with fresh tires, and draw a white chalk line across them, go and do 2-3 laps and bring the car in. Notice the the wear on the line and adjust chamber accordingly, do another 2-3 laps and so on... you will find a really good sweet spot

Yes i used setup stations too once apon a time.
Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 04:30 PM   #19
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
I'll stick my oar in as I always do in these kind of threads.

"Setup stations" are a waste of time. When do you ever race your car with 5mm acrylic squares instead of tyres?

Best setup system is a flat board (Hudy sell their own boards seperately, I got the 1/10th version for 12.99 UK), a camber gauge (RPM is reliable and easy to use) and a ride height gauge (I use a 3racing one, you can also use it to measure droop if you place the chassis flat on the board without tyres).

Put the wheels you will be using on the car (assuming they are not distorted), set your ride height first, then your droop, tweak, cambers etc, recheck and you are good to go. Total expense under 30 UK. And probably a better setup car than any setup station would give you.
I would have to agree on this, getting to an extreme degree of accuracy is not necessary. You don't have to use a setup station to recheck everything, all that can be done with a droop gauge, ride height gauge, camber gauge, and a tweak station. Assuming your rims aren't distorted.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 04:50 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,170
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek Nickal View Post
I would have to agree on this, getting to an extreme degree of accuracy is not necessary. You don't have to use a setup station to recheck everything, all that can be done with a droop gauge, ride height gauge, camber gauge, and a tweak station. Assuming your rims aren't distorted.
Really, I think being as we are dealing with such small cars and tolerances that even the slightest changes make a huge difference, I would like to be as accurate a possible but thats just my opinion
Big B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 05:51 PM   #21
Tech Addict
 
GTRtuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 503
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default set-up station

The Hudy All-in-one station works really well. Before I go to the race, I set up my car up on the station and it runs as perfect as I want it to. It goes straight down the line without clicking a notch to the left or the right. I actually set my front tow while the radio is on. Once I start racing, I don't use the set-up station unless I take a big hit. I use a credit card for a camber gage. After a while you'll know how to measure the distance between 1.5 to 2.0 degrees of camber by eyeing it. Camber gauges are nice but I temp my tires after every run and make sure I get even temperature on both sides of the tire. This keeps my tire wear even and I save on tires. Efficiency is important when you race as much as we do. Hope this helps...
__________________
Walter Cosico

RC America/ X-ray/ SRG www.superradgraphics.com/ Hudy/ R1wurks/ TeamBocaBearings
GTRtuned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 06:12 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,774
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek Nickal View Post
I would have to agree on this, getting to an extreme degree of accuracy is not necessary. You don't have to use a setup station to recheck everything, all that can be done with a droop gauge, ride height gauge, camber gauge, and a tweak station. Assuming your rims aren't distorted.
I would disagree with you there totally. Every change to these cars does something even .25 degrees of camber. I try to check my car on the gauges after every run and even with a clean run things can get whacked out.

I use the Speedmind setup station. Its just like the hudy.
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 06:41 PM   #23
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big B View Post
, IMO Hudy has the best tools, dosent matter if its hex drivers or setup stations, their fit, finish, and quality of materials is second to none. Whoever told you that they are a wast of money was somking something, the $60 Integy one is ok for the price
yeah thats right that guy was probably blown at that time
civiceg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 06:45 PM   #24
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTRtuned View Post
The Hudy All-in-one station works really well. Before I go to the race, I set up my car up on the station and it runs as perfect as I want it to. It goes straight down the line without clicking a notch to the left or the right. I actually set my front tow while the radio is on. Once I start racing, I don't use the set-up station unless I take a big hit. I use a credit card for a camber gage. After a while you'll know how to measure the distance between 1.5 to 2.0 degrees of camber by eyeing it. Camber gauges are nice but I temp my tires after every run and make sure I get even temperature on both sides of the tire. This keeps my tire wear even and I save on tires. Efficiency is important when you race as much as we do. Hope this helps...
so you dont use your setup station for camber?
civiceg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 07:08 PM   #25
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 936
Default

Does anyone know if the teammagic setup comes with a toe-in guage? I think that's what it is. Anyway it's the clear plastic plate.
vabroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 07:39 PM   #26
Tech Master
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,170
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vabroom View Post
Does anyone know if the teammagic setup comes with a toe-in guage? I think that's what it is. Anyway it's the clear plastic plate.
I am almost 100% sure it does
Big B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 05:55 AM   #27
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by civiceg View Post
so you dont use your setup station for camber?
I think he means he sets it up, including camber, on the setup station then will check it periodically with the credit card.
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 08:20 AM   #28
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FINLAND, EUROPE
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamge View Post
I recently heard of this brand of setup station:
http://www.rc-setup.com/
I bought this set 8 months ago and I've been very satisfied.

Price and quality has great balance - I really can recommend this set for those who are not ready to invest a bunch of money.

Readability could be a little bit better in certain lightning conditions, but that is the only negative thing I have experienced.
TommyW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 08:46 AM   #29
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I thought that one does but it only goes to like 10 degrees making it useless for checking how far your steering goes. I might be thinking of another station though but almost sure it was the magic one. I looked at them all before going with the Hudy. Hudy is really easy to read and I like it a lot more than the Integy. If I did it over again I would just get the gauges and not the full set up system though. Haven't used the tweak thing yet.


Quote:
Originally Posted by vabroom View Post
Does anyone know if the teammagic setup comes with a toe-in guage? I think that's what it is. Anyway it's the clear plastic plate.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone
Xray T2 007
KO Helios
Duratrax ICE
porschejim911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 10:00 AM   #30
Tech Addict
 
GTRtuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 503
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default camber

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlamMan View Post
I think he means he sets it up, including camber, on the setup station then will check it periodically with the credit card.
Yes, exactly. I usually start with -1.5 degrees in the front and -2 degrees in the rear. I'm always checking it at track as the day goes by with a Dave and Buster card. A lot of times I find myself adjusting camber according to the track and how the tire is wearing. Plus, rotating tires helps when trying to get the best performance without having to use more sets.
__________________
Walter Cosico

RC America/ X-ray/ SRG www.superradgraphics.com/ Hudy/ R1wurks/ TeamBocaBearings
GTRtuned is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setup station/break-in-bench/tweek station/setup-board rcfoolz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 07-16-2007 12:19 PM
Good setup station ? SteveJa Electric Off-Road 8 06-27-2007 11:30 PM
WTB MIP Tweak Station and 1/10th TC Setup Station Charles Leto R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 03-23-2006 12:05 PM
Integy Setup station & Tweak station dirtybirk R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 11-02-2005 08:59 PM
INTEGY SETUP STATION AND MIP Tweak Station yamrace R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 07-09-2005 05:14 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:30 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net