Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Help me choose a brushless system >

Help me choose a brushless system

Help me choose a brushless system

Old 06-27-2007, 12:42 PM
  #46  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i like the lrp sphere line of speedos. the speedo is much smoother the a novak. run one in my 1/12 for 2+ years now. it does not unsettle the car in any part of the corner. I have also tried several of the profile in 1/12 with very good luck. so for my Touring i just purchased an lrp sphere tc. I have had bad experience in the past with lrp. but I just called them yesterday and really had the best conversation with one of their support engineer. we will see if the product hold up and what the support will be like. but my original sphere is still in a 1/12 scale and have zero problems with it. also, i have run novak and lrp motors brushed and brushless with zero problems. maybe I am lucky.
theisgroup is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 12:55 AM
  #47  
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

difference between the gtb vs gtb Spek please

is the spek one that much better & worth buying instead of the std GTB ??
MR JOLLY is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 01:07 AM
  #48  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gndprx View Post
It's the sensorless design more than anything that I believe causes this.

From what I understand, this was a long time issue with the old Shultze/Pletenburg combo as well. Awesome power and a great setup, but trouble if you ever started to roll backwards...it would supposedly rocket you faster in reverse if you tried to pull out of it.

The sensor designed motors are aware of the rotor position and how to compensate/correct rotation.

Don't get me wrong here, the Mamba is a good setup and has insane power capability, but if you need pure finesse from your motor then don't buy a Mamba. After switching the motor lead connections, I never really complained about mine until I moved from off-road to oval.

I don't think it's just the fact that it is senorless, the GM Genius 95 runs sensorless just as good as it runs sonsored. I think castle just didn't do a very good job. I spose when somethings as cheap as it is you wouldn't expect a perfectly running speedie.
My vote goes to the Novak.
Drewdc90 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 04:38 AM
  #49  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
RAP66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

My GTB SS unit arrived yesterday and it partially installed in my other TC5 chassis. The MM unit will stay with my MOD chassis for now

Thanks for all the suggestions on this!!
RAP66 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 07:07 AM
  #50  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
gndprx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 791
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Drewdc90 View Post
I don't think it's just the fact that it is senorless, the GM Genius 95 runs sensorless just as good as it runs sonsored. I think castle just didn't do a very good job. I spose when somethings as cheap as it is you wouldn't expect a perfectly running speedie.
My vote goes to the Novak.
That is entirely possible
gndprx is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 09:02 AM
  #51  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 668
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Gonna have my first meeting with the GTB tonight but with a brushed 27T motor. Tomorrow night I hope to run Brushless 13.5. Will let you know how they compare

Paul
mutley001 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 09:19 AM
  #52  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,249
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

You are only down to 2 choice....Novak and LRP. And you knew about the LRP support.....and I have friends told me about the TC version does not work at all (don't flame me...they told me their story, I don't own one so I just use it as a information...)
Novak...I am sure it is NOT the best performance (top of the line from TOP racers) but it does work every single time...I have run my GTB from 13.5 to 4.5, indoor foam, indoor rubber on carpet...outdoor foam and outdoor rubber...beside thermalling my stock rotor (in purpose) with 5 FDR..........there are no 1 single problem ever. Upgraded the rotor to Sintered...add the more powerfull fans (2 of those) and wired them directly from the +/- side of the speedo........I think 4.0 FDR is what I can do on 13.5....I have used 8.2 FDR on 4.5 running on a 250 long 1/8th track and my laptime was 0.5 secord behind those 200mm nitro TC with $400 mod engine/2-speed.
Solara is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 09:21 AM
  #53  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,249
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MR JOLLY View Post
difference between the gtb vs gtb Spek please

is the spek one that much better & worth buying instead of the std GTB ??
ONLY if you are using specktrum module radio system.......
Solara is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 10:34 AM
  #54  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MR JOLLY View Post
difference between the gtb vs gtb Spek please

is the spek one that much better & worth buying instead of the std GTB ??
The only reason to buy the GTB Spread Spektrum is if you are running a 2.4gig system like the Spektrums or the Futaba Fasst, they will not work with a synthesized, crystal, or anything else. They are 2.4 specific, other than that they are the same as the origional GTB's
Big B is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 01:02 PM
  #55  
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

thanks for that guy's
since i've been running 2.4 in the UK while every one else was slow to take it up, i`ll think i will get one

about £95.00 = $188.00 i've found one for Brand new
MR JOLLY is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 02:40 PM
  #56  
V12
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,665
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Solara View Post
.....and I have friends told me about the TC version does not work at all ....
Hmm maybe my LRP TC Spec actually isn“t a TC spec in reality.
As it works, ....great.
After reading both manuals of the GTB and the Sphere TC spec choice was so easy. Regarding programming I find the LRP much more advanced.
V12 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 04:20 PM
  #57  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 668
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well my GTB performed admirable with the brushed CO27 tonight, equally as good as my old MRT MX Pro but with less drag brake - will have to have a look at the instructions as to how to program that!
Next up tomorrw night we'll see how the brushless performs!
mutley001 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 04:44 AM
  #58  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 154
Default

Which do you want?

GTB &

#1 Velociti 3.5R (combo)

#2 Vector X11 3.5T (out of stock)

#3 Vortex(Vantage) 3.5 ($79.95)
xtaiji is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 09:45 PM
  #59  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,209
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Big B View Post
The only reason to buy the GTB Spread Spektrum is if you are running a 2.4gig system like the Spektrums or the Futaba Fasst, they will not work with a synthesized, crystal, or anything else. ...
sorry but are you saying - GTB will not work with a Spektrum 2.4 ghz system?
wyl03 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 10:37 PM
  #60  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The regular GTB will work with a 2.4ghz system but the GTB Spread Spektrum one is better for 2.4ghz systems, here is the listing for the Spread Spektrum one explaining the difference http://www.teamnovak.com/products/es...rum/index.html
Big B is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.