R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-22-2007, 09:13 PM   #46
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,208
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy View Post
Have you tried to increase the timing to increase RPM?
i did but didnt like it it seems to run the best at 0 degree timing
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 12:40 AM   #47
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: astoria, NY
Posts: 233
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i just received my vortex 3.5 and installed it in my JRXS. I also ran it with a mamba ESC, and it works fine with it. And the power, just 1 word sums it up, WOW.
__________________
DTX Evader ST Pro Brushless, Tx Mini E-Revo VXL
cheech4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 09:14 AM   #48
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 61
Default

which Vortex for small asphalt tack should I get
barclayrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 10:48 AM   #49
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,208
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barclayrc View Post
which Vortex for small asphalt tack should I get
5.5 is a perfect motor
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 05:41 PM   #50
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wing Chun View Post
Thanks Marcos
Regard's
Addam
Addam.... the 3.5 is a bit strong for the Logan track... and as you are relatively new to Modified can I strongly suggest that you consider the 4.5 with 6 cell. If you have your heart set on the 3.5, then you might like to also consider running 5 cell as this will take some of the punch out of the 3.5

As a rule of thumb, US tracks have considerable more traction and compared to the fickle nature of the Logan track I think it would be a monster to try and drive her around with any sort of consistency.

Regards,
Peter
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 06:59 PM   #51
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Can you run one of these 10.5 Vortex motor with a Novak GTB?
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 08:07 PM   #52
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TFR View Post
Can you run one of these 10.5 Vortex motor with a Novak GTB?
Yes you can. You just need a sensor cable.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 09:18 PM   #53
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,208
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy View Post
Yes you can. You just need a sensor cable.
and drop the % on the drag brake
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 09:21 PM   #54
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

I ran the 10.5 a few times today on a large outdoor track. I ran a 5.0 FDR. The top end was a little low. But the motor had a bunch of low end. I did not get a chance to change the gearing. I may try 2 teeth up on the pinion. So far this motor seems a little nicer than the Novak.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 09:22 PM   #55
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
and drop the % on the drag brake
Would it be a good combo though?

Novak GTB spread spektrum, Orion Vortex 10.5 and a 110mm cable.
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 09:24 PM   #56
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,208
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TFR View Post
Would it be a good combo though?

Novak GTB spread spektrum, Orion Vortex 10.5 and a 110mm cable.
thats what i ran , the GTB but now i have the LRP TC spec i would start around a 5.0 fdr
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 12:18 AM   #57
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I'm new to BL's..
expecting my 10.5 to arrive any day now along with the LRP Sphere TC.
do I need to solder a Diode like we do for Brushed motors?
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 12:49 AM   #58
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,439
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy View Post
I ran the 10.5 a few times today on a large outdoor track. I ran a 5.0 FDR. The top end was a little low. But the motor had a bunch of low end. I did not get a chance to change the gearing. I may try 2 teeth up on the pinion. So far this motor seems a little nicer than the Novak.
What do you mean by "nicer" - faster, more punch, runs cooler?
__________________
SMOKEM --- XPRESS --- MONTECH --- SRT
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 02:48 AM   #59
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies View Post
I'm new to BL's..
expecting my 10.5 to arrive any day now along with the LRP Sphere TC.
do I need to solder a Diode like we do for Brushed motors?
No, never solder a diode on your BL motor. You´re killing your ESC this way. But LRP mention this on their manual also.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 07:12 AM   #60
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veecee View Post
What do you mean by "nicer" - faster, more punch, runs cooler?
More punch
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Orion Vortex 13.5 Brushless Motor SammyZ R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 09-10-2008 08:31 PM
Orion Vortex 6.5 Brushless Motor AaronR R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 02-25-2008 06:35 AM
Team Orion 3.5 Brushless Vortex Motor Racer4Life R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 08-01-2007 10:55 AM
Team Orion Vortex brushless motor 10.5 $50 macaofriend R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 07-14-2007 11:02 AM
Team Orion’s Vortex Brushless motor gearing? JoeyE Electric On-Road 2 06-30-2007 11:37 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:16 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net