R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2003, 04:23 PM   #1
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 403
Default Pulsar Charger

how do you guys like it?
R C king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 04:28 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

good charger but the rest of the feature's are nothing to write home to mom about.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 05:10 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
izzyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,729
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Here we go again..hehehe!

I love this charger. It charges excellent, not one false peak yet and trully chargers my batts to the Max. I have 21 different batteries ranging from old 2400's to sanyo 3300's and worked very well. I just follow the recommended settings with no hitch. I have 2 now.
Past 2 days I was using the matching feature Which does a one time cycle (discharge,charge then discharge) and gives you the capacity, average voltage and discharge time in seconds at 10amps. Now I know which of my batts are the weakest and the strongest.
I also use it to run my lathe and break-in my motors and even get readings from it. So, I don't know what is so useless about the other features when other high end chargers don't even have this options.
__________________
Izzy
izzyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 05:34 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
rcdougie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

What I didnt like about the pulsar is that the delta peak is only adjustable in 5mv increments. If you want or need something in between that you are out of luck. Also, I prefer a 20amp discharge like my Indi 16x5v6 has. And lastly, no peak voltage reading when the pack is done. Other than that its a great charger.
rcdougie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 06:59 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,126
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I really like mine. It actually made my battery packs punchier, and gave them better run time. I use all the features to check battery packs, and to run my lathe.
__________________
Xray - RC America - Hudy - Apex RC - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - RC Mission America - SpeedZombi - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 07:03 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 43
Default

Everything published by LRP on their website about Pulsar, and printed on the box works well, and they are all quite nice to you use.

The drawback is the "disco light" backlit, that isn't very readable in darkness. The discharge current is 10A, non-adjustable.
alyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 07:16 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
izzyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,729
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sushi Boy
I really like mine. It actually made my battery packs punchier, and gave them better run time. I use all the features to check battery packs, and to run my lathe.
same here!
__________________
Izzy
izzyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 07:21 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by izzyracer
Here we go again..hehehe!

I love this charger. It charges excellent, not one false peak yet and trully chargers my batts to the Max. I have 21 different batteries ranging from old 2400's to sanyo 3300's and worked very well. I just follow the recommended settings with no hitch. I have 2 now.
Past 2 days I was using the matching feature Which does a one time cycle (discharge,charge then discharge) and gives you the capacity, average voltage and discharge time in seconds at 10amps. Now I know which of my batts are the weakest and the strongest.
I also use it to run my lathe and break-in my motors and even get readings from it. So, I don't know what is so useless about the other features when other high end chargers don't even have this options.
just what i wanted to say also!
yes,10A discharge is not too much,but consider this:
u dont match ur cells anyway,so run,10Adischarge,then straight to the trays.perfect combo.
i'm fortunate enuff to be having the non-disco backlight,altho u still cant read it in the dark.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 07:54 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
UCHEATULOSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: birth place of oval! daytona beach!
Posts: 1,083
Default

i have a question for you fellas..my buddy just bought a lrp charger and when the pack is finished charging everything works fine the charger peaks at the threshhold he sets it at..but when he goes to re peak the pack it will not peak at the set threshhold it justy keeps on charging? is he doing something wrong?
UCHEATULOSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 08:51 PM   #10
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 403
Default

I just ordered one adn it should come on monday,
R C king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2003, 12:45 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by UCHEATULOSE
i have a question for you fellas..my buddy just bought a lrp charger and when the pack is finished charging everything works fine the charger peaks at the threshhold he sets it at..but when he goes to re peak the pack it will not peak at the set threshhold it justy keeps on charging? is he doing something wrong?
If you're talking about NiMH, yes. They should not be re-peaked without letting them cool for several hours. If repeaked while warm, the voltage drop of NiMH is very slow and the peak detection is unable to detect the peak, especially if it's set high.
What's the value of "the threshold he sets it"?
I'm using Pulsar with NiMH's (Sanyo 3000 & 3300, GP 3300) at 10-15 mV peak, no more, works well. Running modified only.
Most important thing with NiMHs is to get them ready just in time (like 5 minutes before the race) and go racing while they're still warm. If they have time to cool down, the output voltage drops until they warm up again. Use the timer feature of the Pulsar.
olev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2003, 12:50 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,089
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

As a charger it is very good. But to avoid hurting anyone's feelings I won't coment on the other features Their are better values to be had that is for sure.
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2003, 09:55 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

I'ev had one about 6 weeks and so far am very happy with it.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2003, 10:43 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
UCHEATULOSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: birth place of oval! daytona beach!
Posts: 1,083
Default

olev thanks for the reply but i must say i have a turbo 35 and i can repeak with it till the cows come home and it peak detects just fine? i think he is going to return it for something else. he cant afford to have this thing fry a pack because it was not made or designed with himh in mind. why is it the turbo 35 has no problems with the peak detect on a repeak but the lrp does? maybe a bug in the software? they need to fix that asap..we all try real hard to get them up before we race but sometimes we like to hit them one more time for good lucks sake,lol.

here is what would be the ultiamte charger..ac/dc dis-charges at up to 30 amps..charges all types of cells up to 10 amps motor run up feature up to 20 amps..up to 10 minute lock out feature..5 volt output to run lathes..no bigger than a turbo 35 is now..oh yeah and under 350.00 would be nice also.
UCHEATULOSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2003, 11:10 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
GoFaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Doesn't the Integy 16X9 have those features?


BTW, no problem repeaking with my pulsar.

Later
GoFaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo 35 GFX Charger & Pulsar 2 Competition Charger ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 02-20-2008 07:57 AM
WTB Lrp pulsar charger SaTsOk R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 04-06-2007 03:10 AM
PULSAR 1 charger cheehtae R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 03-21-2007 03:17 PM
WTB: LRP PULSAR/2 CHARGER! R-job R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 04-12-2006 04:46 PM
LRP Pulsar Charger letitroll R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 03-07-2005 09:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:28 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net