R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2003, 12:10 PM   #1
R/C Tech Founder
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default True Dyno for R/C Vehicles

I was just thinking about something the other day, and wondered if anybody had ever tried this before (or a reason why they hadn't).

Why is there no true "at the wheels" dyno for electric R/C vehicles? We see so much talk about free drivetrains and the like, and tons of motor tuning, but we never really put the two together until we are out on the track.

Obviously constructing such a beast would be a challenge, but no moreso than any of the other gadgets we have out there. The real trick would be making it work universally with different types of vehicles, as well as designing a roller system that would actually simulate track conditions.

Anyway, just some random thoughts.
__________________
Visit my store: www.ampdraw.com
futureal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 12:16 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Peter Busch's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,491
Default

Use a treadmill.

I think Parma??? made one but I have never seen it and they (if its Parma) don't make it anymore. I also think Serpent makes one. It would be a great thing if someone came up with one for sedans.
Peter Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 12:26 PM   #3
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

A R/C Chassis Dyno, in simple terms.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 01:12 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
TheBarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Machesney Park, IL
Posts: 790
Send a message via AIM to TheBarber
Default

I believe there used to be one, i remember jeff gundlach had one at the OLD MARCCA track (circa 1991).

great one more thing people will lug to the track. and spend more time on it rather than learning how to drive.
TheBarber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 01:16 PM   #5
R/C Tech Founder
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

Hey, you know this hobby is all about goofy gadgets, first and foremost.

Part of the reason I was thinking about it was that one of my friends is looking for an R/C-related project for an electrical engineering class.

I do think that the chassis dyno (thanks Troy) would be a bit more over the top than we already need, but then again, so are the motor dynos we use.
__________________
Visit my store: www.ampdraw.com
futureal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 02:23 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

That would be rather cool. You have dynos for just motors, why not tell how much power a motor puts to the ground when in a car. That way you could tell how much power you gain or lose when you do make gear ratio changes. It would be a very cool gadget to have in your pits. If nothing more then a really good conversation piece.

Later
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 03:08 PM   #7
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Exactly. For once, you can prove the little chassis theories.

See how much you accually do gain by degreasing bearings..

Put an end to this shaft v.s. belt arguement...

It would be cool to have, but i think it would suck to lug around. This might be something that you need to put in one of those roll behind suitcases.

Either way, it is an innovation.. one that I wouldnt mind seeing, although it is not something I would buy.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 03:09 PM   #8
dw
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Burbage, Leics
Posts: 212
Default

I'm waiting for someone to make a seven post shaker rig.
dw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 03:14 PM   #9
R/C Tech Founder
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

I don't think it would be the kind of thing you'd take to the track very often. The cost of assembly would not be much more than a regular motor dyno (e.g. the Fantom) since the actual electronic parts would be nearly identical.

The only other problem I could see would be the incredible amp draw required to spin up the car's entire drivetrain to such a speed. A stock motor turning a flywheel already draws 70A-80A for the first half-second or so...

I really do think it would be an interesting thing to play around with, though.
__________________
Visit my store: www.ampdraw.com
futureal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 04:24 PM   #10
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,494
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

There are other ways to calculate amp draw. Read the voltage drop across some .1 ohm resistors and use ohm's law to calculate the amperage. Just watch your power ratings.

The Thor Chassis Dyno from Parma used dvm's to give you the readings at the rear wheels. I didn't have one but I have seen a picture.

Now a dyno for nitro motors would be a big hit, imo. Then you could test different pipe/header configurations.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 04:51 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Peter Busch's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,491
Default

Check out serpent, I am almost positive I saw a chassis dyno in one of their catalogs.

Kraig, didn't one of the magazines, probably RC Nitro do some dyno pulls on a nitro?
Peter Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 05:01 PM   #12
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spongebob
Check out serpent, I am almost positive I saw a chassis dyno in one of their catalogs.

Kraig, didn't one of the magazines, probably RC Nitro do some dyno pulls on a nitro?
The Dyno RC Nitro uses was a custom job, done by the same company that makes dynos of all sizes for different applications.

Serpent makes a motor break-in stand with a fan, tank, and all the goodies, but it is not a dyno. Another company, TNT, makes a running-stand, with rollers for the car to spin, but that is only to run the car. Again, not a dyno.

If you can look up more on the Serpent stuff, let us know, but I'm almost positive they don't.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 06:49 PM   #13
Tech Initiate
 
joem5127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fort Wayne IN
Posts: 34
Default

A guy at the track had one two weeks ago. Put the rear wheels on it and it gave an amp load reading. I didn't pay much attention to it but it didn't look home made. He was from Ohio.
joem5127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 06:58 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
corvettecrazy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: north of philly, PA
Posts: 1,156
Send a message via AIM to corvettecrazy
Default

I agree with Kraig. a dyno for nitros would be awsome. especially for tuning and things like that
corvettecrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2003, 12:57 AM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 226
Default

Serpent had a chassis dyno, but it's now discontinued. I think it worked with their DRX datalogger system, but I'm not sure about that.
The engine dynos also exist, I know that the guys here who race tethered speed models have one. The price is outrageous though, >10k$.
olev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for new vehicles ManiacMagoo Nitro Off-Road 18 10-05-2007 08:15 AM
fs: 1:6 Vehicles Brand New spiderx R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 08-02-2007 03:51 PM
RC Vehicles Revoguy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-29-2006 05:38 PM
Two vehicles for sale! Red Z R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 08-30-2005 05:20 PM
to true or not to true tyres on club days ?? mrgsr Nitro On-Road 4 08-11-2005 06:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:11 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net