Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Sensor Based Hacker Brushless Motor >

New Sensor Based Hacker Brushless Motor

New Sensor Based Hacker Brushless Motor

Old 06-11-2007, 11:24 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 466
Default New Sensor Based Hacker Brushless Motor

The last several months I have been testing this new Hacker Brushless sensor based motor. I ran this motor at the Reedy race with no problems the whole weekend. This motor can be run with 6 cells or 5 cells both will have excellent power. I have been running the 3.5T on 6 cells with 60 seconds of runtime left in the battery. This motor will work on all of the sensored or sensorless ESC's on the market.


Here are some pictures of the motor and the motor in my car.

This motor should be available within the next few months.
Hacker will be making a 3.5, 4.5 etc. There will also be a stock and 19T version available
Attached Thumbnails New Sensor Based Hacker Brushless Motor-e40-back-view.jpg   New Sensor Based Hacker Brushless Motor-e40-car-top-view.jpg   New Sensor Based Hacker Brushless Motor-e40-front-view.jpg   New Sensor Based Hacker Brushless Motor-e40-rear-view.jpg  
kyle478 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 11:29 AM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

this is indeed good news!

when it's going to be available??

cheers,
al
rampal is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 11:29 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kyle478 View Post
The last several months I have been testing this new Hacker Brushless sensor based motor. I ran this motor at the Reedy race with no problems the whole weekend. This motor can be run with 6 cells or 5 cells both will have excellent power. I have been running the 3.5T on 6 cells with 60 seconds of runtime left in the battery. This motor will work on all of the sensored or sensorless ESC's on the market.


Here are some pictures of the motor and the motor in my car.

This motor should be available within the next few months.
Hacker will be making a 3.5, 4.5 etc. There will also be a stock and 19T version available
where we can get this motor?
Guo Chean is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 10:21 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 466
Default

It should be available in 4-8 weeks.

Retail price will be around $79.99
kyle478 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 10:29 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

What? It's not a late April Fools joke?
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 10:42 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Is it too late to request a replaceable wiring harness?
linger is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 10:50 AM
  #7  
Tech Addict
 
RussB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 736
Default

Originally Posted by linger View Post
Is it too late to request a replaceable wiring harness?
+1

that should be the standard IMHO. and various lengths available.
RussB is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 10:55 AM
  #8  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,267
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by linger View Post
Is it too late to request a replaceable wiring harness?
I agree as well.

Does Hacker develop their own motors, or are they working with someone like Feiago? It looks like maybe they developed this one on their own?
syndr0me is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 10:57 AM
  #9  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,267
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

It actually looks a whole lot like a Novak motor to be honest. Maybe they're just using some of Novak's parts for development? Unless Big Orange is doing the OEM thing now.

Edit: Never mind, I have no idea. Someone clue us in? I hope they're making these on their own, though!
syndr0me is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 11:46 AM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 752
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by linger View Post
Is it too late to request a replaceable wiring harness?
Yeah, no kidding! Throw us a bone people!
James35 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 11:49 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

That might not actualy pass homologation in some countries, as they do require a plug for the Hal sensor wire.....
DA_cookie_monst is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 12:00 PM
  #12  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,267
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

The only two things I don't love about Novak's motors are the purple ring and the fixed sensor harness. Somehow, Hacker managed to include them both! Ugh!

I do find it interesting that a company that seems to deal primarily with sensorless motors is working on one that makes use of Hall sensors. They even have a 1/10 sensorless motor available already. The plot thickens...

Originally Posted by Hacker's Site
"Sensorless" No Delicate Sensor Wires to Get Broken
Nice!
syndr0me is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 12:14 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,490
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I do find it interesting that a company that seems to deal primarily with sensorless motors is working on one that makes use of Hall sensors. They even have a 1/10 sensorless motor available already. The plot thickens...

Pretty simple really. There is a market to sell sensored motors to people who like to use sensored stuff. Their own sensorless motors are great motors but they are unfortunately not legal by ROAR rules. If they can build or relabel a ROAR motor, why not? They were building brushless motors long before any of the car companies considered using them.
kufman is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 12:29 PM
  #14  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,852
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Don’t you want your motor sensored for racing applications? The way I understand is that if your motor is not sensored and you spin your car out or crash and bounce off a wall so its moving backwards and then you get on the throttle it will continue to go in "reverse" because there is no sensor to tell it which way to go. I've seen this from time to time with Micro cars when they crash if the driver gets on the gas too quickly it will continue to run backwards. Do all non sensored motors do this? If they do then I can see why some racing bodies want sensored motors and why Hacker is now selling motors with sensor cables
Kevin K is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 01:00 PM
  #15  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,267
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kevin K View Post
Donít you want your motor sensored for racing applications? The way I understand is that if your motor is not sensored and you spin your car out or crash and bounce off a wall so its moving backwards and then you get on the throttle it will continue to go in "reverse" because there is no sensor to tell it which way to go. I've seen this from time to time with Micro cars when they crash if the driver gets on the gas too quickly it will continue to run backwards. Do all non sensored motors do this? If they do then I can see why some racing bodies want sensored motors and why Hacker is now selling motors with sensor cables
You'd think. Pictures have surfaced of more than one pro driver using GM ESC's w/o the sensor harness, and that ESC gives them the choice.

Marc Fischer won 1/12 mod at the snowbirds this year using a GM ESC/motor without the sensors. Maybe it depends on the application? I dunno. Tekin is poised to release an entire line of ESC's and motors without sensors, and others like Castle already have similar offerings.

I guess the answer isn't yes or no. It seems the answer is that both have their merits, and to use the one that works best for a given situation.
syndr0me is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.