R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2007, 05:19 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
TimV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a F8 hauler bag
Posts: 860
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default Re-wiring speed control?

How exactly would I go about re-wiring my speed control with 12 awg wire? I was looking at it, and I don't think the mount holes are big enough for the larger wire. My speed control is a novak gts.

Thanks for any help.
TimV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 05:32 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,873
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

..the holes in all the NOVAL ESC's I've wired have been big enough....tight but they worked ok.

Very cleanly strip about 1/8" on the end of the wire. I twist it just a little before I tin it...and pre-apply small amount of solder to the solder hole on the ESC (I usually chuck the ESC up in my little hobby vice so free up a hand)

Put the heat to the ESC with the wire tight against where the hole is...once the solder melts, it usually melts the solder in the wire also..and they generally drop right in the hole. Hold steady until the solder goes solid...then yelp and scream...cause it was HOT...LOL
SWTour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 06:00 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
F. Mendoza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 7,232
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWTour View Post
. Hold steady until the solder goes solid...then yelp and scream...cause it was HOT...LOL
I use long tweezers to hold the wires so I don't burn my fingers.
__________________
RC America - Xray - Hudy - Gravity RC - KO Propo - Super Rad Graphics

Mr. Shookie goes home 10-06-08. Bill Levinson 4-14-15
F. Mendoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 06:13 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

What would you be running with a GTS that would require 12 gauge wire?

If you can buy the Novak 14 gauge, it's much easier and less bulky to use. If all you can get is 12, then just trim 1/8, twist it real tight, and carefully tin it so it stays tight. Then you should be able to put your iron under the hole on the speedo and slip the that fat wire into it when she gets hot. 12 is a beech because it wicks a lot of heat before it gets hot enough to solder.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 06:15 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,135
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Sean R
Default

A wise man that solders for a living told me that if the wire gets too hot, you are doing something wrong. Also, if the wire gets that hot, what is happening to the PCB?
Sean R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 07:07 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,873
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

LOL, I've tried Tweazers, locking Tweazers..needle nose pliers..and prefer the PAIN ...and being able to see and feel what I'm doing. If I feel the heat that the wire doesn't slip into the hole..I know I'm not getting the heat in the right place...(and I hate soldering to circuit boards...)
SWTour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 09:43 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
TimV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a F8 hauler bag
Posts: 860
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sportpak View Post
What would you be running with a GTS that would require 12 gauge wire?

If you can buy the Novak 14 gauge, it's much easier and less bulky to use. If all you can get is 12, then just trim 1/8, twist it real tight, and carefully tin it so it stays tight. Then you should be able to put your iron under the hole on the speedo and slip the that fat wire into it when she gets hot. 12 is a beech because it wicks a lot of heat before it gets hot enough to solder.
I kinda messed up the standard wiring on it, and all I can get is 12 awg. I'd like to rewire it so it looks a lot cleaner.


Thanks for the help guys.
TimV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 10:10 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,170
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hey TimV, if you don't have a hobby vise, use some good servo tape (Parma makes the best) clean your work area with some motor spray where you plan to put the ESC, then put some motor spray on a paper towel and clean the side opposite the wires, apply the servo tape, and it should be solid. I used this when I rewired my GTS and it worked great, other than I am crappy at soldering and melted the case a little, oops
Big B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 02:18 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ITs much easier if you make sure the holes in the esc are clear of solder. Still tinned but not glopped over closed. Heat up the ESC terminals and whipe off excess solder or use a solder sucker(radio shack has them). If nesasary use a small reamer to clean the holes and then with you pre twisted pre tinned wire they should just drop into the holes. From there its as simple as heating up the wire from the under side of the esc untill the solder flows to the esc.

Its very hard it your trying to heat esc and push the wire into the holes while everything is hot, its much easier to simply have the wires slip into the holes cold
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 03:06 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,170
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Joel is right, a solder sucker, or solder wick is best to clean the holes, but if you dont have any, heat up the hole and tap the ESC on a table and the solder will come out. Be careful as the solder can splatter and burn you.
Big B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 04:37 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

THANKS BIG


On a side note, on older ESCs that will only take 14guage. And all you have is MACHO MAN RANDY SAVAGE 12 GUAGE wire i would simply trim off enough to make it 14guage where it solders to the ESC while leaving the rest in its original MACHO thickness Done it a few times on my GMV12WC
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring up a Speed Passions ESC - HELP RAST Australian Racing 14 09-20-2008 05:30 PM
speed passion speed control, any good? newbie2 Electric Off-Road 11 08-31-2008 09:02 PM
speed passions granturismo speed control chad423 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 08-24-2008 10:03 PM
speed passion granturismo speed control chad423 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 07-11-2008 02:37 PM
speed passions granturismo speed control chad423 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 05-20-2008 09:23 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:25 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net