R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-06-2007, 06:04 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,085
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default Spektrum cutting out

I have a brushless (7000KV), lipo (11.1v 20C), RC18b with a spektrum micro reciever controlling everything. I have the Quark 33A Procar brushless ESC. I was running it today at a local onroad track and the first couple laps were great (about 3-4 mins run time total). The final lap i was coming down the back straight and the car just stops in the middle of the straight and smacks the wall. I walk towards it and it goes WOT all of a sudden. Luckily grabbed it and hit the power switch.

I took it back to the pits and check it out. When I go WOT the light on the spektrum slowly dims until it turns off/goes into failsafe mode. Im assumming that the motor was drawing too much power and the spektrum RX did not have enough to power itself. Failsafe is set at neutral throttle.

Now my question is: Will the spektrum power cap solve this problem? I never had a problem running an FM rx. I'm guessing that when the motor starts drawing too many amps, it doesnt have enough time to jump to failsafe mode and the rx goes bezerk.

Any other theories?
thunderbt3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 06:40 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,266
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbt3 View Post
Now my question is: Will the spektrum power cap solve this problem? I never had a problem running an FM rx. I'm guessing that when the motor starts drawing too many amps, it doesnt have enough time to jump to failsafe mode and the rx goes bezerk.
The power capacitor will help you with this problem - you can make one yourself using a Novak ESC 8200 cap or get the same capacity cap from spektrum.
if memory hasn't left me the quark BEC output is lower than some and then combine that with high amp draw motor and the spektrum receiver is starved for power. The spektrum receiver requires more power than a std fm receiver
hope this helps
rocketron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 09:37 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,085
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Sweet, thanks. I did try a FM rx and everything was just fine. I would just like to keep all my stuff on the spektrum system.
thunderbt3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:41 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
chris moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phx AZ
Posts: 3,780
Trader Rating: 88 (99%+)
Default

Yea the spektrum cap will sove the problem, I had this happen when I switched my 4-cell car over to spektrum. Once I added the cap no problems.

Chris
chris moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:47 AM   #5
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

With my Spektrum I tried the cap and then also tried a lipo receiver pack with a 6.4 volt regulator and still had problems with my Spektrum going into fail safe. Took out the Spektrum and put in a good reliable synthesized setup and no more problems and everything works perfect.

Alot of guys have problems with Spektrum and brushless systems. I know I did with two brands of radios and btoh Pro versions and standard version Spektrum and also two different modules in two different radios.

I have no switched to a new Futaba 3PK Super in the synthesized version and no more problems. It seems the new 2.4 from Futaba fairs better than Spektrum but at least with synthesized I feel much better. Plus I still have 30 channels to pick from and with all those Spektrums and 2.4 systems I never have to even worry about frequency problems.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting??? racing_jason Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography 5 07-29-2008 09:48 PM
M11 HELP!!!!! Cutting out???? superx421 Radio and Electronics 3 04-24-2008 11:28 AM
2.4hz cutting out??? wide_mouth_frog Electric On-Road 9 06-14-2007 06:01 AM
cutting Ti nitrothugg Nitro On-Road 6 03-30-2006 11:17 AM
my car keeps cutting out BoneHead Electric Off-Road 2 08-05-2004 06:06 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:46 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net