Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Motor Break In Help >

Motor Break In Help

Motor Break In Help

Old 05-31-2007, 04:15 PM
  #1  
AWK
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,021
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Motor Break In Help

So I realized when I was getting a new motor for the Tamiya race coming up soon that they like you to break-in your motors in with a dyno or some other device. My question is, without buying a motor tool, is there another way to break-in a motor?
AWK is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 04:23 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
 
TylerOwenby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 749
Default

water dip for like 5 mins
TylerOwenby is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 04:32 PM
  #3  
AWK
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,021
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

It is the Trinity C027 Pro motor. The instructions ask for it to be run for 8min at 2v....like I said without a motor dyno, I have no idea how to run it at that pace. I have done the water dip, but i don't know about the 2v part though.
AWK is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 04:56 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
 
TylerOwenby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 749
Default

get 2 loose cells and put the together and attach alligator clips then that is 2.4v of power and run it for however long you need to.
TylerOwenby is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 05:11 PM
  #5  
AWK
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,021
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Thanks a ton! That saved me about $70
AWK is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 05:17 PM
  #6  
Tech Addict
 
TylerOwenby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 749
Default

no problem
TylerOwenby is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 05:31 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

What kinda charger are you using? Alot have a motor run function that can be set to 2v. I like to breakin CO27's at 1v for 5min, it is really easy on the brushes, also be sure to oil the bushings before every run, after you breakin the motor, cut the comm (if you don't have a lathe ask around the track I am sure someone does) then your motor will be at peak performance. Also what brushes are you using? For that motor the F-Brushes sold by EA and Brood work Incredible. After 10-25 runs you will want to cut the comm again, some people will tell you to put in new brushes, but it really isn't necessary (only if they are burnt), the reason being is they are already broken in and conformed to the shape of the comm, if you have a serrattor you can do that but again it isn't a big deal.
Big B is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.