R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-06-2008, 10:07 PM   #511
Tech Champion
 
heavy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 5,137
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
just recieved my core rc udc-20 charger, nice unit, small and light and comes with adapters for tamiya plugs male and female, dean plug, transmitter battery plug (like i have on my lipo for my ko/jr) a plug for rcvr packs like on my align 600 and nitro car, and a couple i have never seen before even has a banana style for transmitters (plug on the side of the transmitter case)
i agree there appears to be a adapter for every purpose. Am I right that you plug the main output lead into the right hand side of teh charger at the Output + and - and then plug whatever adapter cable you need to suit the battery you want to charge into that main cable. When I plug the main lead in and connect the deans plug lead to it and then a battery to the deans plug and start the charger I get the bad connection error message

What are the 2 outputs (or inputs ?) on the LHS of the case ?

Are the wires heavy enough guage for the job do you think ?
__________________
Honorary Life Member Logan RCCC -Mi6EVO and Serpent F1
Honorary Life Member Chargers RCCC -Cat K1 Aero
Life Member Bayside RCCC -Schumacher Mi6EVO
Boondall. SuperShot, XX, SVR,Schumacher Storm BigWig

Last edited by heavy; 03-07-2008 at 04:30 AM.
heavy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 10:49 PM   #512
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
i'm using this with my Mi3,

in the first picture you can see the cut out that is on the back side of the weight bar, that is for adding lead, they also make one now that does not have the cut out.


http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=202121
Do you have a PN or a description for the plate that keys into the chassis shown in the first pic?

Also, how are you securing the lipo into the car. Are you taping the bottom plate to the lipo and then taping the battery in? I can't quite tell from your pictures . . . Thanks in advance!
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 01:39 AM   #513
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 582
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

hi all
sorry for asking as you've probably answered it a million times, but what is the safe cut off voltage for these core 5000 lipos?
thanks in advance!
poop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 06:51 AM   #514
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

One output on the left side is alligator clips, the other has the input for the banana plugs.

I haven't seen and issue that the wire isn't a heavy enough gauge, It seems just fine for the applications intended.

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavy View Post
What are the 2 outputs (or inputs ?) on the LHS of the case ?

Are the wires heavy enough guage for the job do you think ?
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 06:52 AM   #515
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

3.0v per cell.

I usually keep mine at 3.2v per cell just to be on the safe side.

Quote:
Originally Posted by poop View Post
hi all
sorry for asking as you've probably answered it a million times, but what is the safe cut off voltage for these core 5000 lipos?
thanks in advance!
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 07:22 AM   #516
Tech Regular
 
Shawn Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Speed Passion USA Support HQ
Posts: 498
Default

Hi Poop:
For the PACK - that's a 6.0v cutoff absolute minimum, and 6.4v is what we recomend for maximum cycle life and performance.
__________________
Shawn Palmer
Speed Passion USA Sales Manager
USAsupport <at> King-Golden <dot> com
www.SpeedPassion.net
www.SpeedPowerrc.com
Shawn Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 07:32 AM   #517
Tech Regular
 
Shawn Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Speed Passion USA Support HQ
Posts: 498
Default

dodgeguy:
I have yet to see any evidence from any brand that charging at more than 1C does NOT decrease the overall lifespan of the pack. LOTS of consistent evidence that it does indeed shorten the pack lifespan has existed for years.

You might want to note the actual time from plug-in to fully charged at 7A with your pack. Then kick the charge rate down to the known safe rate of 5A and note the time again from plug-in to fully charged. Most likely you'll see the 7A rate might be saving you 5mins or less of charge time, and at the expense of the lifespan of the pack, and with no other benefits at all.
__________________
Shawn Palmer
Speed Passion USA Sales Manager
USAsupport <at> King-Golden <dot> com
www.SpeedPassion.net
www.SpeedPowerrc.com
Shawn Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 10:18 AM   #518
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
just recieved my core rc udc-20 charger, nice unit, small and light and comes with adapters for tamiya plugs male and female, dean plug, transmitter battery plug (like i have on my lipo for my ko/jr) a plug for rcvr packs like on my align 600 and nitro car, and a couple i have never seen before even has a banana style for transmitters (plug on the side of the transmitter case)
Cool...more electronic gizzmo's to come check out.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 02:05 PM   #519
Tech Addict
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
Reudon, I'm pretty sure I can get you squared away, shoot me an email tomorrow and we'll discuss...

thanks, sent
__________________
Yokomo|SpeedPassion|McgooCreative|TeamOrion|FusionPower|Futaba|Spektrum|RP|Trinity|Protoform
Island Losi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 02:28 PM   #520
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn Palmer View Post
dodgeguy:
I have yet to see any evidence from any brand that charging at more than 1C does NOT decrease the overall lifespan of the pack. LOTS of consistent evidence that it does indeed shorten the pack lifespan has existed for years.

You might want to note the actual time from plug-in to fully charged at 7A with your pack. Then kick the charge rate down to the known safe rate of 5A and note the time again from plug-in to fully charged. Most likely you'll see the 7A rate might be saving you 5mins or less of charge time, and at the expense of the lifespan of the pack, and with no other benefits at all.
Shawn thanks for the info. I have decided to just go with 5amp charge. You are right that 7amps does not decrease that much time. The only reason I had gone to 7 with the orion was the place I was racing at did not have much time between rounds. But now I have more time. So 5amp is what I will stick with.

Thanks for the great customer service you guys provide.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 04:36 PM   #521
Tech Addict
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

for the mod guys (4.5, 3.5, 2.5 etc)..........how long does it take to recharge between runs?
__________________
Yokomo|SpeedPassion|McgooCreative|TeamOrion|FusionPower|Futaba|Spektrum|RP|Trinity|Protoform
Island Losi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 05:02 PM   #522
Tech Master
 
Dane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas Baby
Posts: 1,582
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Dane Send a message via Skype™ to Dane
Default

Thank you for the information - very interesting.

How are the 3250 Cores holding up for 3.5 mod or similar brushed?

Thanks again.
__________________
"the big secret is to keep practicing and never get discouraged when taking a good beating on the track" - Paul L

www.toycarracingblog.com
Dane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 06:42 PM   #523
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
Do you have a PN or a description for the plate that keys into the chassis shown in the first pic?

Also, how are you securing the lipo into the car. Are you taping the bottom plate to the lipo and then taping the battery in? I can't quite tell from your pictures . . . Thanks in advance!

its the only base plate on the web site. www.ppdbillet.com if using the core lipo, you will need to need to file about 1 mm off the bottom of the bulkheads. i am using double sided scotch tape to secure the base plate to the battery and then taping the battery in. sorry about the crappy pictures, i'm no JB.
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 06:49 PM   #524
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavy View Post
i agree there appears to be a adapter for every purpose. Am I right that you plug the main output lead into the right hand side of teh charger at the Output + and - and then plug whatever adapter cable you need to suit the battery you want to charge into that main cable. When I plug the main lead in and connect the deans plug lead to it and then a battery to the deans plug and start the charger I get the bad connection error message

What are the 2 outputs (or inputs ?) on the LHS of the case ?

Are the wires heavy enough guage for the job do you think ?
the two outs on the LHS of the case, and this is a guess, but the one that looks like a servo plug, would be for a temp sensor, (i've seen this type of sensor plug on other chargers) the other plug is obviously for a banana plug but i don't know if its input or output, i'm at the track now so i don't have my voltmeter to test to see if there is power there. possible for it to be either, but i'm thinking it is out put and maybe to plug another charger into or some other option.

can't help you with the error message, maybe you don't have the right battery selected, 2s, 3s etc.
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 08:29 PM   #525
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Cool, thanks Sky. Im always looking for other options when it comes to mounting LiPos in the Mi3 with the Core. Right now I have lexan servo taped to the bottom that keys into the chassis.


Oddly enough, my stock foam car (save for the turnbuckles) is about 20g underweight with the CORE 5000. I have been running an orion with 120+ grams on the outside of it to balance it (taking it up to 1530 g or so! ), but I didn't have time to get the weight balanced on the car before practice yesterday. I thought the car would be realy tweaked feeling with all the weight unbalanced, but suprisingly I picked up a few tenths over my previous averages. I don't know if its the SP 13.5, or the CORE or the GT (first time out with any of them in the car) or the fact that I am trying Goetzs cleveland setup instead of the kit or McGoobers set up, but whatever it is, I like it and will only be adding enough weight to get to minium till I am proven that for ME I will get around the track faster with te car perfectly balanced.

FYI
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SMC Lipos 7.4 5000mah wfdfiremedic Electric On-Road 624 08-27-2008 10:09 AM
CORE 5000MAH LIPO FOR SALE jsfrcfrk R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 08-05-2008 11:09 AM
Core R/C 5000mah 2s 7.4volt LiPo SchuMi2 Australia For Sale/Trade 2 06-08-2008 04:24 AM
New SMC Lipos 7.4v 2s 4000 and 5000mah HardCase IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 03-30-2008 01:54 PM
Core RC 5000mah Hard Cased LiPo - Brand New!! XACDesigns R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 01-08-2008 11:25 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:07 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net