R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-01-2007, 08:52 PM   #181
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus View Post
nice.

I see you moved the balance plug over. Was it easy to open the hard case? (shawn/adam would this void any type of warranty?) It seems like the perfect way to get the Core all the way in the Mi3 and straight.

Did you also cut the adapter plug and put a different type on?

===

Took some of the tips on here from keeping the pack from sliding. Just cut small lexan pieces and shoe-gooped them on the pack. Works perfect when taped now.
That 'hard' case is just held together with tape. Cut the tape on the crease of the case and there ya go. The batts are held in place with double-sided tape to the case and takes some 'negotiating' to pull apart but it's not difficult.
No I did not cut the balancing plug on the battery but did cut down the Deans plug. It took myself and Evan (rcaccessory.com) a bit to narrow the balancing plug down and the Kokam one works The adapter harness is universal up to a 6s pack, what changes is the board that it's connected to....
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO

Last edited by JayBee; 12-01-2007 at 11:03 PM.
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 05:23 AM   #182
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
That 'hard' case is just held together with tape. Cut the tape on the crease of the case and there ya go. The batts are held in place with double-sided tape to the case and takes some 'negotiating' to pull apart but it's not difficult.
No I did not cut the balancing plug on the battery but did cut down the Deans plug. It took myself and Evan (rcaccessory.com) a bit to narrow the balancing plug down and the Kokam one works The adapter harness is universal up to a 6s pack, what changes is the board that it's connected to....
No need to cut the tape, just peel it back.

The case is fairly thin, I managed to widen the holes with the balancer cable with a scalpel.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 05:31 AM   #183
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
Skiddins, have you tried to balance the pack yet, and when you do please let us know how far out of balance your packs were and how many cycles you've put your pack through.
Only charged it once as I got the pack yesterday.

I set the charger to Balance Charge (it's all built in) and it took around 80 mins to charge/balance at 1.8A.

This is the charger I'm using;
Century UK X6

I know that charge rate is low but as I'm new to this Lipo lark I left everything as default on the charger for the first time.

It doesn't seem to give any 'results' for the balancing, so is it a case of comparing the amount of time to charge a pack normally, with the amount of time to balance charge?

It will be a least a week before I get to run it in anger.
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 07:26 AM   #184
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,222
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

.
__________________
K.C.C.O.

Last edited by abailey21; 12-04-2007 at 03:28 PM.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 08:35 AM   #185
Tech Master
 
Mr. McGoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,695
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

well, I ran my Core 5000 for the first time in my TC yesterday. I can same I am very pleased with the battery. I usually can run about .2 faster a lap with a good NIMH than I can my Orion 4800.

yesterday I raced my Orion 4800, a good IB4200, and the Core for each of our 3 qualifiers. I actually went faster with my Core than I did with my IB. Granted it was a new track and I was still getting used to it, but nonetheless, I was faster.

Once I get more track time on this new layout I will compare them some more...but it looks like my Orion is about to go up for sale......
__________________
XRAY | RCAMERICA | HUDY | Team Tamale
Mr. McGoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 09:37 AM   #186
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. McGoo View Post
well, I ran my Core 5000 for the first time in my TC yesterday. I can same I am very pleased with the battery. I usually can run about .2 faster a lap with a good NIMH than I can my Orion 4800.

yesterday I raced my Orion 4800, a good IB4200, and the Core for each of our 3 qualifiers. I actually went faster with my Core than I did with my IB. Granted it was a new track and I was still getting used to it, but nonetheless, I was faster.

Once I get more track time on this new layout I will compare them some more...but it looks like my Orion is about to go up for sale......
How are the laptimes when using the Orion compared with the Core?

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 09:40 AM   #187
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
So does that mean that your chargers don't let you know how far out of balance the pack...(if any)?????
I presume not.

I will phone the manufacturer during the week to see if there is something else I need to do.

I had to get a new charger either way as my Spintec will not charge LiPo's, was pointed towards that one as it's half the price of an Orion Advantage and has the built in balancer.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 04:11 PM   #188
Tech Master
 
Mr. McGoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,695
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
How are the laptimes when using the Orion compared with the Core?

Skiddins

my fastest laptimes from my Orion to my Core were .4 faster, but that's not all b/c of the battery. Traction was coming up and I was getting used to the layout still. Next week will be a better comparison.....
__________________
XRAY | RCAMERICA | HUDY | Team Tamale
Mr. McGoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 04:33 PM   #189
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

The Kokam cells Orion uses have considerably lower voltage than the Enerland cells in the Core packs. Orion wins on safety and cycle life, but that's turning out to not be that relevant in R/C cars, since the batteries still seem to last forever. We'll see how the safety aspect plays out.

The best cells for voltage are Saehan-Enertech. They also have good safety and cycle life. Unfortunately, the cells are a bit long, and hard to fit in some chassis, and don't have a hard case. FMA Direct sells them for $99, and they're no joke. I noticed a significant difference between these and my Orion packs. And since I'm integrated with guys running NiMH, voltage definitely matters.

Try warming that pack up a little bit before you run it (around 110-120F), you should see a little more performance. It's safe, and approved by other companies (TrakPower) that use the same Enerland cells as the Core brand. Muchmore's battery warming tray is a very nice fit.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 04:48 PM   #190
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
The Kokam cells Orion uses have considerably lower voltage than the Enerland cells in the Core packs. Orion wins on safety and cycle life, but that's turning out to not be that relevant in R/C cars, since the batteries still seem to last forever. We'll see how the safety aspect plays out.

The best cells for voltage are Saehan-Enertech. They also have good safety and cycle life. Unfortunately, the cells are a bit long, and hard to fit in some chassis, and don't have a hard case. FMA Direct sells them for $99, and they're no joke. I noticed a significant difference between these and my Orion packs. And since I'm integrated with guys running NiMH, voltage definitely matters.

Try warming that pack up a little bit before you run it (around 110-120F), you should see a little more performance. It's safe, and approved by other companies (TrakPower) that use the same Enerland cells as the Core brand. Muchmore's battery warming tray is a very nice fit.
Thanks for that tidbit of info Syn.
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 08:32 PM   #191
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,664
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

The Jay...I will open it up and move the balance plug over so the pack can sit straight in the car.

==

Can people post what chargers and/or balancers they are using?
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 09:42 PM   #192
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. McGoo View Post
my fastest laptimes from my Orion to my Core were .4 faster, but that's not all b/c of the battery. Traction was coming up and I was getting used to the layout still. Next week will be a better comparison.....


So . . .

Q1-Orion-10.89
Q2-NiMh-10.74
Q3-CORE-10.50

Is that right?

Two questiosn Marker and I were wondering after we did some back to back testing between his CORE and Orion . . .

How many cycles do you have on your Core?
Did you add any weight to your CORE and if so how much where?

I think I read or was told they reach their peak after about 20 cycles . . .
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 10:14 PM   #193
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Here ya go Andrew...
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO

Last edited by JayBee; 09-12-2008 at 10:34 PM.
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 10:15 PM   #194
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,222
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Duratrax Ice, and I haven't balanced the Core packs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus View Post
The Jay...I will open it up and move the balance plug over so the pack can sit straight in the car.

==

Can people post what chargers and/or balancers they are using?
__________________
K.C.C.O.

Last edited by abailey21; 12-04-2007 at 03:29 PM.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 03:24 AM   #195
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
Here ya go Andrew...
lol . . .I think you meant Nexus lol


Can someone weigh a bare CORE 5000 as it comes out of the package?
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SMC Lipos 7.4 5000mah wfdfiremedic Electric On-Road 624 08-27-2008 10:09 AM
CORE 5000MAH LIPO FOR SALE jsfrcfrk R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 08-05-2008 11:09 AM
Core R/C 5000mah 2s 7.4volt LiPo SchuMi2 Australia For Sale/Trade 2 06-08-2008 04:24 AM
New SMC Lipos 7.4v 2s 4000 and 5000mah HardCase IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 03-30-2008 01:54 PM
Core RC 5000mah Hard Cased LiPo - Brand New!! XACDesigns R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 01-08-2008 11:25 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:01 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net