R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2007, 03:18 PM   #16
Tech Elite
 
Swamp Rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Logan
Posts: 3,727
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

You need a load across the 5v output. this controls the 12v side
I use a 10 ohm / 10w wire round resistors.
You can use a 20watt 6volt lamp as well

Try
http://web2.murraystate.edu/andy.bat...OWERSUPPLY.HTM

Sparky
__________________
LCRCCC. inc. The Greatest Club in QLD.
Come see our great new layout.
Schumacher Mi6 x 2,Yokomo BD7, Roche F1, SP F1 x2,Serpent SF2 F1, MO5 mini, M03 Mini, Corally F1 on Rubber, Futaba 4PX,
Ax10, SCX10, Joker Visit : www.lcrccc.org.au
Swamp Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 03:31 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big B
What charger are you trying to use, some like the ICE require a minimum amount of amps I think the ICE needs at least 19amps.
I run two ICE chargers on one N-power 10A power supply and I charge two LiPo packs at 5A at once and I've never had a moment's problem.

You don't need any more of a power supply than what you're going to charge at...you don't need a 20A power supply to charge at 10A.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 03:34 PM   #18
Tech Fanatic
 
LogiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Posts: 757
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

Theres our problem ^_^, We forgot the Resistor LOL, our otherone had it, we desoldered all otherwires, oh well new psu

thanks
LogiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 03:39 PM   #19
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 264
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

which two wires does the resistor need to solder to?
koolkidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 04:02 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,170
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Joe
I run two ICE chargers on one N-power 10A power supply and I charge two LiPo packs at 5A at once and I've never had a moment's problem.

You don't need any more of a power supply than what you're going to charge at...you don't need a 20A power supply to charge at 10A.
Your right, the Manual says to use 12v 15 amp PS to get maximum output.
Big B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 04:33 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big B
Your right, the Manual says to use 12v 15 amp PS to get maximum output.
I want to see some 4200s charged at 15A...from a distance...LOL
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 04:50 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
Swamp Rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Logan
Posts: 3,727
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by koolkidd
which two wires does the resistor need to solder to?

The 5v + (red) and 0V black
__________________
LCRCCC. inc. The Greatest Club in QLD.
Come see our great new layout.
Schumacher Mi6 x 2,Yokomo BD7, Roche F1, SP F1 x2,Serpent SF2 F1, MO5 mini, M03 Mini, Corally F1 on Rubber, Futaba 4PX,
Ax10, SCX10, Joker Visit : www.lcrccc.org.au
Swamp Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:34 PM   #23
Tech Master
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,170
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Joe
I want to see some 4200s charged at 15A...from a distance...LOL
Probably look something like this

Big B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 07:16 PM   #24
Tech Adept
 
Evilstealth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 230
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Evilstealth
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big B
Probably look something like this

LOL!!!! My mate knew this guy that charged hes battries at 10AMPS!!! and the battrey bars glew RED!
__________________
http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/290595-new-offline-rollout-calculator.html#post5695222 - Offline Rollout Calculator
Evilstealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 09:14 PM   #25
Tech Elite
 
JamesnMeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

The resistor is needed on older power supplies. I have two Antec PS I converted and neither need the resistor. I tried some cheaper PS but the voltage dropped below 12v when using more than one charger. Not a problem on the good units.
__________________
The Stadium at Pegasus Hobbies:tire:
JamesnMeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 09:26 PM   #26
Tech Master
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,170
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilstealth
LOL!!!! My mate knew this guy that charged hes battries at 10AMPS!!! and the battrey bars glew RED!
Damn he's lucky they didn't blow, that could have caused some real damage. Did any of the solder come apart? Were the batts ever useable again?
Big B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 11:45 PM   #27
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 264
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

yea, i think its the resistor i need. ill solder it in now and see what i can come up with.

update- soldered in the resistor now i just need to have the charger inserted before i switch it on, it runs fine otherwise. thanks for the help.

Last edited by koolkidd; 05-29-2007 at 12:16 AM.
koolkidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 07:15 AM   #28
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Default

used my computer power supply yesterday for a 1500 lap oval enduro....
ran 3 chargers all day with an occasional 4th charger to another pit....ran the 3 all day constantly 1 tc -1030,1 ice, and 1 indy...ran flawlessly from 11 am till 6:30 pm only real cost involved was the 8 or 9 dollars i had invested in the parts for the distribution box.
ROOKIE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 07:28 AM   #29
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

I am sorry but this has been covered about thirty times.....

After you spent the money to convert your PC power supply you could have a nice small sized PS that is designed for yoru rc needs...
Here are two links..

20Amp regulated
http://www.buyreliant.com/psupplies/psv200.htm
And for $5.00 more a 30amp regulated.
http://www.buyreliant.com/psupplies/psv300.htm

both under $60.00
I have the 20amp one over two years and still perfect.
Hope that helps those who like a great deal and great gear.
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 09:53 AM   #30
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Default

After you spent the money to convert your PC power supply you could have a nice small sized PS that is designed for yoru rc needs...



9 dollars for a power supply that puts out 12.9 volts @29 amps...with a 5 volt and 3 volt outputs...hard for me to beat that!
ROOKIE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Power Supply for R/C? KevanB Electric On-Road 32 08-01-2013 04:37 PM
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
Computer power supply semper Australian Racing 79 11-23-2007 12:35 PM
computer power supply hpipro321 Electric On-Road 4 09-01-2005 01:25 AM
Computer power supply Losi Jet Pilot Electric Off-Road 3 06-15-2005 06:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:29 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net