R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2007, 05:02 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default Lathe Question

Have a question about a lathe.

When cutting the comm there are lines left on the comm. I have changed bit's and that is not the problem. One hudy bit is fine and a newer hudy bit is brand new. Both cut the same. I've tried to tighten and loosen the slide set screws to see if that is it but no change. I've tried bit height and even tried 2 cell versus 4 cell to run the lathe and it looks like it has serrations throughout the whole comm.

This is a hudy tech lathe with axial support.


Thanks in advance.
__________________
EA Motorsports
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 05:07 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Toughbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Posts: 508
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by picco007
Have a question about a lathe.

When cutting the comm there are lines left on the comm. I have changed bit's and that is not the problem. One hudy bit is fine and a newer hudy bit is brand new. Both cut the same. I've tried to tighten and loosen the slide set screws to see if that is it but no change. I've tried bit height and even tried 2 cell versus 4 cell to run the lathe and it looks like it has serrations throughout the whole comm.

This is a hudy tech lathe with axial support.


Thanks in advance.
I have the same one you are using. the only time the lathe will leave grooves is if your rotor has play between the axial supports or the bit support has slop in it.

make sure all the screws are tight and rotor is free but without sideways play.

you bit should be centered on the comm as well. use a permamnet marker to mark the comm.
__________________
Serdar Aytemiz

Racing since the 20th century
Toughbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lathe question rtherbe Electric On-Road 2 10-18-2006 07:54 PM
lathe question pinggoy Electric On-Road 5 10-14-2006 08:13 AM
lathe question geeunit1014 Electric On-Road 1 05-19-2006 01:36 PM
lathe question tc3blue Electric On-Road 3 04-26-2005 02:31 PM
Lathe Question omalley Electric On-Road 3 05-07-2003 10:29 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:30 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net