Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Mamba Max with Vortex from Team Orion >

Mamba Max with Vortex from Team Orion

Mamba Max with Vortex from Team Orion

Old 05-18-2007, 01:41 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 109
Default Mamba Max with Vortex from Team Orion

Did you try this combo? If you did can you share your expirience?
Thanks
tomislav is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 05:03 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 374
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I myself have not tried it, but i have thought about it. Dont forget the vortex is a sensored brushless mate. As said previously in the castle creations thread, there designing an update to allow the use of sensored motors with the mamba max, you can run a vortex with the mamba, its just that the vortex might not run at its optimum performance, because the ESC is sensorless. Hope that clears things up for ya!!
Drift Demon is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 09:02 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

i would not do it
i just run the mamba stuff
and if i go to a race that wont allow it i just go home or not go.
wallyedmonds is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 12:59 AM
  #4  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,287
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

tested !
no problem !
only Mamba Max change setup brake
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 04:56 AM
  #5  
Tech Initiate
 
Captain Harlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 48
Default

I believe a sensorless esc can easily run sensored brushless motors.
Captain Harlock is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 07:20 AM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,287
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Captain Harlock
I believe a sensorless esc can easily run sensored brushless motors.
Yes !
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 06:52 AM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Captain Harlock
I believe a sensorless esc can easily run sensored brushless motors.
My understanding is that is not correct. There have been reported problems with the Mamba Max running the Novak motors and Tekin as well is have -slight- issues (or was) with running the Novak motors as well.
or8ital is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 07:45 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rantoul,Il
Posts: 424
Default

You might take a look at John Stranahan's Pantoura thread. He has done a lot of testing with Novak motors and Novak, LRP and MM speed controls. He has also completely redesigned the front and rear suspension of his 1/10 pan car. It is wicked fast and hangs with pretty much anything else that might be on the track when he is. Don
DLS II is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 08:08 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,717
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

My understanding about the Vortex motors is that they can run as either sensored or sensorless. This was they are able to run with any manufactures speed controls.

Later,
CRASH is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 08:35 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,004
Default

Originally Posted by CRASH
My understanding about the Vortex motors is that they can run as either sensored or sensorless. This was they are able to run with any manufactures speed controls.

Later,
Correct! We have had good feedback from drivers using the Mamba/Vortex set-up.
Rick Hohwart is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 08:37 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,717
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
Correct! We have had good feedback from drivers using the Mamba/Vortex set-up.
Thanks for the confirmation Rick.

Later,
CRASH is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 09:49 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Now, if only Orion would come out with Stock and 19t equivalent brushless motors.
adamge is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.