R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2007, 10:41 AM   #16
Tech Master
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,170
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

If it ain't broke don't fix it, there are some differences though, no damper tubes from what I can see, it looks an awful lot like the Hammer T-12, Hara, and Moore, drove at IFMAR Worlds last year from what I remember
Big B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 10:51 AM   #17
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

looks like the battery strap system was something
borrowed from the Kawada M300x 1/12th


__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 12:40 PM   #18
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default



__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 02:05 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,601
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TFR


Caster is going to be easier to change. It is probally going to be harder to get right.
__________________
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 02:09 PM   #20
Tech Fanatic
 
ChestyV32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Wow I like the idea of quick caster change and i dont think it will be to hard to get right as long as the screw doesnt strip out you should be fine
__________________
SXT Tire Additive
www.SuperiorHobbies.com
ChestyV32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 03:05 PM   #21
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
looks like the battery strap system was something
borrowed from the Kawada M300x 1/12th


The battery brace looks similar to the battery brace for the Cyclone D4
savageguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 04:00 PM   #22
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,838
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChestyV32
Wow I like the idea of quick caster change and i dont think it will be to hard to get right as long as the screw doesnt strip out you should be fine
unfortunately you cant adjust your reactive castor that way without effecting the static castor.the reason for this is that when you raise or lower 1 side of the block and leave 1 side fixed to pivot around,it will move the upper arm as you rotate the castor block.this will decrease castor to 0 degree static just by changing to 10 degree reactive.this will not work unless you run the reactive castor setting it was designed to
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 07:38 PM   #23
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protc3
unfortunately you cant adjust your reactive castor that way without effecting the static castor.the reason for this is that when you raise or lower 1 side of the block and leave 1 side fixed to pivot around,it will move the upper arm as you rotate the castor block.this will decrease castor to 0 degree static just by changing to 10 degree reactive.this will not work unless you run the reactive castor setting it was designed to
Firstly I think those caster blocks only have 2 positions...reactive and standard.
Secondly I bet that the little caster clip that is hanging behind the caster block is to rememdy the situation protc3 talks about. Im guessing that when you use the blocks in reactive mode that you leave the clip in the back (or off), and when you swing the caster block back up to standard mode you then use the clip in the front......or something similar.

Im just happy to see someone else making AE compatible molded parts. From what I keep hearing about AE supply situation this should be a great thing.

Im just sad that they didnt update their old skool double wishbone front end with new plastics,,,, still the best pancar front end ever made!
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 04:13 AM   #24
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,838
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

there is alot of movement in the upper arm when you swing the castor block.there is 2 positions and there is not alot of castor in these front ends.you would need alot of shimming area to do this.this has been attempted before and the same problem existed.you needed to run 1 position for it to work properly.you have 4 degrees of castor at most to mess with in the standard adjustment.you lose 3 degrees just by going from 5 degrees to 10 dergees of reactive castor.this will give you 1 degree of static castor going the wrong way just by changing.so now the best you can achieve is 1 degree.in order to do this adjustment you would need to rotate the block around its center and move it slightly back at the same time.
im all for new technology but i have seen this done and it does not work in both positions.it is possible but not like this.
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 12:16 PM   #25
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protc3
there is alot of movement in the upper arm when you swing the castor block.there is 2 positions and there is not alot of castor in these front ends.you would need alot of shimming area to do this.this has been attempted before and the same problem existed.you needed to run 1 position for it to work properly.you have 4 degrees of castor at most to mess with in the standard adjustment.you lose 3 degrees just by going from 5 degrees to 10 dergees of reactive castor.this will give you 1 degree of static castor going the wrong way just by changing.so now the best you can achieve is 1 degree.in order to do this adjustment you would need to rotate the block around its center and move it slightly back at the same time.
im all for new technology but i have seen this done and it does not work in both positions.it is possible but not like this.
hey guy, chex: you make the block have 7 degrees of caster at the most in the 5deg_reactive position, then you supply that clip in caster shim that is the equiv of 3 deg thick,,,,so that when you use the shim you can only have 4 deg max.
then when you drop the block down to 10deg_reactive position it has 1 deg of caster limit, until you pop the 3 deg shim out...giving you 4 deg limit.

Otherwise why would HPI have such a thick clip in caster shim in those pics????? that shim MUST compensate for the caster block being narrowed, which would give it a larger range of caster adjustment.

does that make sense?
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 06:13 PM   #26
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,838
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

it makes sense but you need ALOT of space for shim in order to achieve the castor setting.there is alot of arm movement when you change the angle of the castor block.the only way i can see it work is if there is enough offset to the arm itself.its hard to tell from the pic but it doesnt look like it.who knows?
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 02:05 PM   #27
Tech Master
 
Switch Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The British Invasion
Posts: 1,078
Send a message via AIM to Switch Blade
Default

Any word on release? I see hotbodies has the manual online. Looking at the parts list they are going to offer a 2.5mm chassis. But the only thing I see that I dont like is that they make no mention of a 2.0mm t-bar. Hopefully the release more than the 1.6mm bar. Perhaps the AE bar will fit?

cheers
__________________
College
Switch Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 02:39 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by floodo1 View Post
hey guy, chex: you make the block have 7 degrees of caster at the most in the 5deg_reactive position, then you supply that clip in caster shim that is the equiv of 3 deg thick,,,,so that when you use the shim you can only have 4 deg max.
then when you drop the block down to 10deg_reactive position it has 1 deg of caster limit, until you pop the 3 deg shim out...giving you 4 deg limit.

Otherwise why would HPI have such a thick clip in caster shim in those pics????? that shim MUST compensate for the caster block being narrowed, which would give it a larger range of caster adjustment.

does that make sense?

I dont know if you know, but Jason (protc3) has the BMI DB12R out now, and I will put money on it that the DB12R WILL blow the doors off the cyclone 12....... Dont get me wrong, Im a HB guy! I race a moore speed cyclone, But with saying he has a 12th out, he made the car, so I think he knows what he's talking about...
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 03:13 PM   #29
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mclean, VA
Posts: 3,940
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Anybody know what the wheelbase is on the Cyclone 12? I wouldn't be surprised if it's longer than a 12L4 to accommodate today's faster motors.
Apex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 03:17 PM   #30
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Switch Blade View Post
Any word on release? I see hotbodies has the manual online. Looking at the parts list they are going to offer a 2.5mm chassis. But the only thing I see that I dont like is that they make no mention of a 2.0mm t-bar. Hopefully the release more than the 1.6mm bar. Perhaps the AE bar will fit?

cheers
already got mine at home. shoot Masa an email (rc champ) if you need one. It's about 190USD.
omoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lookin for some race bodies tc3 xray bodies newrcguy2008 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 04-29-2008 08:01 PM
Custom Painted Losi XXX-CR and XX-4 Bodies by Ridgeway Bodies ridgewaybodies R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 03-29-2008 09:54 PM
2 unpainted B3 bodies from Hot Bodies JonBoy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-14-2005 08:09 AM
the best bodies 2fast for you Nitro On-Road 1 07-26-2004 07:59 AM
Rare Pan Car Bodies 1/10 1/12, Yok Mini BOdies, Losi Bodies Etc dynamic_e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-31-2003 09:39 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:38 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net