R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-08-2007, 02:09 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
KyLayfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ATL
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default Setup Stations

Ok, I got into this discussion about setup stations the other day. I was told if the camber plates didn't set my car's axle at the same height as where it would be if I had wheels mounted on it, that the adjustments would be off. Now, when I use my Integy setup station it raises the axles height from where the are with 63mm tires by a decent amount, possibly 10mm. My question was, how would this effect the angles? 1 degree of camber is still 1 degree whether the axle was 31.5mm off the ground or a foot, right? I mean the axles are all equally high, and the car sits at rest. Could someone help shed some light, please. Thanks -Ky
KyLayfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 02:17 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

You're right, the angles won't change whether the axle is 50mm up or 5000mm up.

Perhaps the point your advisor was trying to make is "set your ride height before doing anything else" - you can apply this to ALL setup work.

If you were crazy enough to put your car on the setup plates first, THEN drop the chassis height down to 5mm, you would get some really messed up settings. Set the ride height with the wheels on first, then put it on the plates.

It's for this reason that I have never seen the point of the setup systems - your car runs around the track on wheels, not perspex blocks...
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 02:22 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
KyLayfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ATL
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

Yea, I know how to setup a car correctly. It was just that he insisted that was the case, and I thought I was losing my mind, lol. Just another crazy RC theory I guess! Thanks- Ky
KyLayfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 03:09 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Ride height can however be effected by the tidal forces of our Planet. Several of my friends carry tidal charts to ensure we know when to check the ride height again during the race day or night.
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 05:59 PM   #5
JKA
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2-Bad
Ride height can however be effected by the tidal forces of our Planet. Several of my friends carry tidal charts to ensure we know when to check the ride height again during the race day or night.
Take this advice with a grain of salt, the water in his toilet flushes the wrong direction.

Sup Ky? Is Zane being funny or is DC trying to be smart?
JKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 06:15 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

Don't forget the ride height changes due to fat friends. The more objects of mass in close proximity to your car, the more the ride height increases due to gravitational pull.
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2007, 04:19 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
KyLayfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ATL
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

Hey Keith,
Neither. Oz and me were talking about it. But then again.... he does have gingervitis ..so what does he know
KyLayfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setup Stations, Motors, Bodies and Tires blewer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 25 01-22-2008 11:00 AM
INTEGY SETUP & TWEAK STATIONS CHEAP!! rcaussie Australia For Sale/Trade 1 01-19-2008 05:59 AM
Alignment setup stations Sime Electric On-Road 14 07-15-2007 11:22 PM
1/10th Touring Car Setup Stations sf85 Electric On-Road 2 06-10-2007 11:41 PM
Question about setup stations aN4rK1 Rookie Zone 4 02-18-2006 05:10 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:28 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net