R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2007, 10:31 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 872
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default Mamba Max Cogging

I have tried posting this in the official Castle Creations thread, but the guy didn't respond to me, so I am posting here to see what you guys do to stop mamba max cogging.

I am using spektrum pro tx and rx with the power cap, I have a mamba max 5700 kv in a XXX-T MF2 with a 16t pinion using IB3800 batteries, matched and balanced s x s w battery bars and deans. I should have absolutely no problems here with radio equipment at all, and still I am getting cogging issues. I am using medium start power, no traction control, no cutoff voltage, normal timing, wires soldered directly to the motor. The cogging sometimes happens during sweeping turns, or while I have been on power, not from a dead stop. I do see cogging from a dead stop too sometimes, but this is expected because this usually happens after a spin-out. Also, the acceleration seems inconsistent at times too.

I also have another mamba max w/ 7700kv motor 15t pinion in a BJ4 with a spektrum pro rx and capacitor with maxamps 4400mah saddle pack LIPOs. This motor is not direct soldered yet, although I plan on doing this soon. This one here cogs or glitches every now and then too. And it isn't from a dead stop when this happens, this is while I am well back on power and it is just so frustrating. This was happening multiple times during each heat. One time I was going up a jump when all of the sudden it decided to cog a bit causing me to not make the jump. I am running the mamba max at pretty much the exact same setup as the MF2 truck, same start power, timings, etc...

None of these issues are acceptable in a racing atmosphere. I just don't know what to do any more. I need to get this completely eliminated somehow. I love the mamba max and I want to get it to work smoothly. Most of the time it works great, just every now and then it feels like glitching on me. I have two systems and it does this to both systems. When I run a 19t checkpoint motor with my mamba max in the BJ4, it never glitches, so that eliminates my radio setup which is brand new and all spektrum pro.

Please Castle guys, fix this! What are us racers supposed to do? I am at wits end.
__________________
High Desert Raceplace, Grand Jct CO, Sanwa Exzes Plus Stick Radio, Spektrum,Thunderpower 230g, Modified Tri-Nut Novak GTB2, Ballistic 4.5t 550, 5.83lb SCTE Ten, Novak Sentry Brushless Dyno, Crossweight Setup Station, Junsi 20A power supply Icharger 20A Charger,TP610C, 22B, Novak Edge, Novak 13.5, SC10, Havoc Pro SC XDrive, Ballistic 17.5 Matthew Joseph Cordova
mattnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 12:57 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,038
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

My guess is because the system is not sensored.....again just a guess, my novak and lrp BL stuff does none of that.
__________________
"I can't be any clearer, on how crystal clear I am being"
convikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 01:34 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I would just like to point out that cogging just means that the motor 'steps' between spots of rotation, like a brushed motor. The Mamba Max motors don't cog at all, I think the Novak motors cog a little (at least some of them), brushed motors cog a lot. It's something you determine by turning the motor by hand.

When a brushless motor doesn't go when you pull the trigger, or rocks back and forth a few times, that's called hesitation or stuttering.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 04:34 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 872
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Is this the same Adam G from RCU?

By that definition, it isn't cogging that I am seeing. It is a hesitation, or stutter I get during acceleration, like out of nowhere. I ran dirt oval about a month ago with very little release of the throttle and the mamba max just hesitates every now and then. Not every time. It does this usually during acceleration coming out of a corner, be a slow corner like a 180 deg or a fast corner like that in a dirt oval.

If this is the same Adam G from RCU, I really can't just go and change out radio equipment again. I just bought some new radio equipment and got it set up just to my liking. I am very picky and got an Exzes Plus radio and modified the sticks, etc.. it isn't easy at all for me to swap radios and go to another kind.
__________________
High Desert Raceplace, Grand Jct CO, Sanwa Exzes Plus Stick Radio, Spektrum,Thunderpower 230g, Modified Tri-Nut Novak GTB2, Ballistic 4.5t 550, 5.83lb SCTE Ten, Novak Sentry Brushless Dyno, Crossweight Setup Station, Junsi 20A power supply Icharger 20A Charger,TP610C, 22B, Novak Edge, Novak 13.5, SC10, Havoc Pro SC XDrive, Ballistic 17.5 Matthew Joseph Cordova
mattnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 04:36 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Try rebinding your specktrum and then reseting the esc...mine was funky for a few runs and that cured it...beets me why it would matter but worth a try.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 04:49 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 872
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

How do you reset the ESC? Are you talking about setting it up?

I just rebinded a new RX yesterday and it did it. It was a brand new RX, should I rebind it again?

I'd really like to solve this problem because it seems like everything else about the mamba max is good, just that intermittent hesitation or stutter I get makes me want to pull my hair out.
__________________
High Desert Raceplace, Grand Jct CO, Sanwa Exzes Plus Stick Radio, Spektrum,Thunderpower 230g, Modified Tri-Nut Novak GTB2, Ballistic 4.5t 550, 5.83lb SCTE Ten, Novak Sentry Brushless Dyno, Crossweight Setup Station, Junsi 20A power supply Icharger 20A Charger,TP610C, 22B, Novak Edge, Novak 13.5, SC10, Havoc Pro SC XDrive, Ballistic 17.5 Matthew Joseph Cordova
mattnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 05:41 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yep, same one.
I just had to get my thoughts on word choice off my chest. I can't do it on RCu, because the hundreds of bashers would destroy me ;>
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 06:53 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattnin
How do you reset the ESC? Are you talking about setting it up?

I just rebinded a new RX yesterday and it did it. It was a brand new RX, should I rebind it again?

I'd really like to solve this problem because it seems like everything else about the mamba max is good, just that intermittent hesitation or stutter I get makes me want to pull my hair out.
Make sure all of your end points are at neutral on the radio. Then reset the Max to factory default settings. Then recalibrate your radio to the ESC. Make no changes to the ESC or radio and take a trial run and see if you see any of the symptoms you are talking about.

Thanks,
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 07:26 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Also how short are your motor wires? I thought I read something in the instructions that say the motor leads must be XX" long. Give castle a call, those guys are top knotch. I had a similar problem with a mamba in a mini inferno, turns out the settings were wrong, and the guy I talked to even gave me his own personal set-up from his mini. I run mine in a TC now, and It feels better than the GTB I used to own.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 09:31 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

get rid of the plugs for the motor.
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 10:09 PM   #11
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

braid the motor wires?
Rustler_5700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 11:57 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,465
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallyedmonds
get rid of the plugs for the motor.
I am running in my my 1/18 M18 since the release of the Mamba series a 8000KV with motorplugs on it. We had some problems in the beginning with cogging. I switched to Deans Ultra's for the batteryplug and upgraded the esc through a the PHX link the firmware. The PHX link costs you about 25USD but is worth the investment cause you can setup the esc through you computer and upgrade the firmware if it is upgraded. So what you tel is B*llshit!
__________________
U5 Formulaboat 1/8 hydroplane - MHZ138 AQUAMANIA - Axial Exo Terra - Tamiya Avante - LC Racing EMB1 - Atomic AMZ 4WD Touring car
MrUnlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 02:01 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamge
I would just like to point out that cogging just means that the motor 'steps' between spots of rotation, like a brushed motor. The Mamba Max motors don't cog at all, I think the Novak motors cog a little (at least some of them), brushed motors cog a lot. It's something you determine by turning the motor by hand.
WRONG

Cogging is the electronic phenomenon where the motor does not pick up smoothly, either due to the sensorless speedo "losing" the rotor or insufficient voltage.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 03:32 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUnlimited
I am running in my my 1/18 M18 since the release of the Mamba series a 8000KV with motorplugs on it. We had some problems in the beginning with cogging. I switched to Deans Ultra's for the batteryplug and upgraded the esc through a the PHX link the firmware. The PHX link costs you about 25USD but is worth the investment cause you can setup the esc through you computer and upgrade the firmware if it is upgraded. So what you tel is B*llshit!
you can stop with the nice words
this is what i was told to do
and others that run the mamba max do this
and the link cable came with the motor and spedo,
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 04:09 AM   #15
Tech Apprentice
 
tomt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 80
Default

It cogs because its a mamba, get a sensored system and the problem will disappear.
tomt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is cogging? leigh18 Electric Off-Road 3 04-28-2008 04:32 PM
Cogging with Brushless d4man Electric Off-Road 8 03-12-2008 09:17 PM
novak GTB cogging ff01 Electric On-Road 7 05-09-2007 08:33 PM
Bad Brushless Cogging? Litespeed Australian Racing 10 02-17-2007 04:11 AM
Cogging help? knucklebusta Electric Off-Road 5 12-17-2005 09:04 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:37 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net