R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-04-2007, 07:18 AM   #16
Tech Master
 
Charles Godwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK (England)
Posts: 1,129
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

You can re-serrate them by using a 're-serrater' . Something like this from MuchMore or another company. You attach the alum plate to a old motor and the serrater bit to the shaft (like a pinion) then run the motor at about 3v, put the brush in the correct slot then push the brush against the serrator bit till the brush face has it's serrated face back.

Charles
__________________
DXR | CML Distribution | Paint by Turnip Paint | TKRgraphics.com
Charles Godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:02 PM   #17
Tech Adept
 
16skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 195
Default

I have just done a cut on my new team brood stock motor. It was reving at 19500rpm at 4v when I finished cutting the com and put new brushes in the revs dropped by about 1300rpm someone please help, I even tried two types of solder HELP ME PLEASE.
16skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:12 PM   #18
Tech Addict
 
trjracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leesburg Florida/Bronx N.Y.
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Try fresh brushes and brush springs. If all else fails it could be the motor can magnets are getting weak.
__________________
GOD IS GOOD, LIFE IS GOOD... I AM THE BAD BREED... B.B.R. BADBREEDRACING... Rest In Peace Marshall G. Winston America's Hobby Center, You will be missed...
trjracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:15 PM   #19
Tech Addict
 
trjracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leesburg Florida/Bronx N.Y.
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

It could be time for a new motor.
__________________
GOD IS GOOD, LIFE IS GOOD... I AM THE BAD BREED... B.B.R. BADBREEDRACING... Rest In Peace Marshall G. Winston America's Hobby Center, You will be missed...
trjracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:16 PM   #20
Tech Addict
 
trjracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leesburg Florida/Bronx N.Y.
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

How many runs you put on this motor?
__________________
GOD IS GOOD, LIFE IS GOOD... I AM THE BAD BREED... B.B.R. BADBREEDRACING... Rest In Peace Marshall G. Winston America's Hobby Center, You will be missed...
trjracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:16 PM   #21
Tech Adept
 
16skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 195
Default

It is a brand new motor, it has only 2 pratice runs with it
16skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:19 PM   #22
Tech Addict
 
trjracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leesburg Florida/Bronx N.Y.
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 16skyline
It is a brand new motor, it has only 2 pratice runs with it
WOW, It's surely new. When you rebuild the motor are you over tightening the endbell screws??? Are you shiming the arm properly???
__________________
GOD IS GOOD, LIFE IS GOOD... I AM THE BAD BREED... B.B.R. BADBREEDRACING... Rest In Peace Marshall G. Winston America's Hobby Center, You will be missed...
trjracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:19 PM   #23
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 5,058
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 16skyline
I have just done a cut on my new team brood stock motor. It was reving at 19500rpm at 4v when I finished cutting the com and put new brushes in the revs dropped by about 1300rpm someone please help, I even tried two types of solder HELP ME PLEASE.
You might not have the bit lined up correctly on your lathe. The bit might be to high.
__________________
Steve Walter
Sweep Racing USA/ Speed Passion USA/ Karens Famous Cookies (Transporter)
SRW141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:21 PM   #24
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 5,058
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

What type of motor is it? co27 or kd19
__________________
Steve Walter
Sweep Racing USA/ Speed Passion USA/ Karens Famous Cookies (Transporter)
SRW141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:24 PM   #25
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 5,058
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

If you are re-serrating the brushes make sure you clean the face of them with a com stick before serrating. Over tightening like was said is also not good.
__________________
Steve Walter
Sweep Racing USA/ Speed Passion USA/ Karens Famous Cookies (Transporter)
SRW141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:27 PM   #26
Tech Addict
 
trjracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leesburg Florida/Bronx N.Y.
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW141
If you are re-serrating the brushes make sure you clean the face of them with a com stick before serrating. Over tightening like was said is also not good.
I'm with you on that.
__________________
GOD IS GOOD, LIFE IS GOOD... I AM THE BAD BREED... B.B.R. BADBREEDRACING... Rest In Peace Marshall G. Winston America's Hobby Center, You will be missed...
trjracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:30 PM   #27
Tech Adept
 
16skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 195
Default

Not sure what type of motor it is has a team brood pro sticker and it i a black can, The lathe was bought of ebay as I had the integy 2000 a bit hard to work with so i bought the 2000k with the diamond tip, this was already installed all i done was plug a battery to it, the lathe bit has a thin bit of cardboard under it also.
16skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:32 PM   #28
Tech Adept
 
16skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 195
Default

I didn't put any extra shims in than what it came with.
16skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:32 PM   #29
Tech Addict
 
trjracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leesburg Florida/Bronx N.Y.
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Also try using a brush alignment tool it helps alot.
__________________
GOD IS GOOD, LIFE IS GOOD... I AM THE BAD BREED... B.B.R. BADBREEDRACING... Rest In Peace Marshall G. Winston America's Hobby Center, You will be missed...
trjracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:33 PM   #30
Tech Addict
 
trjracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leesburg Florida/Bronx N.Y.
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 16skyline
I didn't put any extra shims in than what it came with.
OK... Let's see what else we can do to get your motor running 100%
__________________
GOD IS GOOD, LIFE IS GOOD... I AM THE BAD BREED... B.B.R. BADBREEDRACING... Rest In Peace Marshall G. Winston America's Hobby Center, You will be missed...
trjracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting comms Still Bill Electric On-Road 16 07-09-2006 12:32 AM
COMMS serpentrush Electric On-Road 6 01-12-2006 02:48 PM
I keep cremating my comms! Timmy_G Electric On-Road 34 01-23-2005 03:27 AM
new motors and their comms onnetz Electric On-Road 18 08-28-2004 01:23 PM
Reedy Big Comms, how low can you go'? Cain Electric On-Road 2 03-09-2004 11:19 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:10 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net