Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Lipo on brushed esc >

Lipo on brushed esc

Lipo on brushed esc

Old 05-03-2007, 08:50 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,495
Default Lipo on brushed esc

Is this possible? I only have people using lipo's on brushless esc. Anyone?
MrUnlimited is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 08:55 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Yeah its not a problem. You usually hear them together b/c people with brushless and lipo are early adopters of new technology. Just make sure you either use a ESC with lipo cutoff, add lipo cut off, or just take the car off the track when it slows down as to not over discharge your battery.
or8ital is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 08:56 AM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MrUnlimited
Is this possible? I only have people using lipo's on brushless esc. Anyone?
As a short: Yes....

I've been using a pair of Orion 4800 with my VFS-1 Pro and Revolution 12x2. Amazing punch I would say.....
rampal is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 09:04 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,495
Default

Cool, how much runtime could I expect from a Orion 3200mah carbon with a 19T Checkpoint motor I know it depends on your gearing but what runtime could I expect?
MrUnlimited is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 09:06 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,495
Default

Originally Posted by or8ital
Yeah its not a problem. You usually hear them together b/c people with brushless and lipo are early adopters of new technology. Just make sure you either use a ESC with lipo cutoff, add lipo cut off, or just take the car off the track when it slows down as to not over discharge your battery.
I run the new Mtroniks IP6 esc in my car.
MrUnlimited is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 09:06 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Patriiick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Switzerland.
Posts: 595
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

No problem whatsoever on any esc with any motor.
With a 3200, with the correct gearing, expect about 30 secs less than with a good nimh 4200.
Patriiick is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 09:27 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,004
Default

Originally Posted by Patriiick
No problem whatsoever on any esc with any motor.
With a 3200, with the correct gearing, expect about 30 secs less than with a good nimh 4200.
I actually experience slightly longer run times with the Carbon 3200 versus my IB4200. These are results from a 7 turn brushed motor at Tamiya USA's facility.
Rick Hohwart is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 11:35 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,495
Default

Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
I actually experience slightly longer run times with the Carbon 3200 versus my IB4200. These are results from a 7 turn brushed motor at Tamiya USA's facility.
Even cooler Rick I run a 19T Checkpoint motor so I can expect to run a 24 hour race on a single battery Just kidding I'll be running this with a new Mamba 7700KV in the near future in my Yokomo LCG
MrUnlimited is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 11:41 AM
  #9  
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
I actually experience slightly longer run times with the Carbon 3200 versus my IB4200. These are results from a 7 turn brushed motor at Tamiya USA's facility.
Really that good ?
I thought Carbon 3200 will not make it 5 minutes with 7T ( ......lets say I still make two or three mistakes during 5 minutes racing ).
I am considering Carbon 3200 ( lightweight ) but 4800 ( heavier ) is safer for accepting driver mistakes, Plus it is safer for low voltage situation..... lets say I test my car for 5min 30sec period ?

BTW: Are you Rick Howart from USA RC magazines ? cool !! Nice to meet you
asw7576 is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 11:50 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,004
Default

Originally Posted by asw7576
Really that good ?
I thought Carbon 3200 will not make it 5 minutes with 7T ( ......lets say I still make two or three mistakes during 5 minutes racing ).
I am considering Carbon 3200 ( lightweight ) but 4800 ( heavier ) is safer for accepting driver mistakes, Plus it is safer for low voltage situation..... lets say I test my car for 5min 30sec period ?

BTW: Are you Rick Howart from USA RC magazines ? cool !!
Yes it is me

If you were to take the tp 30 drivers inthe world, they are all capable of turning nearly the same lap times. But I estimate there can be as much as a minute difference in run time among the same group. So even if I can make 5 minutes, someone else may not.

That is why giving an actual run time is not very precise. Every driver, car, and track is different. Thatis why I say that you get about the same or a little more runtime with the 3200 over the IB4200. If you are dumping with a 4200, you will probably dump with a 3200.

The one thing about LiPo is that there is no margin for error. If you have a bad run with crashes or you have to drive hard to make up time, you risk dumping (just as with 4200). But once your car begins to slow, you MUST stop. So you can be 1/2 lap from the finish and have to take a DNF. With NiMH, you can creep around the track, barely moving, and finish if you want.

The 4800 is a better choice if you can afford it and it is allowed. The idea behind the 3200 was to:

Make a battery that fits in most cars with little or no modification.
Keep the initial price close to that of the best NiMh batteries available.
Keep the capacity below the limits generally accepted when not using ROAR or IFMAR rules.
Rick Hohwart is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 11:59 AM
  #11  
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Allright !!! Thank you so much for your tips !!!

I guess I buy 4800 series.
asw7576 is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 08:46 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,495
Default

Orion is so far the only who makes a specific lipo fro cars but in Europe here we're going to race 5cells, in Japan they're going to race 4 cells and the US? With so many different rules I don't know if there is a feature for lipo's unless they are developing new ones.
MrUnlimited is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 02:55 PM
  #13  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MrUnlimited
Orion is so far the only who makes a specific lipo fro cars but in Europe here we're going to race 5cells, in Japan they're going to race 4 cells and the US? With so many different rules I don't know if there is a feature for lipo's unless they are developing new ones.
The club feature.
UN4RACING is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 03:33 PM
  #14  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

It works just fine. I am running a stock 27 turn motor off 3200 orion lipos and there is about 20 minutes of run time. As I'm sure you already know, over discharging a lipo battery is bad for the cells, and potentially dangerous. The car will slow significantly before you overdischarge it, the voltage dropping from over 7.4 volts to 6 volts. I know this from watching the performance of my other vehicle that has lipo cut off at 6 volts, it does slow noticeably before the cutoff kicks in.

You can protect your cells by buying a Novak cutoff circuit for around $20-$25.00 so that your esc won't overdischarge the lipo cells. Tower and other sources have them.
Iceracer is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 09:03 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
flying G.E.O.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Flight Academy
Posts: 404
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Anyone notice that stock motors get hotter when using lipos than nimh? Not sure if the voltage and very linear discharge curve has anything to do with it. It also seems soft compared to nimh in stock. Lipos seem better for mod.
flying G.E.O. is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.