Wiki Posts
Search

Weight distribution on touring sedan

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2007, 01:17 AM
Tech Adept

Default Weight distribution on touring sedan

Re-building the upper and lower deck of my 1:10 electric touring car,
I was surprised to discover the strange distribution of weight on the four wheels.

On my car the right front wheel carrys 110 grams more than the others.

Re-designing the upper and lower deck, I managed to get an almost equal distribution of weight on all four wheels.
In order to achieve that, I had to move the battery more to the center ( always better ) an to the rear.

Testing the car it worked really well,
the car has en good balance and a predictable behavior on the track ( MACH Heemstede Holland ).

Unfortunately I am not familiar with the balance of other cars,
and I have no knowledge about any theory concerning weight distribution.

I noticed that with the transition from 6 sub-C cells to 5 cells,
most drivers choose to leave the rear hole empty.

This means that the CG moves slightly to the front.

What would be the ideal place for the CG ? ( top view )
And what consequences does that have ?
Old 04-29-2007, 02:43 AM
Tech Adept