R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-29-2007, 05:26 PM   #1
AWK
Tech Fanatic
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 983
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Severe Radio Glitching Help (Tamiya TA05)

It seems like I just can't get this car to not glitch on my. I have tried every location of electronics possible and the car still has a severe glitch in it. I have tried moving the receiver on the servo, behind the motor, standing up in between the motor and receiver and nothing works. I have also tried a different receiver but they both produce the same results. I have also tried 3 different sets of crystals.

When I took the car to my local hobby shop, but the only advice they gave me was to get a new 2.4gHz system. I have compared my car to other TA05s and everyone has the same setup that I do.

My electronies are a Novak GTX, Novak XXL FM 75mHz, Checkpoint 19t, Futaba S9550 servo, and Futaba Magnum 3PDF radio.


AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 06:15 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Default

It could be the actual radio if you are getting all of these problems with different locations and crystals, as well as receivers. I do know that the servo turnbuckle is mounted incorrectly because of the way it looks in the pictures. You should mount the ball stud facing the rear of the car so that steering rod lines up better.
shaneriley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 06:17 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Dan the Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Perth, W.A
Posts: 2,006
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Does that reciever take crystals? They can fail over time. Have you tried another reciever combo, just to check that it isn't that either.

Dodgy connections can also cause RF noise, as well as poor soldered joints.

Good luck!
__________________
|--|Hot Bodies Pro 5|-●-|The "F109X"|--|

If you don't have clean bearings, good transmission and a perfect car, trust me when I say this...someone else does.
Dan the Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 06:23 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Try this. Click the pic.

Mark
Attached Thumbnails
Severe Radio Glitching Help (Tamiya TA05)-ta05.jpg  
__________________
☆ ActivRC ☆
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 07:29 PM   #5
AWK
Tech Fanatic
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 983
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the advice, I will try it and get back to the track next week where I hope it will last more than 30 minutes.

Can anyone tell me the best way to clean the solder out of the holes for the wires on the GTX?
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 08:00 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
swopemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

FM you shouldn't have this much problems, but... I have made an AM radio as glitch proof as I could (then I went DSM). For what it's worth, here is what all I did:

My major helps
- Try other receiver, etc, make sure it's not the equipment....
- Stand receiver on end or side with antenna end off chassis high as possible.
- Get receiver as far away as possible from ESC, motor and battery. My car had top plate and I put it on the front of the top plate. May sound crazy, but you might succeed up near the front bumper (not kidding).
- Keep the antenna wire away from the chassis and anything else conductive and/or RF noise. To do this, take your body reamer and carefully poke a hole in the side of your antenna tube, just big enough for the wire to enter, about 1 to 1.5 inches above the base, at a 45 to 60 degree upward angle. This way the antenna wire never touches or gets near the carbon fiber chassis.
- twist your battery wires together. there is an electromagnetic field between the + and -.
- make sure there is at least 2 good thick layers of servo tape under receiver.
- make sure receiver does not touch any carbon fiber on body anywhere

Minor helps, things that might help a bit
- make sure batteries are not shorting on carbon fiber chassis anywhere
- make sure receiver is not affected by servo (metal gears can cause glitching)
- make sure all metal to metal contact is well lubed, believe it or not this can cause problems.
- of course make sure your 19T motor is in good shape, not too much brush arcing... if it gets better after a comm cut and new brushes that's a clue.
- some people used to wrap the receiver and antenna base in aluminum foil. i never found this to help (carbon fiber chassis).
swopemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 08:05 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
swopemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Looking again at your pictures, I think keeping antenna well away from chassis (antenna through side of tube trick) is most critical. I would try that first, then test receiver on top of servo again. Next to motor is hardest to avoid interference, farther away the better.
swopemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 08:32 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I will post a pic of my 05 with the GTX installed in it as soon as I find my camera.
__________________
☆ ActivRC ☆
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 08:43 PM   #9
AWK
Tech Fanatic
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 983
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Do you guys use 12 gauge or 14 gauge wires with the GTX? I have issues trying to use 12 gauge like I would like the the holes the size they are.
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 09:01 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarKing
Do you guys use 12 gauge or 14 gauge wires with the GTX? I have issues trying to use 12 gauge like I would like the the holes the size they are.
Use 14 Guage wire, it will be much easier to solder the connections.
trf_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 09:06 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Here it is.
Attached Thumbnails
Severe Radio Glitching Help (Tamiya TA05)-ta05_1.jpg   Severe Radio Glitching Help (Tamiya TA05)-ta05_2.jpg   Severe Radio Glitching Help (Tamiya TA05)-ta05_4.jpg   Severe Radio Glitching Help (Tamiya TA05)-ta05_5.jpg   Severe Radio Glitching Help (Tamiya TA05)-ta05_6.jpg  

__________________
☆ ActivRC ☆
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 10:19 PM   #12
AWK
Tech Fanatic
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 983
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trf_racer
Use 14 Guage wire, it will be much easier to solder the connections.
Even with 19t motors? Wouldn't it be much better to go with 12 gauge for better power transfer?
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 12:49 AM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Tucker101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wangaratta, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 119
Send a message via MSN to Tucker101
Default

Chack your capacitors! my TC4 Only cam with 1 so they sent me a new motor from america and it had 3 capacitors so sheck them
Tucker101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 01:44 AM   #14
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,097
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Had a brand new 2PL do that to me, was a faulty transmitter in the end.
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 03:26 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,154
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

When my GT7 was on the way out, the motor would run stop start eratically and the steering would go back and forth like crazy.

Try another speed control.

Turns out one of the FET's was sending interference through to the receiver.
Ashley Cobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Severe Glitching on Hyper 8.5pro rcrevolution Nitro Off-Road 12 08-03-2008 08:04 PM
Radio glitching sharkonwheels Rookie Zone 5 04-28-2007 02:16 PM
HELP! Glitching Fm Radio... Carbon_Ta04 Electric On-Road 15 06-11-2006 10:22 PM
Radio glitching plbman Electric On-Road 6 12-25-2004 01:57 AM
Severe Glitching Problem - Please Help! Accord Electric On-Road 2 06-18-2003 02:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:28 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net