Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
TC4 Diff question >

TC4 Diff question

TC4 Diff question

Old 04-29-2007, 12:13 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 756
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default TC4 Diff question

Whats the deal with my diffs, they loosen up almost every other run. Is this normal for a new car and once the diffs break in they will hold their settings? I am using a Mamba Max 7700kv system with 6 Nimh cells. Do you guys think I should go to a locked diff in the front with this system?
Raydee is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 01:36 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,147
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

What surface are you running?

It is normal for a diff to wear in, like what you are describing, just keep on tightening.
Sean R is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 01:52 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 756
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Running on concrete. I figured the diffs just need to break in.
Raydee is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 06:06 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

they may loosten a bit when seating, but shouldn't loosten after that..
tallyrc is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 07:52 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
 
Jmccormick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: maine
Posts: 626
Default

is this an older tc4 kit? I know the older kits had an issue with the diff gears inner surface being to thick and the diff balls wouldnt seat properly on the diff rings in some cases the diff rings rode on the diff gear. My tc4 did exactly what you said yours is doing and I swapped the diff gears using spares from my tc3 and the problem was solved.
Jmccormick is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 08:38 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 756
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Well I bought the kit new recently so I am not sure if its a older kit. Is there any way to tell for sure? Is this something that AE knows about? I tightened the diffs and ran the car a few more times and each time the diffs started to slip after about a minute or two of running.
Raydee is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 04:56 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
 
Jmccormick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: maine
Posts: 626
Default

I dont know how you would tell if its an older kit but I would bet if you called assosiated they would help you out. or if you want you can pick up a couple of diff gears they are not expensive and give it a try. I know some guys even used a dremmel and ground away the excess material there was a post at one time on the TC4 forum that had a diagram on how to do this....
Jmccormick is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.