Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
PC ATX power supply conversion >

PC ATX power supply conversion

PC ATX power supply conversion

Old 04-27-2007, 04:15 PM
  #16  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: south africa
Posts: 98
Default 11 amps

will 11 amps run an ice charger
thanks
minnesh is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 04:56 PM
  #17  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

will 11 amps run an ice charger
thanks
Yes, with no problem.
mkdut is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 07:36 PM
  #18  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

You use resistors on the 5V line to boost the voltage output on the 12v line (I know it sounds confusing but that's how it works)

Because you are using a resistor between the +5v and ground wires, the less resistance in the resistor, then the closer it is to a short circuit, therefore the more load - which increases the voltage on the 12v line.

In other words to boost the voltage on the 12v line use a lower ohm resistor ie: go from 10ohms to 5 ohms etc.

Just remember that as the load increases, so does the heat generated by the resistor. Those little white block resistors may not handle the heat.

My power supply runs a 0.2 ohm 50watt heatsink encased resistor with a fan blowing on it. It will run 2 chargers plus a lathe plus run-in a motor at low voltage and the 12v line doesn't drop below 12.25v under load.

BTW there are already heaps of threads about these conversions - try using the search function
bender is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 08:06 PM
  #19  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,154
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

I've noticed that I have to have load connected to my powersupply before I turn it on...

If you hook anything upto it while it's turned on it switches off
Ashley Cobb is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 01:22 AM
  #20  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Nickmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i have a problem, lets see if anyone knows. I have connected everything up right (in fact i am getting over 12v under load), but I can not turn off the power supply with my on/off switch. I have to poll the power cable out to turn off. if I plug back in, with the switch off, the power supply will turn on, but no PWR_OK led comes on. But everything still gets power both 12v and 5v.

The switch work the first time to turn it on. and PWR_OK went one. Charge the a battery then go to turn off. no luck.

Anyone now what my problem is?

Thanks,
Nick
Nickmind is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.