Like Tree1Likes

Tamiya TA05MS

Old 07-06-2010, 09:58 AM
  #1381  
Tech Adept
 
Andysan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 103
Default

Anyone know of any parts that are hard to get for this car please? I run a TA05R and parts are very easy to come by, but the MS uses special belts of which there doesnt seem to be much availability.

Cheers!
Andysan is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 10:12 AM
  #1382  
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

The belts for the 05-MS are special order items, if you're in a bind for a front belt the front belt from the Tamiya DB-01 buggy is the same length it's just a little wider but does the job.
Skitee is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 10:29 AM
  #1383  
Tech Adept
 
Andysan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 103
Default

Ah, dang it. I am considering buying an MS but can only find one seller selling the belts, and no-one seems to make aramid belts either (unless the stock ones are?). This is probably enough to put me off buying what looks like a great car!

Thanks for your help!
Andysan is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 01:58 AM
  #1384  
PDR
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,953
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Is there a comprehensive list of Tamiya belt lengths anywhere?

I'd like to swap in the 18T centre pulley to lower the IDR, in order to get better gearing for untimed 21.5 brushless. However, the standard belts are just that tiny bit too short and become too tight.

Alternatively, does anyone know which belt will fit well in this configuration?

phil.
PDR is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 02:22 AM
  #1385  
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Here's a thread that has most of the current belt sizes liosted.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...us-cars-3.html
Skitee is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 03:39 AM
  #1386  
PDR
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,953
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
Here's a thread that has most of the current belt sizes liosted.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...us-cars-3.html
That looks great - thanks!
PDR is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 08:07 AM
  #1387  
Tech Rookie
 
Allex2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: São Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 6
Default

Hi friends!!

There are a gear diff for TA-05?? I'm searching for this but I dont find it...any diff of the other car can be used in TA05?

Awaiting, thanks!!
Allex2000 is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 11:56 PM
  #1388  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
OverGeared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
Posts: 472
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
The belts for the 05-MS are special order items, if you're in a bind for a front belt the front belt from the Tamiya DB-01 buggy is the same length it's just a little wider but does the job.
What about the rear belt?
OverGeared is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 11:40 AM
  #1389  
Tech Initiate
 
nicorozog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bogotá - Colombia
Posts: 35
Default

Eyy guys.. do you know where i can get spare and hop up parts... for this car? TA05MS....?? Thanks a lot...sorry for the rookie question!
nicorozog is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 11:45 AM
  #1390  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,563
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nicorozog View Post
Eyy guys.. do you know where i can get spare and hop up parts... for this car? TA05MS....?? Thanks a lot...sorry for the rookie question!
What are yo looking for? You can use arms, knuckles, hubs, chubs from most any new car. Belts ar harder to find. I found some on ebay.
DOTMAN is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 03:50 PM
  #1391  
Tech Initiate
 
nicorozog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bogotá - Colombia
Posts: 35
Default

Originally Posted by DOTMAN View Post
What are yo looking for? You can use arms, knuckles, hubs, chubs from most any new car. Belts ar harder to find. I found some on ebay.
I bought a TA05 MS, and i want to use it with a 10.5 motor, in parking lot, asphalt. However, everything can happens, so if i brake some parts...where can i get de part to replace? also i think that i can use parts of TRF 415... Oo not?. And i want to know what hop ups??

Thanks a lot!
nicorozog is offline  
Old 04-15-2011, 03:22 AM
  #1392  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: santa monica / manchester
Posts: 1,375
Default

Just check the manual for the part numbers. I still have mine and even though I raced it solidly for 2 years with a 10.5 I only ever had to replaced a front knuckle. The only part that wore down was the aluminium drive cups (TA05 aluminium diff parts). The belts etc are still as good as new.

As for hop ups there isn't many, I replaced the suspension shafts with coated ones and the suspension pistons also with the coated ones. Other things are more cosmetic such as the carbon bumper mount.

It's a high spec car out of the box, just drive it and enjoy it
Qatmix is offline  
Old 04-15-2011, 08:24 AM
  #1393  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,563
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nicorozog View Post
I bought a TA05 MS, and i want to use it with a 10.5 motor, in parking lot, asphalt. However, everything can happens, so if i brake some parts...where can i get de part to replace? also i think that i can use parts of TRF 415... Oo not?. And i want to know what hop ups??

Thanks a lot!
you don't need any hopups with this car. It's got everything you need. The parts that break can be replaced with parts from a 415, 416, and even the 417. The only difference is the suspension blocks. The MS can't use the split blocks. I liked this car because it handled great and it is also easy to put a lipo in it. You'll enjoy it
DOTMAN is offline  
Old 04-15-2011, 11:38 AM
  #1394  
Tech Initiate
 
nicorozog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bogotá - Colombia
Posts: 35
Default

Dotman thanks a lot bro. I've been reading the thread and ofcourse understanding the behaviour of the car. Hope to see more good comments here...
nicorozog is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 03:34 PM
  #1395  
Tech Initiate
 
nicorozog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bogotá - Colombia
Posts: 35
Default

Eyy guys.... i´ve read all the thread and i see that some people use Lipo with this car, but i want to know... which is the best lipo that fix on the car.

And if is necessary use Lipo Tray..where can i get it!..

Thanks a lot!
nicorozog is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.