Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TA05MS

Old 10-09-2007, 06:45 PM
  #736  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (38)
 
Tomie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

how many hits/races before you rebuild your diffs?

Mine lasted up to aprx 15 hits (5mins/race) 20 hits became a little to notchy.
Tomie is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 08:48 PM
  #737  
Tech Master
iTrader: (32)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 1,122
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I found this thrust bearing. It's from JAAD Racing and is ceramic nitride. I couldn't find where to buy it on the net though.

http://www.jaadracing.com/
ittjv is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 11:48 PM
  #738  
Tech Apprentice
 
peejay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 92
Default

Originally Posted by ittjv View Post
I found this thrust bearing. It's from JAAD Racing and is ceramic nitride. I couldn't find where to buy it on the net though.

http://www.jaadracing.com/
According to Ed (Tryhard) Clarks website Precision RC is the place to go http://www.precisionrc.com. However, I didn't see any reference to the thrust bearing.
peejay is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 01:23 AM
  #739  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tomie View Post
how many hits/races before you rebuild your diffs?

Mine lasted up to aprx 15 hits (5mins/race) 20 hits became a little to notchy.
depends..... I'm running a 3.5 brushless on asphalt with nitro foams.... 5 5min runs tops.... but I have put the JAAD carbon stickers on the pulley on this last rebuild and I've run 6 and it is still smooth!! let's see if I can make 12....
rampal is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 05:58 AM
  #740  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,676
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

what's the stock ride height in the manual? I tried to set my 05ms at stock settings. what's your ride height in stock setting? My 05ms front ride height is about 2mm and the rear is 5mm. i dont think its normal.
nikkiesteban is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 06:07 AM
  #741  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,372
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by peejay View Post
According to Ed (Tryhard) Clarks website Precision RC is the place to go http://www.precisionrc.com. However, I didn't see any reference to the thrust bearing.
That looks like a new product, so I wonder if precision have got hold of it yet.... maybe worth emailing them regarding the avaliability.

Regards
Ed
TryHard is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 08:15 AM
  #742  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (38)
 
Tomie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

depends..... I'm running a 3.5 brushless on asphalt with nitro foams.... 5 5min runs tops.... but I have put the JAAD carbon stickers on the pulley on this last rebuild and I've run 6 and it is still smooth!! let's see if I can make 12....
oh ok thanks Im running 13.5 and i thought it was to quick to rebuild a diff after 10-15 hits. Because I run my car 8-9 Times including practice (5mins run) in one race day. This is getting a little to expensive hehe
Tomie is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 08:41 AM
  #743  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nikkiesteban View Post
what's the stock ride height in the manual? I tried to set my 05ms at stock settings. what's your ride height in stock setting? My 05ms front ride height is about 2mm and the rear is 5mm. i dont think its normal.
I never see any mention to stock ride height on the manual... I run mine 5.5mm front 6mm rear...
rampal is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 08:46 AM
  #744  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tomie View Post
oh ok thanks Im running 13.5 and i thought it was to quick to rebuild a diff after 10-15 hits. Because I run my car 8-9 Times including practice (5mins run) in one race day. This is getting a little to expensive hehe
Last sunday we run the car 3 classification rounds and 3 finals. the diff is still ok with the diff cover. last time I've run without it, in the last final the diff felt gritty and not smooth... and Either you have 2 spare diffs, or you don't have time to rebuild it.... I hope I can run at least two race days plus some practice with the covers.... it all depends on how dirt is your track... hehehe
rampal is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 03:54 PM
  #745  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tomie View Post
oh ok thanks Im running 13.5 and i thought it was to quick to rebuild a diff after 10-15 hits. Because I run my car 8-9 Times including practice (5mins run) in one race day. This is getting a little to expensive hehe
what do you do exactly when you rebuild your diff? replace all the parts? i only replace the rings if BOTH sides of the diff rings have a groove already. if i do replace the diff rings, i replace the diff balls also.

for club racing when i rebuild a diff, i just clean everything, regrease, check the rings, (if worn, flip them over). and adjust it. thats it.

i'm not sure how that is making it expensive?
Hebiki is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 04:16 PM
  #746  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,563
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

the rings can be reused many times. I use 400 grit sandpaper to sand the groove off. I put the ring on the diff halve that doesn't have the protrusion on it, then use that as a holder to hold the ring in place as I move it in a circular motion on a piece of 400 grit sand paper on a flat surface. 600 works too. That also gives the diff balls more of a grippable surface so you don't have to tighten your diff as tightly. That puts less stress on your diff balls and thrust bearing.
DOTMAN is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 07:39 PM
  #747  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 129
Default

In the past, I always skipped this part, but this really helps with smooth diff action. Now Im a believer.

Originally Posted by DOTMAN View Post
the rings can be reused many times. I use 400 grit sandpaper to sand the groove off. I put the ring on the diff halve that doesn't have the protrusion on it, then use that as a holder to hold the ring in place as I move it in a circular motion on a piece of 400 grit sand paper on a flat surface. 600 works too. That also gives the diff balls more of a grippable surface so you don't have to tighten your diff as tightly. That puts less stress on your diff balls and thrust bearing.
slomo is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 12:01 AM
  #748  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (38)
 
Tomie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

what do you do exactly when you rebuild your diff? replace all the parts? i only replace the rings if BOTH sides of the diff rings have a groove already. if i do replace the diff rings, i replace the diff balls also.

for club racing when i rebuild a diff, i just clean everything, regrease, check the rings, (if worn, flip them over). and adjust it. thats it.

i'm not sure how that is making it expensive?
hehe Im just thinking all the other cost like tires and diff rebuild cost every wkend.
Tomie is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 12:49 AM
  #749  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tomie View Post
hehe Im just thinking all the other cost like tires and diff rebuild cost every wkend.
i only rebuild my diff id say after 20 runs? tires.. i run them "6" times in race conditions before they become practice tires. since ive limited myself to one car and brushless.. all my $$$ goes to tires now.

lipo will help also when i get back into that. im just waiting until my current nimh packs finally die on me.

can't wait for Sat. BCR! stock here i come. got lots of things to try with my 05MS.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 03:09 AM
  #750  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Xanavi_R34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: TAMIYA WORLD
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nikkiesteban View Post
what's the stock ride height in the manual? I tried to set my 05ms at stock settings. what's your ride height in stock setting? My 05ms front ride height is about 2mm and the rear is 5mm. i dont think its normal.
don't use the stock suspension setup... It is very low, as in too low... And yeah, the front is really higher than the rear if you're going to put it on stock manual setup... Always make your starting setup (or point) to 5.5mm rear and 5mm in front... Like what sir al said...
Xanavi_R34 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.