R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2007, 07:14 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default Victor Hi-IQ - motor break in?

Does anyone remember what the connections were to do a motor break-in on the old Victor Hi-IQ?

I used to race like 11 years ago and still have the old charger (which I just started using again) but I have since lost my instructions.

I have tried about every combination I can think of but I seem to remember that you actually had to hook a charged battery up... but again, I can't remember the configuration.

Is there anyone out there that has a better memory then I do?

Is this thing even worth keeping?
floydian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 10:04 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 1,364
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default Victor

Which version do you have?I have the Hi-IQ's,might be the same.Have to go look in the book tho.Might have the instructions for one of the earlier models.Will look in the am,going to bed now. And,yes,I think it's worth keeping. Mario.
lotus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 11:08 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

Hope this helps you.



http://www3.telus.net/super_iq/downloads.htm
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 08:38 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I guess I have the original Hi-IQ.

It is red if that helps.

I looked at the IQ3000 manaul and it simply says that I need to "connect the motor to the jacks designated as NiCd/Motor which is what I did. When I do so it tells me that I have an error and need to check the wiring.
floydian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 09:25 AM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 67
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I believe you are right with having to use a fully charged battery pack with the black face/red writing HI IQ Sr. The Super IQ upgraded that function so that the battery pack was not needed. I have to find and double check my old manual, but, if I'm not mistaken, you have connect a battery to the battery slots and a motor to the motor slots to conduct the motor run/break-in function. I can let you know for sure after I get home.
LJae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 09:48 AM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks... I can't believe after 11 years that I have lost my manual.

It still works so well... I have a hard time parting with it.

Is what I am reading correct... I can charge the new Nihm batteries if I tell the Hi-IQ that I am only charging one cell?

That would save me some cash if I can still use my old charger.
floydian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 10:51 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
jak43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, you can charge NiMh with the IQ. I use mine all of the time.

John
jak43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 11:40 AM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default

You are serious.? What settings do you use?
I have heard that you have to be VERY careful when charging NiMh batteries with a "non-compliant" charger.

I have the HI-IQ sr. and I don't know if that is good or bad.

How about the motor break-in... is it still applicable with today's technology or has the technology moved past the IQ break in process.

How about the motor testing... what am I looking for when I do it?
floydian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 11:57 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,859
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to brians11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by floydian
You are serious.? What settings do you use?
I have heard that you have to be VERY careful when charging NiMh batteries with a "non-compliant" charger.

I have the HI-IQ sr. and I don't know if that is good or bad.

How about the motor break-in... is it still applicable with today's technology or has the technology moved past the IQ break in process.

How about the motor testing... what am I looking for when I do it?

I think you have to hook up the "meter" leads as well...
__________________
Team Tekin | Superiorhobbies.com
brians11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 05:40 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

Here is a link to the Super IQ manual. Look at pages 29-32 (of the actual manual) http://s195302033.onlinehome.us/CX/Char/VicChar1.pdf

Does the HI-IQ Sr. have the Voltage Push option? If it does, you can use that to charge your Nihms. It set mine with a .030 drop
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 01:23 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
wothrottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 170
Default

with your hi-iq sr you can easily charge nimh using the "voltage pull" charge method.there you can adjust the delta peak cutoff like on any new charger.IMHO the only disadvantages of the old Hi-IQ sr against the newer victors is, the you canīt store charge profiles.

good luck.
wothrottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 06:07 AM   #12
Tech Initiate
 
jak43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by floydian
You are serious.? What settings do you use?
I have heard that you have to be VERY careful when charging NiMh batteries with a "non-compliant" charger.

I have the HI-IQ sr. and I don't know if that is good or bad.

How about the motor break-in... is it still applicable with today's technology or has the technology moved past the IQ break in process.

How about the motor testing... what am I looking for when I do it?
I set the number of cells to one and charge at 6 amps. It works fine. I've also got one that I put a new eprom chip in and that allowed you to change the voltage peak detect threshold. As for the motor break, I don't use it any more as I've gone to brushless motors.

Hope that's helpful.
jak43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 06:59 AM   #13
lee
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 216
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

There is someone on ebay offering to upgrade older victor's to the new IQ3000 spec. Just do a search for victor.
lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 12:42 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
wothrottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 170
Default

HI-IQ sr has "voltage pull" mode.no need to charge only one cell
wothrottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motor lathe/motor break in andy_b22 Electric On-Road 4 05-17-2006 06:29 PM
Do I need to break in my new motor? Captjono Electric On-Road 6 03-03-2005 06:25 AM
Motor Break DOES Higher AMP draw = better motor? Travis S Electric On-Road 13 02-12-2005 03:02 AM
tt-01 motor break-in ChuBBs Rookie Zone 8 04-27-2004 11:20 PM
Motor Break-in? TC3er Electric On-Road 7 03-15-2004 02:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:59 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net