Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Orion Vortex Brushless Motors >

Orion Vortex Brushless Motors

Orion Vortex Brushless Motors

Old 04-15-2007, 01:59 PM
  #31  
Tech Addict
 
Eirik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 627
Default

Originally Posted by RC MARKET
which turns ?
Hello Sir,

I used a 4.5t all weekend, more than enough power
Eirik is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 02:05 PM
  #32  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,287
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Eirik
Hello Sir,

I used a 4.5t all weekend, more than enough power
Ok Thanks !
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 08:21 PM
  #33  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Talking

Can someone please weigh the motor and report it here? thx...
yyhayyim is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 08:25 PM
  #34  
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Originally Posted by yyhayyim
Can someone please weigh the motor and report it here? thx...
Vortex 3.5 = 178g/6.25oz
Nexus Racing is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 08:28 PM
  #35  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (217)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,175
Trader Rating: 217 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nexus Racing
Vortex 3.5 = 178g/6.25oz
wow 9 grams less than the novak 3.5
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 05:48 AM
  #36  
Tech Regular
 
Ali Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 420
Default

Does anyone know who has the 3.5 version in stock, preferably in Europe? This is needed for Friday!!!!!!

Thanks
Ali Graham is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 05:59 AM
  #37  
Tech Addict
 
Eirik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 627
Default

Originally Posted by Ali Graham
Does anyone know who has the 3.5 version in stock, preferably in Europe? This is needed for Friday!!!!!!

Thanks
Tower Hobbies have them in stock, not Europe, but shipping is fast....
Eirik is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 06:05 AM
  #38  
Tech Regular
 
Ali Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 420
Default

Eirik, thanks!
Ali Graham is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 06:07 AM
  #39  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 9
Default

Originally Posted by Ali Graham
Does anyone know who has the 3.5 version in stock, preferably in Europe? This is needed for Friday!!!!!!

Thanks

I think your going to struggle, I've been trying to source a 4.5 for over a week without much look. It also shows no stock for any Vortex motor on the UK dist web site.

If you find a source let me know

Cheers
y0k0 is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 08:05 AM
  #40  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Can someone from Orion comment on the sensor wire issue? What was the thinking and why not at least offer one to supplement the motor even if it is a different SKU? Someone said their sphere came with the wires but mine didnt. Perhaps that is a new thing for them. Novak certainly doesnt offer the wires aftermarket as they are connected to their motors. Sounds like an oops by Orion.
or8ital is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 08:50 AM
  #41  
Tech Master
iTrader: (37)
 
DirtyDog3375's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queenslander
Posts: 1,977
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by or8ital
Can someone from Orion comment on the sensor wire issue? What was the thinking and why not at least offer one to supplement the motor even if it is a different SKU? Someone said their sphere came with the wires but mine didnt. Perhaps that is a new thing for them. Novak certainly doesnt offer the wires aftermarket as they are connected to their motors. Sounds like an oops by Orion.
The Orion Vortex motors DO NOT come with the sensor cable.

The LRP/Nosram B/L motors DO come with the sensor cable.

The LRP/Nosram B/L ESC (2007 Sphere Comp and TC Spec) DO NOT come with the sensor cable.


Hope this helps.

Leonard.
DirtyDog3375 is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 09:23 AM
  #42  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,004
Default

Originally Posted by or8ital
Can someone from Orion comment on the sensor wire issue? What was the thinking and why not at least offer one to supplement the motor even if it is a different SKU? Someone said their sphere came with the wires but mine didnt. Perhaps that is a new thing for them. Novak certainly doesnt offer the wires aftermarket as they are connected to their motors. Sounds like an oops by Orion.
Team Orion does offer three optional sensor cable lengths. The information has just not been posted yet. Please see the Team Orion website for details to be posted shortly.

We decided to not offer the cables with the motors for a couple of reasons. The first is that the motor can be used as a sensorless motor and our research shows that this is how the majority of user (non-racers) will use it. Also, many users will already have sensor wires in their desired length. And sensor wires are readily available through other manufaturers as well as Team Orion.

The last reason is that we have to include the very longest length to be sure it fits in every car (or complaints about too short a wire) and many will opt to buy a shorter length for their desired appplication anyway.

But we are looking into including wires beginning with the next shipment.
Rick Hohwart is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 10:18 AM
  #43  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (20)
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Default

Rick is there any info on when the 13.5 and 10.5 brushless motors will be available ? And what brushless speedo would you recommend to use with the orion/peak brushless motors
wallstreet is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 10:29 AM
  #44  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,004
Default

Originally Posted by wallstreet
Rick is there any info on when the 13.5 and 10.5 brushless motors will be available ? And what brushless speedo would you recommend to use with the orion/peak brushless motors
The 13.5 is a couple of months off. I have to check again on the 10.5 as we were supposed to receive these in our first shipment of BL motors. Why they did not arrive is a mystery to me but something Teak Orion Europe can answer for me.

I have personally used both the Novak GTB and LRP Sphere and I think both work very well. My best advice is to use the brand you feel most comfortable with based on your brushed motor experience as well as your feelings about either's customer service. You can't go wrong either way.
Rick Hohwart is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 11:06 AM
  #45  
Tech Regular
 
AlanLim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 316
Default

Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
But we are looking into including wires beginning with the next shipment.
AlanLim is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.