R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2003, 04:10 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Unhappy Futaba Megatech 3pk and Futaba magnum 3pk!!!

I have a problem.. what is the difference between Futaba magnum 3pk and Futaba megatech 3pk?? anyone please
maxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2003, 08:16 AM   #2
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

They are the same radio.

The Magnum is the U.S. name, and Megatech is the name used in Japan. There really is not difference in the radio itself, but the Megatech version usually comes with the 40mhz module, for use in Japan.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2003, 08:30 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
eeyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 3,944
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to eeyan Send a message via Yahoo to eeyan
Default

If you are concerned about warranty policies, I heard Futaba USA won't service Megatech units. This is one of the main reasons why I decided to buy the Magnum unit instead (costs a little more but warranty is easier to deal with "just in case..."). My friend bought a Megatech and we noticed that the batteries are also different. His actually didn't come with a battery, only a tray to use single cells. Mine(Magnum) came with no tray at all but with a Sanyo/Futaba ni-cd pack installed already. I think the pack makes up a little in the difference in price... Megatech=around $250, Magnum=around $300

Ian A.
__________________
TAOB Racing Team (1999 - 2011)
eeyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2003, 11:12 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
KenSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Aledo, TX
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KenSmith Send a message via Yahoo to KenSmith
Default

minor clarification:
Megatech comes with 27, 40, or 75Mhz tx module
Magnum comes with 27, or 75Mhz tx module

Megatech comes with battery tray
Magnum comes with nicds and slow charger

FutabaUSA (greatplanes) will honor the warrentee for the Magnum version only, but will service both versions (Megatech for a fee....even under warrentee period).

thats my understanding, and thats why I got a Magnum.

KenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 11:56 AM   #5
mo
Tech Master
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,359
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried to use a Hitec Spectra Module in this radio yet? I heard it worked in the old Magnum 3P.
__________________
TLR, Spektrum, Tekin, SMC, MO-GRIP, www.factory-rc.com https://www.shapeways.com/shops/MPP
mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 12:22 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
KenSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Aledo, TX
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KenSmith Send a message via Yahoo to KenSmith
Default yes to spectra

I just got my 3pk today, and will confirm operation with Spectra unit this week. I have heard from 2 people that they are successfully using the Spectra unit in their 3pk's (but I need to see it for myself before I sell my 3pjs). I have used the Spectra in my 3pjs for about a year and a half with no trouble. I also use with novak XXTra receivers for a crystaless setup.
Ken
KenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 12:44 PM   #7
mo
Tech Master
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,359
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Ken, look forward to the results. I'm trying to decide if I want to get a 3PK or not.
__________________
TLR, Spektrum, Tekin, SMC, MO-GRIP, www.factory-rc.com https://www.shapeways.com/shops/MPP
mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2003, 10:01 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 194
Default

Ken:

Hi,

As for using the Spectra module in your 3PK. it does work well I have been using one since I first got my 3PK. about the only thing I noticed was it seems to be very senitive to battery voltage of the radio. I went to dry cells shortly after getting the radio and change them out around 9.9 volts. I also use the XXtra Rx with no trouble at all.

Thanks

Fakk2
Fakk2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2003, 03:46 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
KenSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Aledo, TX
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KenSmith Send a message via Yahoo to KenSmith
Talking spectra and 3pk...works for me!

I finally tested my Spectra module (75mhz) with my 3PK last night. Everything worked like a charm on HRS (and digital servo) and in PPM mode (with analog servo). No glitching or anything out of the ordinary. I have been successfully using it with my 3pjs for over a year and a half.
Gotta love the crystaless mode (with XXtra receiver), but I agree that I am tempted to drill 2 holes in side for easy access to frequency dials. I agree that those slots on top must be for upcoming crystaless module from Futaba (or Novak)....for now I will remove when need to dial in a new frequency.

Love the new setup!!
Ken
KenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba Megatech 2PL ImSkitzoAndSoAmI Australia For Sale/Trade 7 11-10-2006 08:59 AM
Megatech / Futaba 3PK + Futaba Spektrum. Artificial-I R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 09-12-2005 09:01 AM
Futaba 3PK (Megatech) Paul_TC4 Electric On-Road 6 04-17-2005 07:48 AM
Futaba Megatech wild gopher Nitro On-Road 7 03-25-2004 05:53 PM
Futaba Megatech 3PK mo Electric On-Road 5 08-22-2002 03:14 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:22 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net