R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2007, 04:59 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to coons88
Default V2 OJ brush snagging issue

Does anyone else have the issue of snagging brushes in their OJ V2?
After about 4 runs on a set of new brushes, the brushes basically just get stuck in the brush hoods, and the motor will start to loose power as the brush wears untill eventually the motor will just cut out because the brush no longer makes contact with the comm.
From memory the positive terminal is worse then the negative, so I put on a Reinhard spring on the +, but it didn't help. But it does it on both terminals, and has done since new.
New brushes are better, but they still arnt smooth like they should be.

I have tried various methods of cleaning the terminals with ear buds, but it's clean as a whistle in there. I have tried to gently sand the inside of the terminal, it helped, but not enough.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Associated TC6.1 | Hobbywing V3 | LRP X12 | Spektrum | Futaba | Reedy
coons88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 07:29 AM   #2
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

It wasn't a OJ-V2 But I had a mod Kyosho and the after market brushes were to tight so I gently ran them over a flat metal file until they didn't get hung any more. That is I ran each brush over the file to kinda file them down just a touch.
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 07:35 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: IOWA
Posts: 89
Default

Correct me if I am wrong but the V2 has round brushes right? If so I have a brand new team Brood motor with the round brushes. I got about three runs and had the same problem so I installed the extra set that came with the motor and the motor did the same thing and has never run again. Now it is a paper weight in my pit box.
jackh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 07:48 AM   #4
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackh
Correct me if I am wrong but the V2 has round brushes right? If so I have a brand new team Brood motor with the round brushes. I got about three runs and had the same problem so I installed the extra set that came with the motor and the motor did the same thing and has never run again. Now it is a paper weight in my pit box.
I'm not sure of the motor? That changes the scenario.
But I would guess if the brush fits to tight maybe if he flattens an edge on part of it, it might free it up?
Buy even flattening 3 sides just slightly would put enough air gap in there for it to move freely?
Heck you might be able to retire that paper weight and get some better use of it.
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 07:53 AM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 41
Default

if im not mistaken the v2 OJ has a smaller brush diameter because the brush hoods are smaller in diameter too compared to an ordinary v2 mod
oversquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 07:58 AM   #6
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like we are going to need pics?
Its sounds like there are some burrs in the tube where the brush comes out of the brush sleeve. If there not flanged when they cut the tube there could be a burr? I would look in the hood to see see if the tube is flanged and if not get some thing round and try to flange the sleeve on the inside of the hood.
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 09:08 AM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Wirre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 51
Default

Actually it looks round, but I've found that the brushes are a little oval. That's why it is so important that you insert them in the perfect angle, else they will get stuck in the hood or possibly break.

I figured this out after breaking 2 brushes ;-). The explanation was quite obvious once I figured it out. So just be really careful when inserting the brushes and you'll be fine.

Good luck!
__________________
Kyosho Ultima RB-5 SP
Kyosho Ultima RT-5
Kyosho Lazer ZX-5 FS
Orion Vortex Motors and ESC
Wirre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 09:55 AM   #8
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

That would make sense. That way the brush will keep a consistent angle with out spinning.

Cancel the pics.
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 10:56 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
John Doucakis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,108
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Make sure the brush tubes are clean.

You really shouldn't have any problems.
The V2 design in its latest OJ version is very reliable and performs extremely well.

Just make sure everthing is clean after each run. Spend a few minutes to take the brushes out and clean the tubes.
Do not file them in order to change the diameter of the brushes.. they are a very close fit inside the tube to produce maximum contact as most of the current passes through the brush tubes to the brushes. This way performance increases.

If you do notice that regardless of how clean the brush tubes are, the brush continues to bind, then use some polishing cream round the brush, not the tube, just to make it a bit smoother and then it should slide inside the tube with ease.
John Doucakis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 11:21 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,300
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

It could also be how you are soldering the pigtail to the motor...

Make sure you leave enough "play" in the pigtail to allow the brush to move freely without getting caught on anything.
duckman996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 11:33 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Switch Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The British Invasion
Posts: 1,078
Send a message via AIM to Switch Blade
Default

Ive noticed something very strange with my V2's. On both V2's that ive owned, bot of the brush tubes have bent at the end where the brushes contact the comm. I could never think of why this would happen.
__________________
College
Switch Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 11:38 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

Probably a sticky brush. its when you get gunk (dust or dirt) in the brushes which clogs them. You need to move the brush up and down to loosen the rubbish and spring
thecrow2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 02:40 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
ShrekNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Switch Blade
Ive noticed something very strange with my V2's. On both V2's that ive owned, bot of the brush tubes have bent at the end where the brushes contact the comm. I could never think of why this would happen.
We had exactly the same problem with a V2 in a 1/12th it had a few knocks and moved out the endbell bearing and the arm rubbed against the brush hoods burring the ends and fouling the brush.

Coons were you having the problem at AMAC maybe it was the carpet dust as Matt was having the same problem in his 12th but it settled down later in the night.
ShrekNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 04:35 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to coons88
Default

It happens everywhere, doesn't matter what surface I run on.
I like the idea of using some polish cream. I will take it apart and clean it again and try that.
__________________
Associated TC6.1 | Hobbywing V3 | LRP X12 | Spektrum | Futaba | Reedy
coons88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 05:36 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 355
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Jan Larsen
Default

No, this does not happen everywhere. The new 3,8 mm brushes can hang up and break on random motors. We first saw it at the DHI cup where Oscar had to hand-drill/polish the tubes on tons of sealed 19T Element motors competitors had bought at the race and were not allowed to open up (the new ones with the Oscar endbell). Almost noone uses it here anymore because of that...only the old version (which was quicker anyway).
Jan Larsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trinity Tru Lathe 3 with Diamond bit/Trinity Brush Station/ Putnam brush driller Brian Anthony R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 05-28-2008 08:01 AM
Brush slotter, GT7, Pulsar 2, Comm drops, and Fussy brush serrator and shaper bigdog xxx-s R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 09-15-2007 07:44 AM
NOVAK New XBR Sport Brush/Brush Speed Control rcforum Electric On-Road 42 09-03-2007 12:45 PM
RC4115 Brush Factory 2 Brush Factory 2 the black one mint shape jason cheng R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 12-11-2004 02:27 PM
Brush issue, anyone help? Cain Electric On-Road 11 04-22-2004 07:59 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:39 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net