Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
12v power supply...DIY? >

12v power supply...DIY?

12v power supply...DIY?

Old 04-05-2007, 05:04 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 121
Default 12v power supply...DIY?

i was looking at power supplies...and they are pretty expensive...then i looked into DIY power supplies...pretty easy to make...just need to get all the right stuff!...then i found out they only provide 1-3amps...then i looked more into it...and found a 34amp 12v power supply...its made from those computer power supplies!
here are 2 pix





pretty neat ehh?
topekoms is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 05:54 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default

Link with instructions?
Frank McKinney is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 06:34 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 121
Default

i just made my own...it pushes out 29A
topekoms is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 06:39 AM
  #4  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Default

http://www.wikihow.com/Convert-a-Com...b-Power-Supply
ROOKIE2 is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 04:41 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (72)
 
Sigearhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 1,942
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

topekoms:

I just tried to make my own and I think I blew it up.
Mine looks just like the one you see in the picture there. I think the directions on that site don't particularly work for that specific PW. Can you tell me how you wired yours?
Thanks
Sigearhead is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 05:21 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Johnathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas!
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i turned a 350w supply, to just use 12, 12amps. i didnt know you could get 30 amps out of it! can you? would connecting the red to the blue ( with a load in between, of course) give you the 30 amps? thanks.
Johnathan is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 05:33 PM
  #7  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 51
Default

topekoms, show us how its done.
highflyer is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 07:02 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,912
Default

Just in case any of it helps;



Some PSU's require a load on some of the voltage lines to make the DC output smooth and within tolerance.

Skiddins
Attached Thumbnails 12v power supply...DIY?-extended%2520atx%2520connector.jpg   12v power supply...DIY?-atx%2520connector%2520wiring.jpg   12v power supply...DIY?-atx%2520connector.jpg  
Attached Images  
Skiddins is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 07:03 PM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Johnathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas!
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

here is my supply, it supplies 12volts at 12 amps, and only requires removing of wires, and connecting the green wire to ground. i did this myself, without any online help.

Johnathan is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 07:07 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
KHoff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by topekoms
i was looking at power supplies...and they are pretty expensive...then i looked into DIY power supplies...pretty easy to make...just need to get all the right stuff!...then i found out they only provide 1-3amps...then i looked more into it...and found a 34amp 12v power supply...its made from those computer power supplies!
here are 2 pix





pretty neat ehh?

I bought one of that guys power supplies and he does great work for a great price I would definatly buy from him again
KHoff7 is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 07:46 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tony gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,536
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Be warned guys.... Those sort of modded PC Power Supplies are banned from use here in Aus. They rarely meet the appropriate electrical standards and are prone to going bang....
I know its tempting because they're so cheap, but they're rather dangerous. Anyone here turns up with one they get sent home.
tony gray is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 08:44 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tony gray
Be warned guys.... Those sort of modded PC Power Supplies are banned from use here in Aus. They rarely meet the appropriate electrical standards and are prone to going bang....
I know its tempting because they're so cheap, but they're rather dangerous. Anyone here turns up with one they get sent home.
I think they may only be banned in some states - there are certainly a few guys in QLD that use them without problems. My original one, built in Aug 2004, is still running strong - never had any trouble.

I think the main problem with attempting these conversions is people over-estimating their abilities - I have said it many times - You should not attempt to modify a PC power supply unless you have the appropriate skills and knowledge.

But overall it is similar to many other types of possibly dangerous machinery or equipment - if you fail to heed the warnings about the dangers then you only have yourself to blame when everything goes wrong.
bender is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 02:24 AM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
 
Tpg racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 977
Default

Originally Posted by tony gray
Be warned guys.... Those sort of modded PC Power Supplies are banned from use here in Aus. They rarely meet the appropriate electrical standards and are prone to going bang....
I know its tempting because they're so cheap, but they're rather dangerous. Anyone here turns up with one they get sent home.

Yes its true that some of these power supplies rarely meet the electrical standards but not all of them.......mostly those cheap power supplies that are made in China are the dangerous ones......

And those numbers on the power supply such as the Wattage rating should not be taken seriously......as long as you dont overload them to the near limit, then the power supply would be just fine.....
Tpg racer is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.