Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
mamba max VS. novak gtb >

mamba max VS. novak gtb

mamba max VS. novak gtb

Old 03-19-2007, 09:26 AM
Tech Initiate

Default mamba max VS. novak gtb

Which system is easier to tune? I am new to the R/C and I like to go bushless now that my rtr tc4 speed controller has gone bad. I have done searches and thought for a weekend basher, drifter and wanting to start in test nights at the local touring car track. Which system will work good for the type of hobbiest I am. A local shop said to go mamba max but if I was a novak fan to go with the gtb/velocity because of better tuning for brake and thermo and the gtb allows for brush motors if I decide to compete a sactioned race. the same person also said that mamba our outselling the novak due to easier to understand software?

Right now my main goal is drive time and chassis tuning. Which system would be the better investment?
Old 03-19-2007, 09:53 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

No offense to your local shop, but they seem fairly clueless on brushless systems.

The mamba max is a nifty system with very cool software.

The novak is also a very good system....

However, if you want to race, the novak is the only choice, as their system is legal (motor wise) and the mamba motors are not. You can only use the Novak in modified at most places, though some tracks have stock and 19t classes using the novak brushless versions.....I have yet to hear about a mamba spec class anywhere.