R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 08-22-2001, 02:45 PM   #1
Tech Adept

Send a message via AIM to porkybmx
Default 3000 SMH Questions!

Hey guys I need to know how to take care and what discharge cycles and stuff they need. I'm new to NiMh so help me out guys
porkybmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 09:05 PM   #2
Tech Master

Send a message via AIM to AE_Racer

I was told to charge at 4A and then it was fine to discharge at 30A(I have a Indi Reactor 30). Ive yet to run mine..
AE_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2001, 07:51 AM   #3
dtm
Tech Champion

Send a message via ICQ to dtm

I use 4.5A to charge at 0.03v delta peak, for SMH. I use a Trinty RT2 discharge tray to equalise the batteries before charge (take it down until the lights just go out).

Normally do not run the packs more than twice in the same day. After the final run, put about 800-1000mah charge back into the packs.

For the following usage I will discharge the 800-1000mah and equalise before the charge... and so on.

I know a lot of people who leave their packs discharged (or even dead shorted) during storage.

I don't know which is right and which is wrong, but I have been using the same method on my 6 SMH packs for a few months now and my Protrak charger tells me that there is no significant deterioration in my packs (and so does my throttle finger!)... so it works for me!!!!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2001, 07:56 AM   #4
dtm
Tech Champion

Send a message via ICQ to dtm

I also found that during the first 6-10 cycles with SMH, the average discharge voltages increased! After around 10 cycles, the voltage figures stop increasing but remain high!

Read in other forums that this is normal for SMH... so beware, don't be fooled into believing that what you are doing for storage is actually improving the performance of the SMH! The cells naturally improve to a point.. which is GOOD!