R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2007, 08:35 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nikkiesteban
Default how to identify futaba AM rx

guys i have two RX from futaba. 1x 27mhz and 1x 29mhz both AM's.
and i removed them from their respective cases and after cleaning i dont remember what is the 29 rx and 27 rx.. can u help me please. can i identify the rx of 27mhz by looking into the chip in the RX. it has code like FP8196R............ i wud like to ask favor can you take a look inside your RX AM 27mhz and see if what code is written.. please..
nikkiesteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 11:18 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ROAR HAD ME BANNED FROM RC TECH.
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I had a 27mhz in the garage and FP8196R is written on the chip .. but that doesn't mean everything since FP8196R is just the chip # and could be used between bands .. easiest thing to try would be to put a crystal in it, hooked it up and see if it works. Takes just a second.
Desolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 07:28 AM   #3
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkiesteban
and i removed them from their respective cases and after cleaning i dont remember what is the 29 rx and 27 rx.. ..
what colour is your antenna wire? (assuming they're original, not changed)

All my RJ112s have got PURPLE wire for the 29s.

The 27s I think are black wire, white for the 40 or 75 I think.
__________________
--------------------
www.PandaGFX.com
--------------------
www.MelbRC.org
----------------
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 07:30 AM   #4
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desolas
.. easiest thing to try would be to put a crystal in it, hooked it up and see if it works. Takes just a second.
nup, a 29 RX will still work with a 27 xtal... at close range.

You'll need to range test it, say separate TX & RX by 100m or more.
Only there will the wrong band show up enough detuning to stop working.
__________________
--------------------
www.PandaGFX.com
--------------------
www.MelbRC.org
----------------
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 06:23 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nikkiesteban
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WC
what colour is your antenna wire? (assuming they're original, not changed)

All my RJ112s have got PURPLE wire for the 29s.

The 27s I think are black wire, white for the 40 or 75 I think.
i rewired them so i really cant tell.. if i take a look at the other side of the PCB it has a number written in it. like number 2 and the other rx is number 3. can u take a look at your AM rx and see if its number to or 3. thanks
nikkiesteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 08:55 AM   #6
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

I think the PCB & major chip on the board is identical between the RJ112s.

Some yrs back I had an elec engie look at these boards
trying to see if it was worth/possible to change their bands.
We were checking out 27, 29 & 75MHz from memory.
Difference between bands were only some of the "chokes"
(capacitors?) from memory, everything else on the board
is the same. But these components were not easily (retail)
available so it was a moot point anyways.

If you've changed their antennas, then rangetest is the best way to check.

When I rewire my RXes, I stick to purple for 29MHz etc etc.
__________________
--------------------
www.PandaGFX.com
--------------------
www.MelbRC.org
----------------
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAN SOMEONE PLEASE IDENTIFY THIS.... CCH1978 Electric On-Road 10 08-13-2008 09:41 AM
Can someone identify this? aERonAUtical96 Electric On-Road 19 04-17-2008 11:09 AM
Can anyone Identify these? TStorm Nitro Off-Road 5 03-04-2008 05:25 AM
Help me identify this F-1 Car Matman03 Electric On-Road 14 05-02-2005 12:42 PM
Can anyone Identify This old ESC? PLS! Blackwrench™ Electric On-Road 22 06-23-2004 05:34 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:12 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net