R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2007, 04:59 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default Twister Lathe

I got a carbide bit for my twister lathe. For the first 2 cuts it was great but now, when the bit touches it sounds very harsh and squeaky, also it seems to cut across, then on the passover it takes no extra comm, on the final pass it takes extra off. Whats the problem?
thecrow2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 01:22 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
prhess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 33
Default

Here are the instructions...they help with set up.

http://www3.telus.net/public/rhess/D...er%20lathe.pdf
prhess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 02:42 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Mike Ellis's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Aloha,Oregon
Posts: 1,535
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Curtis Tool will still make diamond bits for the Twister also. They have a web site and nice to deal with.
Mike Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 02:47 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: E-Town Posse
Posts: 1,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

best lathe out had mine for ten years same bit still cutting great
__________________
Team Associated, Reedy, Tekin, Futaba, Putnam, Protoform, BSR, SXT, Reflex Racing, McPappy Racing, TQ Wire, Swifty Designs
Jeff Cuffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 02:54 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

Good lathe it is. Ive upped the voltage from 4.2v to 4.8v and it cuts better but still not great, think the bit got wore very quick and I dont know how to file it.
Still cuts okay though just leaves feint stripes.
thecrow2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 05:38 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
yeaklet4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,631
Trader Rating: 34 (97%+)
Default

a lot of your problem is your volts i would not go higher than 2volts
yeaklet4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 08:45 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: E-Town Posse
Posts: 1,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

get the diamond bit and u will be fine
__________________
Team Associated, Reedy, Tekin, Futaba, Putnam, Protoform, BSR, SXT, Reflex Racing, McPappy Racing, TQ Wire, Swifty Designs
Jeff Cuffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 06:54 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

Actually 4.8 volts should be fine,check your bit height it may be too high and I always use a diamond bit,as far as cut quality it doesn't matter but for longevity reasons it matters.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twister Lathe floodo1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 06-29-2006 02:19 PM
Twister Mod Lathe F/S HVFracingwilly R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 03-28-2006 05:16 AM
Help with my Twister Lathe tr6_guy Electric On-Road 12 01-22-2005 08:09 AM
Twister Lathe And New LRP ESC birdy233 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 10-15-2004 09:16 AM
WTB Twister lathe. Grant R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 03-02-2004 02:52 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:33 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net