cyclone gearing?

Reply

Old 03-07-2007, 06:01 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default cyclone gearing?

hi all, im new here and to the onroad racing scene... im not a newb to onroad cars just havent ever had a top of the line car, i had a xxx s sport and screwed around at the track and im hooked lol, so

im buying a cyclone moore speed edition, i frove a few at my local track and its waaay better then any tc4 or whatever i have driven, but i have a few ???'s

first, how would i gear this guy? im buying off of tower hobbies so it would be better to but from there.. but im going to race in stock for now, im going to use a trinity co27 motor (unless theres a bettter 27 turn).. my track is more turns, so can u guys give me a estimate on the pinion? id guess but i know that i can only go so small till it wont mesh close enuff.. i dont want to buy a new spur, so if i can use the stock 100 tooth that would be sweet

thanks!

EDIT, im racing on a out door smooth track, with rubber tires
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 06:53 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,867
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

gear it at about 100/39 and see how it goes.
protc3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 07:04 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

thanks bro!!!

would u say thats more geared up or down? id rather buy 5 pinions and have it right vrs waiting for pinions to get shipped or whatever lol
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 07:16 PM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,867
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

for stock i would buy 37-42.
protc3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 07:23 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

is that all? im going to run 3300 gps, matched and zapped.... im going to just screw around for a lil while till i know the car and know all the tuning stuff lol

but is there any more pinions u would buy? and how would u say thats gearing??? middle to high, or low to middle etc???

thanks a million for the help man
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 03:13 AM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,867
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

that pretty much covers a stock motor for tight to large tracks for stock motors.if you go 19 turn and mod you may need more but not for stock
protc3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 08:25 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

alright... what set up would u start with with a track like this? rubber tires... would i use spools, or a one way and spool or what would u say i started with?

heres a link to some pics of the track

http://www.speedworldraceway.com/Track_Photos.cfm
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 09:56 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
 
dstyles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 286
Default

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=63658
dstyles is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 11:50 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

im on page 118 on that thread.. yes im reading it all lol
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 02:35 PM
  #10  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,867
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

sweet ass track bro.definately a spool
protc3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 04:47 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

so front spool, and locked pully, or one way???? im probably going to do the locked one.. i havent dont much with one ways and all.. so im going to try them all tho and yeh its sweet, i went there and got to see all the pros for the big race a few years ago it was cool lol.. im shure u guys have seen all them but for me it was sick
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service