R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2007, 05:09 PM   #1
TEM
Tech Regular
 
TEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 253
Default 3S lipo radio safe? have you tried it?

Has anyone out there put a 3S (3 cell series) lipo in their radio? Do you add anything in between or is the voltage (over 12v when charged) safe for the radio? The voltage meter never went past mid 11's with 8C nicad. What are they rated for?
TEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 05:20 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

I'm using them in 4 Spektrums with no issues and no regulator or anything. If you used 8 Alkaline batteries you'd hit around 12V anyway. I did ask the question before I risked it too but no problems.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 06:58 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've used a Thunder Power 3s1320 lipo in my transmitters for the last year. It works fine. The benefits are no self discharge and lighter weight. The big downside is that if you leave the TX on, or it gets turned on in transportation, the battery is garbage (expensive garbage). I connect it in the battery tray area with a Deans Micro, and unplug the battery during transportation.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 07:07 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rampal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEM
Has anyone out there put a 3S (3 cell series) lipo in their radio? Do you add anything in between or is the voltage (over 12v when charged) safe for the radio? The voltage meter never went past mid 11's with 8C nicad. What are they rated for?
I have a 3000mah lipo from LRP on my M11, and it is absolutely amazing... It has been on for 10 hours and still well above 10v.... the only caution I always follow with Lipo is to chage them outside the radio and directly from the charger, not passing through the radio.

al
__________________
The Blue Armada: Tamiya TRF415MSXX, Tamiya TA05MS, Tamiya/Xenon TA05
Novak Brushless, Orion/Peak LiPo batteries, 5-cell
Sanwa M11 DSSS, KO Propo Servos
rampal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 10:44 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
MrBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OC
Posts: 746
Default

u have using our Avionics 3S lipos in my radio for over a year now and it has worked flawless I re-peak it up every couple of weeks to get max signal strength.

ORI60005 SLPB 1250mAh 11.1v, 3S-1P

http://www.teamorion-avionics.com/Ba...Li-Po/1250mAh+

larger capacities can be used depending on radio.
__________________
TEAM ORION - AVIONICS - KYOSHO - KO PROPO - PEAK

"Racing is about the journey not the destination if it wasn't it would simply be called Arriving"

"The solution is people need to spend more of their efforts on promoting and finding more people to race with, rather then a personal quest to form a class that they can win at."
MrBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 10:57 AM   #6
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBlack
u have using our Avionics 3S lipos in my radio for over a year now and it has worked flawless I re-peak it up every couple of weeks to get max signal strength.

ORI60005 SLPB 1250mAh 11.1v, 3S-1P

http://www.teamorion-avionics.com/Ba...Li-Po/1250mAh+

larger capacities can be used depending on radio.
Wow, that's cool. I've been trying to find a decent LiPo for my 3PK for a while, and they're all so hard to find, or expensive.

Anybody know where to get an extra connector that the Futaba radios use for their battery?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 10:59 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
MrBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OC
Posts: 746
Default

I took a servo extension cable and hacked the plug if you canlt find a plug in stores.
__________________
TEAM ORION - AVIONICS - KYOSHO - KO PROPO - PEAK

"Racing is about the journey not the destination if it wasn't it would simply be called Arriving"

"The solution is people need to spend more of their efforts on promoting and finding more people to race with, rather then a personal quest to form a class that they can win at."
MrBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 11:01 AM   #8
TEM
Tech Regular
 
TEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 253
Default

I got a few kokam 3s1p 640mah I can parallel together; 2 of them would make 1280 which should be enough. I just found out last night they are too thick!; gonna have to cut the shrink and re-stack them to fit!.... Thanks everyone!
TEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 11:12 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Carl Giordano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Upper Saddle RIver, NJ
Posts: 2,309
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamge
I've used a Thunder Power 3s1320 lipo in my transmitters for the last year. It works fine. The benefits are no self discharge and lighter weight. The big downside is that if you leave the TX on, or it gets turned on in transportation, the battery is garbage (expensive garbage). I connect it in the battery tray area with a Deans Micro, and unplug the battery during transportation.
same happened to me this past weekend. 2200mah 3s pack down the drain...been using the same 3s pack for over 3 years. its an pack used for electric flight, used it in my KO Mars R then switched it to the Helios.

When not in use, I'm going to disconnect the plug from the radio to the TX pack.
__________________
Mugen Racing / OS Engines / KO Propo / Byron Fuels / Schuur Speed Motors / AKA / Bruckner Hobbies / Tamiya M-Chassis / Kyosho / Yokomo / 360v2 Raceway / Cruzin with RC
Carl Giordano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 11:29 AM   #10
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I've gotten into the habit of putting my LiPo batteries in a Liposack for storage during the week. I guess I could add the extra step of doing the same with my transmitter pack.

MrBlack,

At what voltage would you want to pull that pack from your radio and charge it to ensure you don't discharge it too far?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 11:46 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

So I can wire up just about any 11.1V Lipo in my 3PK as long as it will fit in the battery compartment?
__________________
Michael H

OnRoadColorado.com
Colorado On Road RC Club
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 11:46 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rampal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me
MrBlack,

At what voltage would you want to pull that pack from your radio and charge it to ensure you don't discharge it too far?
sorry to hijack MrBlack, but I usually use the 3.3V rule to be on the safe side.... 3S = 9.9v.... the radio has a 9V alarm, so still on the safe side....

....that's why I mention 10v on my first post....
__________________
The Blue Armada: Tamiya TRF415MSXX, Tamiya TA05MS, Tamiya/Xenon TA05
Novak Brushless, Orion/Peak LiPo batteries, 5-cell
Sanwa M11 DSSS, KO Propo Servos
rampal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 11:50 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rampal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlamMan
So I can wire up just about any 11.1V Lipo in my 3PK as long as it will fit in the battery compartment?
yes... radio energy consumption are on the lower side... any 5C 11.1v pack can do the trick.... for emergencies I also have a 11.1v 1050mah GWS pack and it work perfectly....
__________________
The Blue Armada: Tamiya TRF415MSXX, Tamiya TA05MS, Tamiya/Xenon TA05
Novak Brushless, Orion/Peak LiPo batteries, 5-cell
Sanwa M11 DSSS, KO Propo Servos
rampal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 12:40 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I use a 2.5Ah lipo in my 3PK. I had it on for 16 hours continuously and the battery still provided good voltage.

You can get a low voltage cutoff for about $6 to prevent an overdischarge condition. I have something similar on mine.
http://www.batteryspace.com/index.as...OD&ProdID=2776
__________________
I used to be a spitter, now I'm a swallower. I graduated.
linger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 12:55 PM   #15
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linger
I use a 2.5Ah lipo in my 3PK. I had it on for 16 hours continuously and the battery still provided good voltage.

You can get a low voltage cutoff for about $6 to prevent an overdischarge condition. I have something similar on mine.
http://www.batteryspace.com/index.as...OD&ProdID=2776
Do you have a source for the battery that you used, or is it something you assembled on your own?

I was hoping to just get the VXR pack since it apparently includes a nice foam holster, but they have disappeared from the planet entirely.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HAKKO ESD Safe Soldering Station and ORION Advantage Carbon LiPo Charger. SWEET!! Ron Meloni R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 09-12-2008 12:08 PM
temporary AM radio setup for 1/8 nitro buggy......will I be safe?? pwnzor Radio and Electronics 5 07-06-2008 12:55 AM
temporary AM radio for 1/8 nitro buggy....will i be safe?? pwnzor Nitro Off-Road 49 06-30-2008 10:25 PM
futaba 3pm -fm radio with 2 recivers and venom fail safe for sale 95 $hiped milk R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 01-14-2008 07:02 AM
Ofna micro fail safe, jr z650m 650 servo, and rtr ofna radio set cappa R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 02-03-2005 11:35 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:50 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net