R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2007, 07:28 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,489
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Valentin.H
Default how to make 3 prong deans to easily switch Brushless to brush?

just wondering...anyone know how to achieve this?



__________________
-valentin
www.csjunkies.com
Valentin.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 07:31 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I use these plugs (you can solder the plug right to the ESC). It works well

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXKYD2&P=7


I'll try to post pictures later. I think it is cleaner then the deans method. I then solder a couple sets of wires for brushed or brushless.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 07:34 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
PoLsKiE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,256
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PoLsKiE
Default

it looks like he just bonded 1 male deans to a half of a male dean to cut the half of the dean is probably is the hard part...bonding it is easy
PoLsKiE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 07:37 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,489
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Valentin.H
Default

yes but i plan to switch back and forth from brushless to brushed motors. so i dont think that will work.... btw. just wondering..you solder the wires to the plug right? its not crimp?
__________________
-valentin
www.csjunkies.com
Valentin.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 07:40 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

Jawohl.
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 07:43 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,489
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Valentin.H
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital
Yes, and it will work. I'll try to get some pictures for you...
thanks man, gogogogo!
__________________
-valentin
www.csjunkies.com
Valentin.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 07:45 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Guru
yes but i plan to switch back and forth from brushless to brushed motors. so i dont think that will work.... btw. just wondering..you solder the wires to the plug right? its not crimp?
Yes, and it will work. I'll try to get some pictures for you...
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 07:56 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I couldnt get a picture of the ESC side but here is the motor side and a picture of the wires. The last wire you can see if the one needs to be combined for brushed. I just soldered part of a battery bar between the two plugs. Ive also just soldered two plugs to a single wire. You dont have to do plugs on both sides obviously I just did it b/c I dont like soldering.





or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 07:59 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,489
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Valentin.H
Default

huh..lol i dont get it. looks like a pretty niec setup. do you have a micro button on ur camera? that would be nice

anyway, how did you have two ESC wires connect to one negative on the motor? it looks like you have some sort of extension. tell me more
__________________
-valentin
www.csjunkies.com
Valentin.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 08:29 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Its just part of a battery bar connecting two plugs. Or you can solder two plugs onto one wire -- so put a plug on the end, then about a half inch further down the wire put another plug (both on the ESC side) and then run just one wire for the negative side to the motor. I just run brushless these days but I'll see if I can find some older pictures that show it better.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 09:02 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,489
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Valentin.H
Default

k cool. do you think if i split a wire to solder on two plugs, would it damage it? like if i used 10 guage instead of 12 guage and just solder half of the wire on the plug and another half on another plug? would that effect anything? like performance or anythign like that. potential of damaging the esc/motor?
__________________
-valentin
www.csjunkies.com
Valentin.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 09:24 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
F. Mendoza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 7,232
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Find HB Moose in this forum. He once posted a diagram on how to do this. Then showed me how to do this. It is an extra harness that fits between ESC and brushed motor. When you go back to BL you just pull the extra harness along with the brushed motor. I'll try to post pics if my kid goes to sleep before me. Newborns are hard to please.
__________________
RC America - Xray - Hudy - Gravity RC - KO Propo - Super Rad Graphics

Mr. Shookie goes home 10-06-08. Bill Levinson 4-14-15
F. Mendoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 09:29 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
encore75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SnoHoCo, WA
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to encore75
Default

You could use Powerpoles...they're modular, so you just slide them on to each other to create a "plug." Duratrax sells them in smaller packs, which your LHS might carry.
__________________
Tamiya TB-Evolution V & TA05-R | Kyosho Ultima SC & RB5 | Associated FT RC18T
encore75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 09:31 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,489
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Valentin.H
Default

i think i know who your talking about...i remember he runs / ran a rc18t...and has a body scheme with liek green white and black. i remember seeing him at socal and talked to him a few times...is his screenname on here HB moose?
__________________
-valentin
www.csjunkies.com
Valentin.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 01:34 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,489
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Valentin.H
Default

anyone else have any recommendations?
__________________
-valentin
www.csjunkies.com
Valentin.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New guy want to switch to brush less ?s jerm Electric Off-Road 8 03-03-2008 07:05 PM
3 pin Deans for easy switching from brushless to brushed. Katana Man Electric On-Road 22 07-14-2007 06:57 PM
Easy Switch Between Brush and Brushless mackin Electric On-Road 1 07-14-2007 06:42 PM
How to make fans on a switch... XrayFK05 Electric On-Road 17 09-01-2005 04:38 AM
Why some of RC model are easily unwanted??? Eric Cheng Singapore R/C Racers 30 07-29-2003 02:31 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:51 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net