Capacitor

Old 02-27-2007, 12:57 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Exclamation Capacitor

Hey,

i just got my keyence rapida pro, and the guy i bought it off gave me a 25v 2200uf capacitor, is it ok to run it with this capacitor?

Cheers
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 10:26 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

anyone?
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:59 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by surrealmaterial
Hey,

i just got my keyence rapida pro, and the guy i bought it off gave me a 25v 2200uf capacitor, is it ok to run it with this capacitor?

Cheers
actually Keyence already build in Cap and Schottky diode, if you want to used extra cap is fine.
Guo Chean is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 12:09 AM
  #4  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

so does the voltage matter.......or is it only the bigger the uf the better?
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 12:46 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by surrealmaterial
so does the voltage matter.......or is it only the bigger the uf the better?
In short....The voltage listed on the cap is "Working Volts" (WV)... so as long as the voltage that you apply to the cap is lower then the WV then its OK.

But I don't know of anyone that sticks a cap on a Rapida Pro (that's one of the appealing things about the esc, "No Caps").... and if you stick an external schottky you need to turn the internal schottky off...
2-Bad is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 12:56 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

so i dont need to run anything on it? cause in the instruction manual it says to put some capacitors on the motor between the positive and negative, the positive and the can, the negative and the can.......but ive lost all the original ones it came with............so is it safe to run with out anything on it except battery and motor?
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 01:19 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

It is safe to run, unless you notice strange behaviour coming from ur car.
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 01:19 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

because i heard that the keyence had a built in one.........
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 02:09 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by surrealmaterial
cause in the instruction manual it says to put some capacitors on the motor between the positive and negative, the positive and the can, the negative and the can
Most modern motors (stock or mod) have these already installed. If you suffer glitching or interference, then an additional set on.

What you were originally talking about is cap's to assist most (not the Keyence) esc to deliver punch or more filtering. They are large in size (for RC cars). The caps on the motors are small and it would be hard to find current motors without them already built-in by the motor manufacturer...
2-Bad is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.