Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Mods for NEW TC4 new Motor ? >

Mods for NEW TC4 new Motor ?

Mods for NEW TC4 new Motor ?

Reply

Old 02-25-2007, 05:26 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: 2 (80%+)
Default Mods for NEW TC4 new Motor ?

Ok I been oval racing with my L4 but figured what the heck i would get into touring class also at the local carpet track. I ordered a RTR TC4 jus now I plan to use same controller I use for my L4 Oval car its an Airtronics M11 I understand I can set it up for multiple cars so I will use it rather than the factory transmitter. What upgrades do I need. I heard I need to replace the motor right away. If so what motor should I go with. Any other mandatory mods I need right away?
gunlocators is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 05:54 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

A spring set and anti roll bars. And maybe a faster servo? Are you racing foam or rubber?
UN4RACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 07:04 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,601
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by UN4RACING
A spring set and anti roll bars. And maybe a faster servo? Are you racing foam or rubber?
I would definatly get a new servo. Something faster than the one included. You can run with the included servo. I see people at my track do it all the time. It works excelent for just starting out, but to be competative, a faster servo is a good idea. Without a good one your car can feel sluggish. It is better to get a faster servo now, and drive your car, than use the stock one, and have to change your whole setup when the servo is faster.
RCSteve93 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 07:11 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: 2 (80%+)
Default

Any suggestions on a servo? Also I will be racing foam tires. Any good place to get foam tires?
gunlocators is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 07:16 PM
  #5  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

A lot of times I'll drive a new guys car to help set it up and the slower servo, just about makes it impossible. In the turns it will make you pull your hair out.
Although by running the kit one will give you a greater appreciation for a better one that is faster. I've been using a .08 speed servo for years, and just changed to a .06 speed for foam carpet. You may want to check the guys at the track to see what shock oil there useing to?

I use JR equipment. Z9000s , or 8450, My 8450 is at least 7 years old and works great.
I'm having good luck with the Parma's.
UN4RACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 07:31 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Green Bay,WI
Posts: 3,006
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Went from super fast KO Propo servos and Airtronics high speed ones to a Futaba 9550 and I won't look back. They are very nice AND COMPACT servos.
R/C Anonymous is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 07:38 PM
  #7  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by R/C Anonymous
Went from super fast KO Propo servos and Airtronics high speed ones to a Futaba 9550 and I won't look back. They are very nice AND COMPACT servos.
Yeah I should mention the Z900S is a little over sized.
UN4RACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 08:03 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 272
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Although it may (or may not) be considered a "mandatory" mod, the speed control that comes with the RTR is not that great. It will work with stock motors, but I would look for something a little more capable.

Good Luck
Loren
llamont is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 08:06 PM
  #9  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Just sell everything but the kit.
save the tires though.
UN4RACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 08:19 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,601
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by llamont
Although it may (or may not) be considered a "mandatory" mod, the speed control that comes with the RTR is not that great. It will work with stock motors, but I would look for something a little more capable.

Good Luck
Loren
I am pretty sure you can use a 19 turn motor with the TC4 RTR ESC. I have seen people running 19 turns with the stock ESC.
RCSteve93 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 08:47 PM
  #11  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I think it comes with a 17 turn, which would make the 19 better for it.
UN4RACING is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service