R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2007, 02:57 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
GundamWZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ft. Bliss, Texas
Posts: 4,718
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to GundamWZero Send a message via Yahoo to GundamWZero Send a message via Skype™ to GundamWZero
Default Wiring up a Novak GTB......

I picked up a Novak GTB Package (with the Velociti 3.5R motor) and I am trying to fit it neatly in an TB Evolution III. The thing is, I hate the long wires that comes with it. I want to cut down the large wires to the motor and re-solder them but I don't know if that will effect the motors performance. Can anyone show me either some pics of the shortened wiring or tell me if it is a good idea........
__________________
"People tend to get upset because they don't get what they ask for... then complain when they get what they deserve." - R.E.Jacobs

‎"We fight not because we hate what's in front of us...
We fight to protect whats behind us."
GundamWZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 03:04 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,652
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

cutting the wires is fine, the only reason why it comes with long wires is so it can fit most cars. I.E Buggys, JRX'S etc etc. Then for cars like cyclone you cut the wires to fit.
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*INFINITY * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS* SPEEDY RC
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 03:04 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

i dont know if it will void novak's warranty, but ive cut the 3 motor wires (shortened to about 2.5") to fit by BD and it runs fine about the sensor wire, it would be better if you fold it up a few times then use the plastic spiral thingy to protect it. the nice thing about the gtb is if ever you will transfer it to another car, you can rewire it easily because of the external wire tabs again, dont know if this will void the warranty
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 03:07 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
GundamWZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ft. Bliss, Texas
Posts: 4,718
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to GundamWZero Send a message via Yahoo to GundamWZero Send a message via Skype™ to GundamWZero
Default

Thanx guys.....I am going to shorten them. Tomorrow I will run brushless for the first time.....
__________________
"People tend to get upset because they don't get what they ask for... then complain when they get what they deserve." - R.E.Jacobs

‎"We fight not because we hate what's in front of us...
We fight to protect whats behind us."
GundamWZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 03:14 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
GundamWZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ft. Bliss, Texas
Posts: 4,718
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to GundamWZero Send a message via Yahoo to GundamWZero Send a message via Skype™ to GundamWZero
Default Another Question......

how would you gear a brushless motor? Like a modified motor or like a stock motor? I was going to use my same pinion (37T) with this motor. Do I need to step up or down?
__________________
"People tend to get upset because they don't get what they ask for... then complain when they get what they deserve." - R.E.Jacobs

‎"We fight not because we hate what's in front of us...
We fight to protect whats behind us."
GundamWZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 03:31 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

for the 3.5R, the range is 10.50 - 11.50. but try to stay near 11.00+ and temp your esc and motor. the ideal temp range is somewhere in the manual im running 11.20 in my BD and its too fast for me (got used to running stock ) havent thermaled since but i did add another 1" 5v fan on the esc
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 11:50 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

cutting the motor or battery wires does not void any warrnty.. These are made to be used at whatever length you need.. novak sells re wire kits as well, so if you cut them short you can re solder og length wires back on.. comes as a pack of 2 sets of re wire for 10 bucks..
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 11:39 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Apeldoorn, the Netherlands
Posts: 111
Default

Is this oke??


http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=4832362
Rob Janssen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 11:50 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 49 (95%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to loopedout
Default

what gauge wire did you use? other than the wire looking a bit thin, looks lightweight to me.
__________________
Caster Racing USA Dirt Oval
Hyperdrive
Tekin
THD Custom R/C Products/Team Holy Rollers/Team Terribles
loopedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 06:38 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Apeldoorn, the Netherlands
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loopedout
what gauge wire did you use? other than the wire looking a bit thin, looks lightweight to me.
14 AWG, I thought 14 AWG is also std. but I'm not sure about that.
Rob Janssen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 07:34 AM   #11
Tech Apprentice
 
SARCAR_Revmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 77
Send a message via MSN to SARCAR_Revmax
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Janssen
Nice looking car you have there. All Novak and HB purple.
__________________
Xray T2 '007
SMC Batteries
Novak GTB 13.5/17.5 Brushless
SARCAR_Revmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 08:22 AM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Apeldoorn, the Netherlands
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SARCAR_Revmax
Nice looking car you have there. All Novak and HB purple.
Thx.
Rob Janssen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 11:26 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Janssen
14 AWG, I thought 14 AWG is also std. but I'm not sure about that.
Actually, I think lots of speedo's use 13g wire. There's not harm in using 14g really. some people wear by a certain gauge. I re-wired mine with 12g when I re-installed it in the car. That said - I'm not sure if there's any advantage.

Some people have commented that there's extra acceleration, but that the speedo also shuts down easier on 12g. Or the motor overheats easier as it can pull more amps. I can't really say either way...
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 11:31 PM   #14
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Our standard wire shipped with the GTB is 14 AWG.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mamba w/ novak motor wiring party_wagon Electric Off-Road 1 08-16-2008 12:07 PM
7.2 v KO servo wiring & PT wiring issues bshookup Radio and Electronics 2 06-12-2008 01:23 PM
Wiring up an ESC Iceracer Electric Off-Road 3 07-19-2006 02:21 PM
Novak GT 7 wiring mod help Bryan D Electric On-Road 3 04-14-2005 07:43 AM
wiring rx-7 Singapore R/C Racers 9 10-02-2002 02:21 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:09 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net